2002 CLK-Class

Consumer Reviews

2002 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class

$1,116 - $11,112  MSRP Range
2002 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

18 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

clk 55 amg convertible 2002

by caleb from santa monica on Sat Jul 01 2006

drives awesome! Pick up from 30mph to 120 is amazing. not as zippy from 0-60 as you would think but im knitpicking. car feels really heavy, hugs road great. performance wise, the car rules, however, ive never been terribly impressed with mercedes features....stereo, dash, cooling system etc isnt that intuitive and probably rates avg at best...that being said, i love the car, has great value and great performance and the body style will remain a classic for awhile..

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best of the best!

by Convertible lover from Exeter, RI on Sun Feb 04 2007

I love my CLK 320.....if I had one wish I would wish that the cup holder was styled differently....but.......it's only a cup holder! Mercedes did a great job with this car and when the top is down and you have the wind deflector on......it's marvelous and it works too! The Quartz Blue Metallic paint is most unusual and is definitely an eye catcher for all seasons...with the top up or the top down......all heads turn! So...if you are single...watch out...you may not be for long! I hope some time in the near future Mercedes comes up with a paint color as good as this one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SAFE, FAST AND GOOD LOOKING CAR.

by Got Gold from SAN FRANCISCO, CA on Tue Sep 30 2008

I'VE HAD THIS CAR FOR A LONG TIME, NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEM WITH IT, GREAT CAR. IT DRIVE VEREY SMOTH, VEREY SAFE, GOOD ON GAS MILAGE.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car is amazing

by Sports Car Enthusiast from Virginia on Thu Jun 29 2006

The entire driving experience is unlike any other sports car I have ever driven. The car is rock solid and has gobs of power. It hugs the road at all speed and has incredible brakes. The interior wraps you in luxury and the navigation system gets you there effortlessly, while the Bose audio fills the air with your favorite music. This car was born to cruise the Autobahn with the ability to rocket past slower traffic. Forget a tired old M3 - step up to an AMG!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable, Solid, Great performance, Great Value

by CLK55 AMG Enthusiast from Beaverton, OR on Tue Nov 08 2011

This is a great car! I purchased my 2002 CLK55 AMG Cabriolet with 41000 miles. The car is in near-new condition in and out. I have not experienced any troubles or issues with the car. It has a great ride; a good solid sport feel without compromise to luxury. The performance is great; the AMG 5.5 ltr. has more than enpugh power (342HP/376LB/FT. torque) to get you into or out of trouble. It is a monstor with the ESP off. It has a great muscle car throaty sound to the exhaust, and it is a real attention getter (like it or not). It is well appointed with more bells and whistles than you will know how to use. And the safety features are not to be understated, with dual front and side air bags and ESP. The brakes are extra large on the AMG package, so stopping it is NO PROBLEM. MPG - well it is a performance car, however I get consistent 23mpg on the highway, and between 12-18mpg in town; not too bad for the performance it gives. I did not buy it for the mpg, however I have been pleasantly surprised with what I get. This car is a great value in todays car market, and a bit of little known value secret. I highly recommend one if you are looking at BMW M3's or the like. Coupes are a steal, cabriolets bring 3-5K more. Happy motoring!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Mr & retired in 2003

by "TOPCAT" who Loves the open top. from Mid-west - Indiana on Mon Jun 19 2006

This vehicle is definitely an eye catcher with top up or down. Very responsive steering & great Pick-up. Brakes and corners very well. Has better than expected MPG at 20/28. Car is expensive to maintain for even the minor items, but then it's a Benz. Car is louder on start,idle and takeoff than I would have expected but more than compensates with quietness on the hwyway. The biggest diappointments was the less than adequate rear seat area which is impossible for any passenger seating; AND to not have AUTO ON headlights and TILT steering is SAD. I would purchase again as I am very satisfied with this CLK 430 Cab.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent grand touring car

by Steevil from Edmonton, Canada on Thu Nov 30 2017

I bought my CLK430 with just over 200000 KM. Formerly owned by a cash strapped young lady that poorly maintained it. After fixing some maintainence items (brakes, plugs, lightbulbs, etc) and some body damage, I have less than $3000 into this car. It's proven to be a solid, reliable daily driver. Plenty of power and traction control and winter/summer driving modes to reign it all in in the harsh Canadian winter. Comfortable, handles welland still has style that is relevant 15 years later. Radio died shortly after buying it and wisely chose to replace it with an aftermarket unit but retained the amazing Bose speakers. As it is aging, the door seals at the window are starting to let some air and road noise past with water leaks only at the carwash. Oil clarity sensor malfunctions giving false readings from time to time. Some of the signifigant failures have been; 1, rear coil spring snapped at the bottom 2, turn signal switch needed to be replaced. 3, o-rings for the headlight washers have dried and cracked allowing them to drip under the bumper. 4, dime sized rust has formed at the rear rocker at the bumper join. I am an exprerienced mechanic and repaired everything myself. Parts were readily available and weren't overly expensive (for a Mercedes no less!). The rear tires tend to wear on the inside due to the independent rear suspension although a new set of rear coil springs seemed to have fixed the slightly sagging rear suspension. Some things I don't like about this car; 1, A manual transmission would make this car even more amazing to drive. 2, No tilt steering? Ridiculous. 3, no block heater option for the V8. Although it starts in even the harshest of cold, I feel it is easier on the engine to have it plugged in during sub zero temperatures. I was able to adapt a 3.2 V6 block heater to work. 4, Requires premium fuel and that can be rather expensive. 5, It's also starting to consume oil ( a litre per every 1200 kms)but that is to be expected at 15 years old and 300000+ km now reading on the clock. 6, Occasionaly idles rough but that is due to needing a new mass airflow sensor (damaged by K&N reusable air filters! Don't do it!). 7, takes a rather long time to heat up. This may be due to a failing thermostat or Mercedes efficient M113 engine not creating a lot of heat. I would buy this car again and currently shopping for an AMG CLK55 or CLK430 with less mileage. I drive this car hard and regularly commute 300 kilomtres to work and it has taken all the abusive driving I can throw at it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

In love with this car

by BH from Martinez, ca on Wed Oct 04 2017

Very soled gorgeous car, love driving it.. I feel so proud when I do, turns head every time.. Simply in love with it. And it has 172000 miles on it and still feels like new.. Waw

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This car is top notch. Fast fun and great on gas

by Luvmyride from Salt Lake City, Ut on Tue Feb 13 2018

I think anyone looking for a sporty, fast and reliable car this is the one for you. It has all the luxury features at an affordable price. Low miles for a 2002. Come drive it and you too will fall in love as I did.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value Mercedes ever put out

by Edlin from Milwaukee WI on Sun Jun 24 2018

My clk 320 is fun to drive and it?s definitely a head turner.when the top is down it?s hard to go home.the car just hugs the road I always feel safe drive this car even at high rates of speed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2