Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2006 CLK-Class

Consumer Reviews

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class

$2,962 - $14,530  MSRP Range
2006 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

27 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Ty Moore

by sports car enthusiast from Houston , Tx on Tue Jun 06 2006

I drive a CLK500 CABRIOLET , it is luxurious with nice features such as keyless go, power seats, mirrors , convertible top, trunk ,windows and an auto seatbelt extender. The stereo is clean and powerful with surround sound and a subwoofer, also cd changer and Sirius satelite. The leather is very comfortable and there are beautiful wood accents. Women love this car! There lyes a little minor quibble, it sometimes looks less masculine from the rear. Thank goodness I got black obsidian. The V8 is excellent and the smoothest I have owned. I wish the car came with 19 inch wheels, which may make it just about perfect. More trunk space would help also. For 67k plus I got the V8 power of a Mustang GT and a smooth ride like my 530i. It's as close as I could get to an SL500.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Value for Medium price cars

by George of the Jungle from Destin ~ Florida on Tue Feb 27 2007

I lease a 2006 2006 CLK350 Coupe, great driving ability, super acceleration, very good sound system, good size trunk, the styling is perfect for me, not everyone is driving the same boring car and limited back seat but no ones sits there any ways. Only gripe was my car was build early in the year has an inconvenient location for the beverage holder but all the new CLK’S have a much better location. Thank goodness. Good resale value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 CLK350 Coupe

by De from Washington, DC on Fri May 15 2009

Excellent handling as high speeds - beautiful body and interior - high quality - responds to driver's demands - I love it!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

CLK 500/550 Cabriolet with AMG Sport Package

by Zebity from Australia on Mon Oct 01 2007

This review is for the Australian CLK 500 (which is the equivalent of US CLK 550). This is the latest 5.5 Litre, 4 value, 7 Speed model. It replaces the prior 5 Litre, 3 Value, 5 Speed model. Car is Avant Garde with AMG Sport Package which in Australia come standard 17" AMG Monoblock wheels which I replaced with 18" AMG Monoblock wheels. The new model 5.5 Litre 4 Value V8 now producing more power than outgoing CLK 55 AMG and has 7 Speed Automatic with 3 settings: Comfort, Speed & Manual. Manual is operated via wheel based paddles. The manual does not blip the throttle on downshift so you have to do this yourselve to get nice smooth manual downchange. Car has massive acceleration (0-60 is in 5.1 seconds), and with Avant Garde/AMG Kit, provides lowered suspension, and so has very good handling and road feel. To be perfectly honest I do not see how anyone could justify spending extra on 6.2 Litre AMG version, when the 5.5 Litre model is so good. The engine does not over power the car and in 5.5 Litre guise there is a great balance between performance and comfort, with excellent chassis rigidity. Only reason for not getting all round 5 stars is because you have to pay so much for things like: not getting 18" wheels as part of AMG kit, distronic, key-less go & lingo tronic. I cannot really provide a reliability rating at this point as car is only 1 month old.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's a real Mercedes Benz

by Hugo from Los Angeles on Fri Jun 16 2017

I think Mercedes no longer produce such great and reliable cars. This is car is more than 10 years old and feels even better than lots of new Japan and American cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

CLK 320

by Diane from Naples Florida on Thu Jul 13 2006

I have this car and love it . Love the look how it handles and comfort. Not a car you would want if the rear seat is something you need. Space in the rear seating area is limited. And getting there isn't easy . But it's a joy to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A car to own!

by Mercedes Forever from Florida on Sat Mar 11 2017

I just love my clk, a very nice and reliable car for an everyday use. It's a very cool, great looking car! Also very powerful, especially the Clk500.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfort & Reliability

by OstinPowers from Tempe,AZ on Mon Sep 04 2017

I owned the car for a bit more than 2 years. The car showed itself as reliable and very comfortable vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great looking car

by JM from charlotte on Thu Nov 30 2017

This car gets me to and from work in style. It has great dependability ratings and runs like a dream evern at 120k mi. Very satisfied.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 CLK500 COUPE

by Eason from FL on Tue May 16 2017

This review is for CLK 500,great driving ability, super acceleration, very good sound system, good size trunk, the styling is perfect for me, not everyone is driving the same boring car and limited back seat but no ones sits there any ways. Air Conditioning,Alarm System,Alloy Wheels,AM/FM,Anti-Lock Brakes,Automatic Headlights,Cargo Area Tiedowns,CD,Cruise Control,Daytime Running Lights,Driver Airbag,Driver Multi-Adjustable Power Seat,Electrochromic Exterior Rearview Mirror,Electrochromic Interior Rearview Mirror,Electronic Brake Assistance,Fog Lights,Front Air Dam,Front Power Memory Seat,Front Side Airbag,Full Size Spare Tire,Heated Exterior Mirror,Interval Wipers,Keyless Entry,Leather Seats,Leather Steering Wheel,Passenger Airbag,Passenger Multi-Adjustable Power Seat,Power Locks,Power Mirrors,Power Windows,Rain Sensing Wipers,Rear Defroster,Second Row Folding Seat,Separate Driver/Front Passenger Climate Controls,Side Head Curtain Airbag,Steering Wheel Mounted Controls,Tachometer,Telematics System,Telescopic Steering Column,Tilt Wheel,Tinted Windows,Traction Control,Trip Computer,Trunk Anti-Trap Device,Vehicle Stability Control System,Woodgrain

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2006 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class

In a less-than-persuasive bid to be socially responsible, German automakers (with the exception of Porsche) limit the top speed of their vehicles to 155 mph (250 kilometers per hour). At that -- my current velocity in the Mercedes-Benz CLK 63 AMG Cabriolet -- 227 feet of chlorophyll-green German countryside streams past every second. In the words of the Bhagavad-Gita, I am become death, destroyer of bugs. The early morning sky is gray, the traffic is light. I have the top down and it's rather windy in the cockpit. Actually, at a buck-55, it's like being inside God's own novelty whistle.

No question about it. Fast feels good. No matter what else you may think about high-performance automobiles... Read More