1995 E-Class

Consumer Reviews
1995 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

17 Reviews
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

1995 E320Cabriolet commentary on

by Straussdss from Boston,Ma on January 14, 2009

Outstanding stable solid road hugging safe vehicle with less than avge air noise, good wind protection, 19-19.7 mpg at all speeds, except inner city;comfortable above avge,occasional electric mishaps, otherwise super; Performance fair as 6cylSuperchg is excellent for a 3900lb car,corners tight and very little lean;suggest one size up on tire replacement.[ width]. a real keeper.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great fun Car

by Mercedes Driver from Austin, TX on March 14, 2011

The 1995 Mercedes E 320 Cabriolet is a fantastic automobile. Plenty of power and smooth driving with lot of fun in the sun. Regular maintenance was all I ever had to do nothing broke and it was a pleasure to drive during the 11 of 12 months that Central Texas weather permits.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

MercedesBenz E#320 Cabriolet1995

by Greyfox4472 from BocaRaton,Florida on December 11, 2008

Review based on 6 cylinder performance of a heavy solid road hugging vehicle with delightfully small turn radius and unusual living room comfort seats. Going from a 450SLC (more of a sportscar,) from Riviera -(much more luxuriously appointed interior), the Benz Cabriolet feels solid on the ground, jumps quickly when pushed, leans very slightly into curves and keeps passengers and driver solid in seats. Extreme complicated multi-movement cover & top cover andrear window mechanism roof top is quiet, tight, and efficient, provides sedan quiet when rooftop up, visibility excellent (except in corners rear-like most vintage convertibles) but use of 2 side mirrors provides full visibility. Only one item MIGHT be exquisite, the 4.5 litre v-8 engine instead of the 6 would make this absolutely awesome!!!!...like back to the 4.5 280SEConvertible of the 70's.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Timeless appeal, reliability if cared for

by Carperson from NC on January 7, 2013

Just picked up a 1995 E420 with under 40k. the key is whether the car has been maintained and whether the major issues discovered over the years have been addressed. in this case, the wiring harness had been replaced, and the V8 had no known head gasket issues. The interior is a time capsule, with cracks in the wood veneer that are hard to escape after 18 years. The steering linkage is a bit loose, but it's amazing how quiet and smooth this car is. This, the W124 is the next to last (last being the W140) model that MB designed and engineered to a standard and not a cost. Timeless.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It is a BENZ!

by BENZY from South on August 29, 2007

The name says it all... when you drive it, you are hooked! I own a 1995 e320 wagon and love it. The pro's are more than the con's. My only beef with the benz is... no cupholders, and no glove compartment in the front. All of the pro's outweigh the con's! I give it an 8 out of 10!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice and Comfortable

by Doggie from Los Angeles,ca. on August 4, 2013

I own an E500 and a 1994, but I love this car much more! The car is spacious and has good gas milage which is perfect for everyday use.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car

by Nikoloz N from Tbilisi, GE on June 12, 2017

Honestly, I've never seen such a great car. W124 is best car ever released - stylish, reliable, fun to drive. This was my first car and I am so sorry that I sold it, its the best car, trust me. My second car was BMW E39, it was a great car, but never came near to W124. Next, I had W211. Great successor of an E-class line, but still no as good as W124. Now I own Daimler-Chrysler 300C. What a great car, I feel safe when Im driving it, and do I need to go faster? 5.7 SRT 4 makes me sure that I can go as fast as a wind. But, after all this cars, W124 is still better than altogether. You want cheap (for now), reliable and in one word, perfect car? go buy W124, its the best choice you can make.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Easy to maintain! Bulletproof

by MikeyJaws from Bergen NJ on January 21, 2018

W124 mercedes continues to serve me daily. Currently with 142,000 miles. Everything in the car works. The drive is as though it has 500 miles on it even after 23 years. Easy maintenance and inexpensive parts make it a great vehicle for be diy’r!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

plenty life left in the benz

by jazzyone from provo, utah on November 27, 2017

i bought a 95 e420 a year and a half ago-143k miles great shape-o2 sensor leaky heater hose gear box seal--regular and understandable issues for age-i upgraded to kyb struts-slotted grooved rotors-bridgestone turanzas and this car is a maniac through corners for how big it is-only thing i dont like is it seems to heat up to quickly when it gets driven hard-if i drive it like i should she purrs like a kitten-doggy off the line-monstorous torque and pull from 80 ish up-everytime i drive it i fall in love all over agaiin what a bang for the buck

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Two major issues to check before you buy

by Owner of '95 E320 sedan from Seattle on June 24, 2010

First well known issue is the original engine wire harness that degrades due to biodegradable rubber. Any Mercedes mechanic can determine if yours is original and should be replaced. Part cost is $1,000 and labor cost is $300. (sometimes the throttle acuator cables need replaced at the same time for another $300). Second well known issue is the the head gasket, which shrinks (causes oil leak and also blue smoke) and needs to be replaced by about 60-80k. Cost here is about $1,200. Get those replaced and you have a beautiful car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

50 out of 51 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 1995 Mercedes-Benz E-Class