2002 G-Class

Consumer Reviews
2002 Mercedes-Benz G-Class

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

8 Reviews
2002 Mercedes-Benz G-Class
3.6 out of 5 starsComfort
3.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Attention Getter!

by TrustfundBaby from Miami on February 24, 2011

I love the classic look of this vehicle. Another trait is the heavy duty parts used to make the G Wagen. My mechanic said in 30 yrs he's never seen axles that thick! A real tank! Slow as a tank. if you like attention, get a G Wagen unlike any other SUV.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Expensive, but has kept fun, value and exclusivity

by Casper from Portland, OR on July 10, 2017

The 2002 G 500 was the first year of importation by MBUSA. I have had mine since 2006, initially as daily driver now just for fun, it now has 105k miles, 40k when I got it. Even used, they're expensive to buy and not very practical, but the car has barely lost value or appeal, considering it's 40th anniversary is 2019. On the highways, the right tires on the huge 18inch 265R60 wheels make for a smooth ride. The V8 allows for agility, but the thing moves like a light tank and weighs as much. While everyone else's bumpers are made of plastic, there's real metal here, with matching industrial-grade frame, suspension and steering, resulting in about 14 mpg (premium gas, bitte). Annual maintenance costs me between $300-600 a year without major repairs. So far. The car tells me when it's time for oil change and maintenance. I have not had serious rust issues. Parts are easily available but expensive. The view down on the other cars is superior, but the dark tinting of the rear quarters make backing-up after dark a nightmare, since you can't see anything and there is no back-up camera or parking sensors. Which might as well, since, speaking of sensors, ABS/BAS/etc sensors are finicky and failure-prone. Same for various buttons such as power window and power seat controls, which I had replaced once only to find out that quality of the replacements matched the old ones. The front seats are very comfortable, the back is comfortable for two adults, three is cramped. A Honda Pilot is roomier. There are reading lights and seat warmers for the four outside seats. Leather is standard. It feels classy, anno 2002. The low range gears and differential locks add a sense of adventure and invincibility. The 5 inch navigation screen with its CD-ROM -it takes a set of 6 CD-ROMs to cover the whole US- and the trunk-positioned 6-CD-changer of 15 years ago reminds us how far automotive infotainment has come. The independent MB mechanic and I don't know of a way to connect my smart phone to the stereo that does not involve major surgery. It's been fun to search the on-line world for tasteful affordable OEM accessories such as mud flaps or jump seats, and there is a delightful G-wagen community out there.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Overall good vehicle

by GWagen from Philadelphia, PA on April 7, 2010

Regardless of what is said about the earlier G-wagens of 2002 and early 2003, if they have a good amount of mileage on them (75,000+) then they have most likely had all the typical issues resolved with "updates" released by Mercedes. I would look for a higher mileage older G500 and would look to see that the alternator and front window regulators have been changed, the various software updates made, and that its seen regular maintenance. If the the necessary updates have been made the vehicle is no different than the new ones for all intensive purposes. A "cheap" G will end up costing way more than a properly maintained G that costs more. Finally, try to buy from an enthusiast seller who knows what is necessary to maintain the vehicle (usually better than the dealer) and has kept up with all the little fluid changes that don't cost much to do but keep the vehicle running practically forever.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Everything you ever wanted in a truck

by Car guy from USA on September 1, 2012

The perfect balance of luxury and ruggedness. It's a truck for those looking for excellent off road and excellent styling...in the city or the country it turns heads

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

love the look of the G-Wagen

by nvh from Sellersburg, IN on September 15, 2010

I bought my 2003 G-Class and replaced it in 2007 with a Lexus LX470. There is an unbelievable difference in the ride, the Lexus is more of a comfort machine and G-Class drives rough like a truck. The vehicle sits on a truck chasis. Off road is a true experience, you will not have any troubles whatsoever! I love the way the g-wagon looks and love the roomy interior. The front passenger door required fixing several times, the rear passenger window also had to be repaired several times. The vehicle is so heavy the tires wear out much quicker and they are expensive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good vehicle up to 100k miles

by JerryK from Sherman Oaks, CA on July 25, 2009

Had an '02 which I enjoyed. Traded in at 100k miles for a BMW. the G5 started having constant mech. issues after 90k miles. Now waiting for a Tesla electric...wave of the future.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

truck

by avi from Chicago on February 19, 2007

Beautiful truck the 2000 is much better. too many issues with the new ones. They should bring the conv. and also make a basic one

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mercedes G500

by Roddy Rod from Upper Marlboro, MD on June 6, 2017

This vehicle is absolutely the most dependable, and durable vehicle that I have ever owned. It's constructed like a tank, and it's cool , slick, sleek, exterior turns heads everywhere I go.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1
Our Expert Review: 2002 Mercedes-Benz G-Class