2012 GL-Class

Consumer Reviews

2012 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

$12,663 - $31,155  MSRP Range
2012 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

20 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2012 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great smaller suv

by Runnermom from Dallas, TX on June 12, 2017

I drove this car for the past 5 years and loved many things about it. First, it is super easy to park. Second it has three rows, third row folds with one touch of a button. Third, I love the body style, much cuter than many suv's in my opinion. It was also reliable until the past 6 months when I started having to replace a number of things that weren't covered under my warranty. Things I didn't like: cramped passenger room, it was great when my kids were young but now that they are getting big putting a family of five in this car even for a weekend trip was tight. For a luxury car I felt like it was very basic. For instance there were no A/c vents in the ceiling in the second or third row. The navigation is cumbersome and sound system just ok. The seats are not nearly as comfortable as a Tahoe or Expedition.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most luxury in a vehicle

by Owner of many automobiles from Saint Cloud,MN on September 27, 2013

This vehicle is the most comfortable I have ever been in. It also holds the smoothest ride. The dealer made my experience a no hassle experience.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Luxury SUV

by LanieStarbuck from on May 1, 2017

You can feel the price you paid for. Very nice to drive and the suspension is amazing. Leather interior is very supple, best leather seats there is. Power is unquestionable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bens Gl450

by Mom from Addison ,Tx on November 21, 2017

Very spacious and stylish. My kids have room and it’s comfortable ! Smooth ride. Quiet engine. Push to start

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The car is good

by Jon from Atlanta on July 7, 2017

Car is good but I think it was a little overpriced . Car is ok drives well neat and durable but overpriced

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just what the Dr ordered

by OB from Suffolk Virginia on November 1, 2017

My family is still growing so I found that my GLK 350 wasn't big enough when I had all the Grand Kids so I moved up to a GL450 . It drives well and has plenty room , the rear entertainment center is especially helpful with all the kids on long drives. I like the handling both in the city and highway driving, it has several options as far as listening to music on top of that it looks great. The only con is probably keeping gas in it but I can live with that.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2012 Mercedes Benz GL350 Bluetec 4MATIC

by JENsFAM from Ontario, Canada on March 9, 2013

I bought this car looking for a 7/8 Passenger vehicle without sacrificing power nor fuel efficiency, and I gotta say that the GL350 is one of those to meet all my expectations. I shopped this with it's competitors, and the only one that came close to competing to this was the Cadillac Escalade and the Audi Q7. The Cadillac had great fuel efficiency, but the suspension was overly soft, acceleration sounded and felt quite weird, it drove like a truck, GM customer service sucks, reliability is found to be quite poor, and everything in the cabin felt like it was vibrating in different directions. o___o The upside was that it had 8-passenger capabilities. The Audi Q7 was probably the more worthy competitor but it felt more cramped, and less luxurious compared to that of the Mercedes. So far, the Mercedes has served me greatly, I have had no reliability problems so far, but who knows what is to come. I feel as if the interior could be more plush, although that was addressed in the 2013 model year (bought the 2012MY before the 2013MY hit dealers). I also really wish that it had 8-passenger, as 3 people can be easily accommodated in the third row. I really love how the Mercedes drives as it feels very solid and car-like, and I also love the suspension tuning! The diesel also accelerates pretty well (after you hit the lag when accelerating from standstill) while providing pretty good fuel economy. The LED DRL are beautiful, and I love the body of the GL as it's pretty rugged but luxurious at the same time. I bought this with Diamond White for the exterior colour, and Beige leather on the inside. Also, in Canada, I got an option of the AMG Styling Package where I have these beautiful, sporty rims. Love it! Love it! Love it! All of this is amazing, but it came with a pretty hefty price tag... but I am extremely happy with this car and am looking forward to own it in future years. :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great ride, lots of power, lots of room.

by Ernesto from Colorado on September 28, 2016

Great vehicle. Extremely well tuned ride. Engine is a wonder. Full of amenities. Interior is beautifully executed. Expensive to own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2nd one I've owned. Great family car.

by randizzzle from Newport Beach, CA on September 8, 2017

We purchased this car certified pre-owned with about 20,000 miles. It was our 2nd one in a row. It has good pickup, reliable, and great 3rd row for transporting a lot of people in comfort. There is a know issue with the shocks that tends to occur after 50,000 (both of ours had it), so as long as you get them fixed while under warranty, everything else has been worry-free.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GL 550 GRAND EDITION

by HOTFOR MARCEDES from WOODBRIDGE, ONTARIO CANADA on April 30, 2012

GOT DELIVERY THREE DAYS AGO. WOW. BEST AUTO I HAVE EVER OWNED. SMOOTH, COMFORTABLE, FAST ARE JUST A FEW WORD TO DESCRIBE THIS AWSOME MACHINE. I AM IN LOVE WITH IT. FIRST MARCEDES I HAVE EVER OWNED AND IT WONT BE THE LAST. JUST LIKE BEING IN A MODERN JET LINER. GREAT INSTRUMENTATION AND DASH DESIGN. THE QUALITY OF WORKMANSHIP IS EVEDENT. THE EXTERIOR PAINT BLACK METALLIC HAS GOT TO BE THE MOST BEAUTIFUL BLACK I HAVE EVER SEEN ON A TRUCK. THE HANDLING IS GREAT. THE TIRES PIRRELLI ARE UNBELEAVABLE. THE POWER THAT COMES FROM THE V8 MONSTER UNDER THE HOOD IS SMOOTH AND POWERFUL. LOVE EVEYTHING ABOUT MY FIRST MARCEDES. THEY DO BUILD THE BEST CARS IN THE WORLD IT IS EVIDENT WITH MY GL550 GRAND 4 MATIC. WOW!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2012 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Editor's note: This review was written in April 2011 about the 2011 Mercedes-Benz GL350 Bluetec. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2012, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Let's face it: If you're smitten by Mercedes' GL-Class full-size SUV, the recent run-up in prices at the pump probably rates somewhere between insignificant and unimportant in your car search. With seating for seven, the GL-Class is a big SUV — and it gulps fuel like one. Even the most efficient version, the GL350 Bluetec diesel we tested, manages just an EPA-estimated 17/21 mpg city/highway. Likely more important to you would be a comfortable ride... Read More