1998 M-Class

Consumer Reviews

1998 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

$1,312 - $6,028  MSRP Range
1998 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Mercedes-Benz M-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best dependable car for the dollar

by sheialex from gainesville, FL on Thu Sep 22 2011

This car is excllent for children who need a full view from the back seat. Hauling groceries, luggage, cargo and other things you must keep out of the weather is a pleasure with this car. My four wheel drive makes it a piece a cake to leave the road and endure mud and high water. Super vehicle! Great on gas! An interstate dream!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best SUV

by David from Raleigh, NC on Wed Aug 16 2017

I bought this ML SUV used with 70,000 miles. I now have 250,000 miles and it still runs like new. Just keep the oil change and some small repairs. I plan to get 350,000 miles out of this SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Decent car for the price

by foxr01 from Leesburg, VA on Tue Jun 27 2017

Great car for what we bought it for. Have to keep up with maintaining the engine, but otherwise it runs great!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Pretty great car

by Knight711 from Spartanburg, SC on Thu May 17 2018

This car has an amazing design, comfortable seating, heated seats, lots of trunk space, plenty of back seat room. Very moveable to work with. Easily reliable

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice vehicle

by Jhaymond58 from Spirit lake Idaho on Sun Mar 04 2018

Super comfortable and very nice to. Drive need it for the snow around here in the winter rides smooth has heated seats and all wheel drive built like a tank

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Tremendous value in used SUV

by Jim B. from Salt Lake City, Ut on Thu Jul 29 2010

I've owned an identical car for the past five years. It had 136K miles when I bought it and 202K now. Repairs have been modest, parts are expensive but I have a good mechanic who keeps it to a minimum. It is tight, reasonably quiet and solid on the road. Full time 4-wheel drive is amazing in the snow and in everyday handling. The finish of this car is gorgeous. (original) Ten minutes at the car wash and it is like new. I totally recommend the 1998 M-class MB.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Trading Down

by NoCarPayment from Indianapolis, IN on Tue Mar 23 2010

The end of my car lease was coming up and I made up my mind that I didn't want any more car payments. So I took my savings and went searching for the best car I could find for $5000 or less. This is what I came up with and I'm pretty satisfied. There are a couple of problems with it but given the age, that's to be expected. The one thing I would caution anyone about who was considering the vehicle? Make sure you can deal with the poor cup holder situation.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it! Smooth ride, beautiful interior

by Sarah_sunshine from Fort Wayne, Indiana on Tue May 23 2017

I have never owned a Mercedes- Benz before. I bought a 1998 ML320 and it's amazing! It has 182,000 mile on it and it runs and looks like it is still new! I highly doubt that I will ever be able to buy another brand of vehicle again. I am so spoiled with this SUV!!! I still can't believe that it was cheaper than all the other vehicles I looked at and is in better shape! I feel very lucky to have found this car at Derek Motorcar! They helped me find my dream SUV!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Was a rider

by nell from washington ,DC on Thu Sep 27 2012

Bought this vehicle with 128,000 on dash got rid of it at 142,000.. very well truck only did oil change, ride was very bumpy i got rid of it because the Cadillac converter went out and did not want to fix it.. very good overall... repairs are expensive... oil change is 100... so think about the price you paying compare to the competition and maintenance

1 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A Quirky But Decent SUV

by Sam B from Lincoln, NE on Fri Nov 11 2016

My ML320 is a pretty decent SUV as luxury SUVs go, but it does have some shortcomings I can do without. My driver's door will not lock or unlock with the key (keyless entry fobs not included with car), the flap for the dash vents for the heater make a loud knocking sound, and the fuel gauge registers empty after I fill the car although it corrects itself in a few days. I understand these to be common problems with the M series Mercedes. Aside from these annoyances the ML320 is a reliable car that starts, runs, and drives very well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1998 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

In a single stroke, the Mercedes-Benz ML320 has changed the face of sport-utility vehicles. Not only is its $33,950 base price extremely competitive, but it also excels in both off- and on-road driving.

That's a tricky compromise to strike. Normally, if an SUV is truly adept off-road, then its on-pavement ride is tortuous; if it rides smoothly on the road then its off-road skills suffer. Mercedes-Benz, however, has created an all-new vehicle that does both well. It is built exclusively in a new factory in Tuscaloosa, Ala.

Key ingredients for its brush bashing prowess are the double-wishbone suspension and the electronic traction control system (4ETS). 4ETS is a full-time four-wheel-drive system... Read More