1999 M-Class

Consumer Reviews

1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

$786 - $6,690  MSRP Range
1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

15 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

ML320

by TX44 from TX on Mon Feb 22 2010

Wife's car. She likes how distinctive it looks in a parking lot full of other SUV's and vans. Very comfortable on the highway at 80 mph. Very capable off road vehicle. My favorite memory: driving through the desert at Big Bend National Park on the River Road from Castolon to Rio Grande Village and seeing several other 4 wheel drive vehicles beaten by the road/conditions and just driving right by and then two hours later whizzing down TX highways at over 70 mph.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST MERCEDES I HAVE EVER OWNED..LOVE IT!!!

by KingLexington from Florida on Mon Aug 06 2007

I have owned many Mercedes from SL-S-E and now my very favorite ML-320. I loved the SUV so much I bought an identical ML for my wife. The value for this model is by far the best from good gas milage, style, features, safety, and CUPHOLDERS! Most of the Mercedes I have owned do not have cup holders. This ML model is EXCELLENT. Enjoy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

FEEL COMFORT WITH THIS VEHICLW

by JIMMY from DALLAS on Mon Sep 03 2012

ITS A REALIABLE VEHICLE I FEEL COMFORT TO PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE , LOOKS CLEAN IN & OUTSIDE, VERY CLEAN,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Summer Car for the Mountains

by Discus from Minneapolis, MN on Sat Sep 01 2012

My wife and I have a home in the mountains in eastern Idaho. We often climb the Teton pass to visit Jackson Hole and other Wyoming sights. This car has great power, even for climbing mountains. The automatic transmission is well designed for downshifting on severe declines. I can come down the Tetons virtually without touching the brakes. As a car buff, I'm just amazed by the good cupholders - so unGerman. It takes premium gas only and mileage is poor, but I can leave with that.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So far 1500 miles great SUV.

by Truck from Appleton, Wisconsin on Mon Dec 26 2011

All a round great truck for me. A luxurious sport-utility that has world -class engineering, 4-wheel-drive & a car like ride. Plus it is made in the USA by American????????????? At this time I must say I Love my Truck even if is not a Chev 1500. Dan

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Happy from Seatac, WA on Sun Aug 12 2012

I bought this car a different dealership in Seattle and have been very satisfied. Comfortable, Fast, Great Milage and no problems so far. Great car highly recommend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR! RELIABLE! Comfortable!

by LeeB from Bloomfield on Sat Jan 20 2018

Solid, strong and yet comfortable. It's like a little tank when it has to be, and classy when necessary. I could always depend on this Benz!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1999 MERCEDES BENZ ML320

by RELIABLE AND NICE CAR LOVER from TEANECK , NJ on Fri Nov 24 2006

MY 1999 ML 320 HAS TO BE ONE OF THE MOST BEAUTFUL CARS I HAVE EVER OWNED AND THE MOST POWERFUL. MERGING ON TO THE HIGHWAY WAS A VERT EASY THING TO DO ,DRIVING ON SNOW COVERED ROADS WAS A VERY EASY THING TO DO, WHEN EVER SOMEONE WANTED TO RACE ME AT A RED LIGHT IT WAS ALSO VERY EASY TO BEAT THEM AND LEAVE THEM IN THE DUST. THE ONLY PROBLEMS I EVER HAD WITH MY CAR WAS THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT WOULDENT CLOSE PROPERLY AND THE CUP HOLDER TO THE LEFT OF THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT CLICK SHUT I HAD TO PUT A PAPER WEDGE IN THERE TO KEEP IT CLOSED. ALL IN ALL THE MERCEDES BENZ EXPERENCE IS SOMETHING THAT I WILL NOT LIVE WITHOUTIT IS A GREAR CAR NOMATTER WHAT ANYONE SAYS IT IS A VERY RELIABLE CAR THAT ALSO DOES AS GOOD OFF ROADS AS IT DOES ON THE FLAT HIGHWAY ROADS

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a great SUV

by Bethesda from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL on Fri Sep 10 2010

I loved my ML430! I purchased it used in 2005, it was a 1999 model. Purchased it in the north, then I moved to the south (FL)! Great car, especially if you can afford the maintenance and normal up keep. Safe, reliable, awesome safety features. Very strong heavy Mid-Size SUV so you felt comfortable and safe. My SUV aged very well, alot of people could not believe that it was 10 years old (as of 2009). Only draw back was the miles per gallon, but hey...all of the other perks outweighed that! My servicing dealership was awesome as well! I am looking forward to my new ML...very soon! Great for families or people with Large dogs. Great travel car and beach car. Awesome in the snow too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

this SUV is great

by cpenta from revere ma on Tue Jan 17 2012

This SUV is great even though it's a little old , it drives like new even the interior seems up to date. if it didn't have a cassette player you would think it's new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

If it strikes you that the Ford Explorer and Jeep Cherokee seem to be the sport-utes of choice for the everyday, backwards-baseball-cap-wearing masses, take heart.

The 1999 Mercedes-Benz ML430, the second model in the company's M-Class line, lends a hefty dose of status to the SUV market. It's as if Tiffany or Escada got into off-roading. The base price is even somewhat reasonable - $43,750 before adding such options as the $1,050 Bose premium audio system and the $1,095 glass sunroof But we found in some respects the ML430 does not live up to the storied Mercedes brand name.

She: You've heard of trophy wives and trophy kids. They make other people jealous because they're beautiful and make you... Read More