2001 M-Class

Consumer Reviews

2001 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

$2,052 - $6,760  MSRP Range
2001 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

17 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2001 Mercedes-Benz M-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

bought a 2001 ml430 in oct 2011

by brian from state college pennsylvania on Mon Dec 26 2011

has 120,000 miles on her. paid $7,000.00 for it. this vehicle has tuns of power. Transmission is still very smooth. love the slap stick for shifting if needed. This vehicle is solid. Uses a court of oil every 1500 miles. I put a $1,000.00 into the vehicle when i purchased her, and so far very reliable. For ten years old. nice vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Beautiful and solid car!

by Gene from New York, NY on Thu May 11 2017

This car'so clever engineering saved my life a few times. The standard traction controls under heavy was a difference maker. Thank God for German ingenuity. The car (2001) is reliable, built to last but maintenance can be costly when does break down. People complain but it's all how you train and maintain your car. Regular service on time, best fuel, tune-ups, all this will dictate how it will last and mine went past 200k and still is powerfull enough to go on up half a million miles if proper care is given. Rides are smooth and comfy. Engine purs. All majour repairs have been made with German OE part so it will last for a while. Tips for readers, be smart, find out the part numbers you need and buy original factory parts online (ebay is my favourite) from reputable sources. I saved thousands of dollars but buyer OEM equipment online compared to stealership/ Mechanic. I know a good generational German mechanic shop that would fix my car to last and not for me to come back a few months later. Great quality and comfort for the price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Comfortable, Reliable Tank

by Marc S. from Bergenfield, New Jersey on Wed Mar 15 2017

I bought my 2001 ML320 used in 2006 with 39,000 miles on it. It has accrued 129,491 miles to this day. I can safely say that my experience with this vehicle has been wonderful. Steering is very light and it accelerates and brakes very well for such an old SUV. Through the past 11 years, it has not once broken down on me. Given that it is such an old car, there have been some problems. At one point, the wireless door unlocker stopped working, meaning that I have to manually lock and unlock the driver's door, then unlock the passenger doors using the unlock button inside the car. Also, quite recently, the driver's window will go down but won't go up most of the time. The cause of the problem seems to be an old window switch in the center console, which is actually a fairly inexpensive, quick fix. Other than those problems, the car has run wonderfully and if you can find a good one, I would strongly recommend buying one if you're on a tight budget for a reliable SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I'd buy this car again!

by Cool Mom from Clovis, Ca on Mon Jun 04 2007

This is a very stylish and powerful vehicle! I've always been very satisfied with this SUV and would buy it again. I've received stares and compliments from both men and women about my car. Very roomie without feeling like you're driving a bus.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful SUV

by Lavern from Lithonia, GA on Mon Nov 28 2011

I just so love this vehicle. I will always buy a Mercedes. My previous vehicle is a BMW and as of now, I will never buy anything else but a Mercedes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

former owner

by melissa from Phx, Az on Sun Oct 28 2012

Like all German products I've owned the maintenance is costly and best done by a professional that works on German products. Door locks are a common problem as well as lock sensor in the suv going out. 850.00 for a power steering pump replacement was a shocker. Yes I can confirm premium fuel is needed or don't expect a smooth running vehicle. I drove and paid the avg 3000.00 yr to keep in on the road price for 3 years. Really should consider the monthly cost of owning something under warranty or purchase one when buying this old one.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I'm not a fan

by Benzs911 from IL on Fri Jan 12 2018

This has to be the worst car I have owned. but they go for dirt cheap might not look all that great but has some Mercedes qualities such as comfort quality is alright but not up to par with other german made Mercedes(ml is made else where). is still just as reliable as any good Mercedes and if you get a good deal isn't a bad car. I got mine for 1600 but the pano roof broke and some other random stuff.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

More than just a car

by My best friends name Mercedes on Thu Oct 19 2017

2001 Mercedes ML430 is more than just a car - it is your friend, it is your castle, it is your personal tank. I was surprised when I bought it, it has so many options, sensors, comfort other cars don’t have even if they are 10 years newer. Love my Mercedes

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Its a Really Amazing Car

by New Car Every Year from Chicago, IL on Wed Nov 10 2010

Alright so my dad bought this car for my mom about 4 years ago with only 16k miles on it. And this car is truly amazing. First lets get the bad news outta the way, Its got really poor gas mileage, not comfortable on the pavement, and burns oil like its owner is a Saudi prince(not to be taken offensively my parents are from UAE) Pros? this car has the best tranny in the world it kicks down right away and and the engine is powerful and sounds amazing in the high rpm range. Also this car has the best interior ever. Soft touch plastic and leather. LOVE IT. Its a BENZ!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

most reliable car i have driven in 16 years

by ken from oakland on Tue Apr 06 2010

bought the car with 70.000 miles on it , and drove it now for 4 years an other 90.000 miles , and guess what , no major repairs just tires , a steering fluid leak and thats it i hope my next one will be as reliable as this one actually i think its pretty unbelievable , that this car that i drive really ruf every single day ,never brakes down , no electronic problems nothing

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2001 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

This is not where you would expect to encounter a Mercedes-Benz.

There's not a Starbucks in sight. No outlet mall featuring fine china and designer duds. No ski chalets or beach houses.

But here we are: two miles back into the woods, up an icy road (gravel in summer) with water running down it like a sluiceway; across the runoff from an overflowing beaver bog; up a steep hill once used as a loading ramp for freshcut logs; moving gingerly over and around the stumps left by the logging operation.

No, folks who buy the Mercedes ML430 - or its lighter stablemate, the ML320 - seldom take them offroad. Usually, it's because such adventures don't interest them. Sometimes it's because, while they might... Read More