Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 M-Class

Consumer Reviews

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

15 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Has been a very reliable ride for 180K Miles!

by MM3 from DC on Sat Jul 14 2012

My '02 ML500 is living its 11th year now with more than 180K Miles. It still rides and performs as good as new! Not feeling any different than its first year. A very significant accomplishment for a car. I have a 3rd raw seat. I love that I can have 7 passengers with a strong enough engine and versatile suspension that it carries all without sweating. I love it, and wish for it to stay with my family for many more years to come.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 ml 500

by cat from ky on Fri May 06 2016

I love my ml 500 it has all the power you could ever ask for and is an absolute thrill to drive, handles the road like no other suv, I have over 200,000 on mine and it still runs like new. I have had no problems in the winter with snow. I hope it lasts another 200k. My husband has an RX8 sports car and I would honestly rather drive my SUV than his car anytime.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my ml 320

by DJ from new York on Mon Apr 02 2012

Car drives so good but then again what can you expect, it is a Mercedes of course. Only thing they could of done better on us the interior parts such as the cup holders. That was the only flaw is the cheap interior parts.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable as long as you stay on top of it.

by TabValentino on Sat May 12 2018

Don�t ignore repair issues and it will serve you right. Very reliable tranny and powerful engine. Runs great with 165k and still pumping. I love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first SUV

by Gamy loves mercedes safety from Las Cruces, New Mexico on Thu Jan 05 2017

180,000 plus miles, comfortable, roomy, reliable, good for towing, never been off-roading but it has good traction in mud, feel safe in it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned

by Headsup from Dallas, TX on Thu Mar 08 2018

Excellent drive, reliable, spacious, fun, safe, and most importantly people can't tell that it is a 2002 model. The Germans know how to build a car that stands the test of time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Purchased Pre Owned ML 320

by Wasprocker39 from Longmont Colorado on Fri Jul 06 2018

Excellent in snow and ice. Has great traction. I have had to replace the following: Front Shocks Front Brakes with rotors 1 set of Tires 1 cv half shaft axle (front) 1 front hub and hub/ wheel bearing 1 Lower front ball joint 12 Spark Plugs and Plug wire set 2 motor mounts 1 Transmission mount 1 Air Filter Front Hood Struts (Both) Stereo system Both Valves Cover Gaskets Breather Hose Set Auxiliary Water Pump with coolant flush/fill Front Differential Service Axle seal Serpentine Belt and tensioner Brake fluid change over / Flush HVAC Head Unit Door lock actuators (2) HVAC blend door actuator UPCOMING WORK Rear Struts Rear Brakes with rotors Rear emergency brakes Transmission service Fuel Filter Induction Service Rear Lower ball joints Both Radiator hoses Thermostat and gasket Coolant flush/ Fill Power steering reservoir and O Ring Power steering fluid flush Rear Differential Service T-Case Service Fuel Pump Front Upper Control Arm A/C hose with evacuation and re charge with R134A I know that it requires a lot of maintenance and repair but it is a Mercedes Benz SUV and it?s the safest SUV built.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Only the Best!

by driver from BEND, OR on Tue Oct 12 2010

WOW, It is and was the best money i've spent on an SUV. After purchasing the 2002 MK 320 MERCEDES BENZ, I keep finding new and cool stuff on it ! The three issues I had were all related to operator error. The auto shift is almost without notice. The interior is QUITE. The Boze system..well enough said...It is a unique driving experience! NO BULL

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

my 2nd 1 and will get another

by ML lover from LI ny on Thu Dec 07 2006

smooth on the road and highway , wonderful in bad weather , handled full load during 'cane' in S.C. @ 80+ on rt95 ..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Run smooth. Good engine/transmission

by Benz from Los Angeles, CA on Sat Apr 29 2017

Extremely safe. Run smooth. Good engine. Good transmission. Stability Control. Premium BOSE sound system

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

It appears that all that was needed to spice up the stew that is today's bubbling world of SUVs was a dash of Cayenne.

That's the name of the long-awaited, high-performance SUV from Porsche that should debut sometime this year. Rumors of sleek design and thundering power swirl around its anticipated unveiling.

Meanwhile, the folks whose SUV sales may be most directly affected by the Cayenne - BMW and Mercedes-Benz - are already reacting.

If Mark Twain were alive to write car reviews, he might call this one "The leapfrogging SUVs of Calaveras County." That's because, in their drive to claim the high ground of power before the debut of the Cayenne, the BMW X5 and the Mercedes M Class SUVs... Read More