2004 M-Class

Consumer Reviews

2004 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

$1,316 - $8,736  MSRP Range
2004 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

19 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Mercedes-Benz M-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Solid automobile

by Jimmy from Indiana on Thu Apr 15 2010

Purchased automobile back in 2004 from dealer as service loaner with 7,000 miles and now has 115,000 miles. Overall, this has been a solid automobile with great utility. Regular service with any Mercedes-Benz is not for the faint of pocketbook and as another reviewer pointed out the dealer can really make a difference in the your perception. Pro's to the vehicle have been its solidness (you can tell when you shut the door), quality and durability of materials used, good handling in weather and emergency situations, as well as lots of safety features. Con's have been component replacement: brakes as another reviewer mentioned (although dealer replaced for free twice) and which stops great, but last about 25,000 miles; camshaft sensor; Oxygen sensors (all 4); alternator; and power steering pump. An impressive feature was the limp home mode when the alternator failed - it started shutting systems down to get the car home. Moved from an Expedition to the ML350. ML350 fuel economy was much better at overall 18 mpg and was a better value for about the same money. It has also been a better fit for our needs as it is roomy for a mid-size SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

38 out of 38 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by Mercedes Enthusiast from Columbus, Ohio on Fri May 30 2008

I purchased this SUV used with only 42k and have had nothing but high praise for the dealerships, and the quality itself. This SUV came from the South and I moved to the "rust belt" and fell in love with the handling and off road that I never had in the Southern States! Never will I be stuck in the snow or worry about bad weather...great heated seats, leather, and general quality. Many people say that it has a bad quality reputation - I can say that Mercedes came through and created a very nice quality SUV. Perfect buy on the used SUV market at half the price of a new one! This is my 3rd used Mercedes and many more in the future!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 ML500

by StainMan from Orlando, Florida on Fri Sep 24 2010

This vehicle is everything that Mercedes claims it to be, safe, reliable and trustworthy. Rides like a dream on the road, has plenty of power and room inside with all the Mercedes amenities and can pull just about anything. Off road, it has the best handling of any 4 wheel vehicle I have ever taken off road. I reccommend this vehicle (163 model, 2005 and below) to anyone who is looking for comfort and performance and can afford the gas money, it is not cheap!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Loves MB

by KG1 from Louisville, KY on Thu Jan 31 2008

I own a ML500 with 50k+ miles. It is a great car, but was definitely in need of the styling upgrade as on the 2006 model. Fuel mileage is probably my only complaint, but considering the size and power of the engine -- who cares? If you can afford this vehicle you shouldn't be concerned if gas is $2 a gallon or $4. If you do then you should be driving a Honda. This car is easy to drive and easy to park. I've had no major problems except needing new tires at 20k miles as the original factory installed ones were a little soft and wore away too soon. Other than that I love my ML500.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

FIRST TIME BENZ OWNER

by JNOISE from westchester. new york on Sun Apr 01 2012

I BOUGHT MY BENZ WITH 65000 K OTHER THAN THE RADIO NOT WORKING AS WELL AS THE FOG LAMP....THE ENGINE IS A DELIGHT AS WELL.AS THE TRANNY....the key thing is regular maintenance..if you take of it..it takes care of you....ml 500 has ample.power and torque to.satisfy..yes it drinks gas as a v8 should be the ride is one of a kind..will trade for a later ml 550 down the rode .... :-)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever!

by Finally, found the car for me... from Sacramento, CA on Fri Jun 15 2007

Reliable, stylish, and of great quality. I looooove my car and strongly recommend it to anyone!!! Personally I disagree with the previous reviewer, but everyone has different needs when selecting a car. Test drive this one and see if it's for you. And remember that the quality of dealership has a huge impact on the outcome.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very classy, and comfortable suv!

by Soccer mom! from Whitesboro, texas on Sat Mar 03 2012

This car is very comfortable and pretty good on gas mileage! Runs great and very safe!Amazing features in this car, automatic everything, very roomy, an third row seating makes it a very convenient vehicle for my daughter and her friends! Also, Mercedes run a long time and for many, many miles! The beat car by far that I've ever owned!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

so far so good

by babygirl from ARDMORE al on Thu Nov 30 2017

like so many older cars it has a few problems. like the service engine lite came on and even after a through and through check, i cannot find anything wrong

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Mercedes Experience

by Philly from Las Vegas on Mon Mar 30 2015

I bought this car about 4 years ago - I drove it from Los Angeles to New York and back, only had to change oil and fuel it up. Never had any major problem (the car is 11 years old now, changed a A/C hose that ruptured and the alternator in 2014). This car has a great performance, people wouldn't think a car this old (and heavy - it's an SUV) would be this responsive when you step on the gas. Incredible storage space - I see newer SUVs owners struggling to fit their big objects in their trunks; on the Mercedes, it fits. For a 2004 vehicle, it has most of the whistles and bells that brand new cars today are still yet to have. Great, reliable and comfortable Mercedes experience!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

cannot ask for more

by mercedes lover from minneapolis, mn on Mon Nov 24 2008

completely satisfied. a great mercedes benz. luxury with great performance. i am sure you'll like it too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2