1995 S-Class

Consumer Reviews

1995 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

$76 - $18,232  MSRP Range

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

11 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1995 Mercedes-Benz S-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

love this car

by 1eyedal from Florence, AL on Sat Jun 09 2007

I have 219,000 on mine at this time, just now broke in, rides great,, great road car, I can drive for 8 straight hours and not be tried. Holds the road like a fine sports car, but with the heavy controlled ride, you fell you are in an ocean liner

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safest Car I've ever owned

by MB FAN from Maine on Fri Jun 13 2008

I was driving my S350D this winter when I hit a patch of black ice and went through a telephone pole at 60 miles an hour. I had 2 passengers with me, and none of us had our seatbelts on. All 3 of us walked away without a scratch. That car saved our lives, it felt like going into a patch of sand. Mercedes Benz spent over 1 billion developing this model, and I truly believe that it is the safest car in the world. Thats why I bought another one, and will always provide these cars to the people I love. you can't put a price on a persons life.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

took some looking

by xray tech from okc, ok on Wed Apr 04 2012

shopping for this car was exhaustive but totally worth the effort, I probablly spent 2 months, making phone calls on 12 different cars, and test driving at least 6. they are hard to find in truly good condition. if any maintenence at all was skipped many problems can arise, like any other car they can be easily covered up for a short time. I have driven the car for 10 weeks now, and not a single problem. things to check before you buy are shocks, make shure they are factory, it is such a heavy car, cheap replacements will make it ride okay, but wear out real fast, brakes can also wear down real fast if not replaced with genuine merc. brakes. make shure all parts are geunuine merc. look for the symbol it is on everything. also since people can buy them cheap, and maintenence is expensive I.E. $200 oil change don't just take their word for it, ask for records, otherwise can run great for a little while, and then cost a fortune. If well maintained can run great forever. but overall I am thrilled I'm 6'8" tall fits me perfect drive a mix of highway, city, worst I've gotteng was 18.2 mpg best was 19.4 thats over 10 tanks so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent car

by sellurride from springfield mo on Fri Aug 24 2007

This is a great car, 12 years later and this car is still driving fine, and still looks up to date, people are still suprised when i tell them its a 1995 vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car on the road hands down

by seldon70 from dayton,oh on Sun Dec 02 2012

my first impression of veh was the big aquarium windows and ther sleek look of it also found this car is better running than any car i had so far and its agile quiet and comfort sound system unheard of for a factory with 12 speaker system i love it on the highway no comparsion to the newer modles these car were made for kings and queens so if you can get a good and clean one its worth every penny i will say make sure you get one with maitenance work done to it i had alot of maintenance done to it car runs so quiet i wish somehow merceds would go back to these models very impressed.....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1992 to 1995

by nate from Elizabethton Tennessee on Wed Dec 11 2013

Poor reliabilty because of biodegradable wiring used in engine,and throttle body.A wiring loom cost close to a thousand dollars.And more money if you have it done.Hydralic suspension cost of thousands to.Buy one after 1996 model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mercedes-Benz W140

by Mario from Niles, IL on Sat Dec 16 2017

The last great Mercedes-Benz made. Over engineered and safe vehicle. This vehicle was ahead of its time. As is most Mercedes-Benz.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned

by Steve from Dearborn, Michigan on Thu Nov 02 2017

I have a 120861 miles on my car, The legroom is amazing, the car is perfect for road trips i drove it from Michigan to good ol' Texas it rides like boat in the ocean one way didn't stop except for gas my buddy and I were taking shifts every 6 hours on driving, at one point I was doing 135 MPH and it felt like nothing the car can just keep going and going forever, the only disadvantage is when you come to a stop light it feels like it takes forever to get up to speed the power to weight ratio is stupidly high, the engines in the W140 are the best engines Mercedes Benz ever made the M119 had 4 valves per cylinder and when they moved to the next engines they start making them with 3 valves and MB head chief executive said that this was a mistake, anyway I'm getting off my point all I'm saying is they could've made a lot of HP out of these engines they were underpowered, you can rebuild an engine and I've seen one here in MI got the right parts and the right supercharger making 700HP.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars ever made

by DV from Libertyville IL on Thu Sep 07 2017

Huge legroom, beautiful design. Engine has a lot of power, transmission is one of the best. Only thing missing is that this car has 4 speed trans, so gas mileage is not the best. Materials used inside the car are awesome. Very reliable and strong vehicle. Big body

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A really solid Mercedes

by Oregon Engineer from Albany, Oregon on Sun Aug 01 2010

The mid-90's S class is a different car than anything Mercedes has created since. It is "tank-like", meaning it is obviously massive when you drive it, and purposeful. It is not a fluffy land-yacht, and the handling automatically varies from freeway soft to backroad taut with an actively controlled suspension. The v-8 in the S500 is really enjoyable, smooth, powerful, good low end torque, high revving and powerful, yet relatively lightly loaded and long lasting. And it is spacious inside! After decades of driving little cars, it is a revelation to sit in a W140 Mercedes... the headroom, shoulder room, leg room, is fantastic. The fuel mileage is... not much different from that of a pickup. Nothing is perfect, but if you can buy one of these for $6k and put 100k miles on it... the fuel bill is not going to be much of an issue.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1995 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Since being redesigned in 1991, Mercedes' flagship sedan, the S500, has been improved every year it has been on the market.

But is it good enough?

Despite incremental improvements in handling, performance, weight reduction and fuel economy, the S500 is still fuel thirsty and massively heavy.

The S500 is the automotive equivalent of a luxury ocean liner. It coddles its occupants in supreme comfort, offers them all the room and luxury features they could possibly need, and conveys them to their destination in as safe a package as one can reasonably hope for in an automobile.

But there is something about this big Benz that makes it feel out of touch and out of sync with today's world.

Maybe it's... Read More