1997 S-Class

Consumer Reviews

1997 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

8 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Mercedes-Benz S-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Looking Car Ever Designed

by Big Body Benz from Las Vegas, NV on Wed Mar 07 2018

This is a one of a kind Mercedes and a one of a kind car in general. There's nothing else out there that even comes close to the looks, design and quality of it. It's truly a piece of art.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most stylish car design of the century!(1992-1998)

by Loyal Mercedes S-Class Fan from Las Vegas, Nevada on Mon Jul 30 2018

The exterior design is one of a kind, there's no question about it. It's the sweetest, best, most stylish and most beautiful design ever! The design is timeless! If the outside paint is new and shiny, the car can easily pass as a brand new current year car! As far as reliability, these cars have some issues with the electrical wiring and some vacuum system issues, but other than that, I can't state this enough, it has the most beautiful, the most functional exterior design of all!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

perfection

by jackfrost from lasvegas on Wed Aug 26 2009

this s420 is a grat car that will never go out of style its roomy fast and safe its the way to go trust me this is my second one from 1994 to 1998 is the must years to have.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

blower motor/contorller trouble/

by Benz Owner from Fort Wayne, IN on Sun Oct 03 2010

I have 155000 miles and generally very happy with performance, reliability and dependability. However, this is the third time I have a problem with blower motor and controller. It costs anywhere from $800 to $1300 to fix it with only 30 days warranty. If any one else has similar problem please let me know what you have done to fix it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1997 Mercedes-Benz S320

by Benz fan from North Jersey on Tue Oct 02 2012

This is a solid car. Only one previous owner and they took care of it. Smooth ride. For a '97 it has pretty advanced features (rain sensing wipers, memory seat settings, etc.) Not too bad on gas for a big car. 25 on highway if I set the cruise control for 60 and just leave it. Love the sun roof. Back seat leg room is huge. Quiet ride. Road trip heaven. And the best part ... it's a Benz!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

s 600 coupe

by dick from california on Mon Apr 14 2008

big smooth powerful engine, exellent in a straight line, wonderful acceleration and plush interior make for a ride out of this world, but this car also has its drawbacks it is not meant to be driven like a sports car and maintainance can be expensive. this car if bought used can be a unigue experience.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

S320

by Nate from Bristol Tennessee on Sun May 26 2013

Perfection and 29 mpg,thats a 320.Or do like me add Nitrous Oxide and blow 500s away.best car I ever drove,reliable for sure.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drive and Service

by Merc W140 from Lawrence on Sun Nov 04 2018

I've 1998 S320 W140 and I love it. This is the best car if you can do service work your self. And not only oil change, but most of it. Otherwise it's Money pot. I love it because I can work on it, and fix things very easily. Yes it takes time but I plane to work in summer time on things that needed to be fix. It's solid and very stylish car that can give you hours of driving fun without stress. Some of the parts are not easy to find in your local store, but planty online store including Amazon. If you are looking for one, make sure it has replaced head gasket at once. Look for lower control arm bushing and upper control arm and steering operation. These are very expensive jobs and not easy to do for many diyer. Many electrical and HVAC issues if you can't fix your self, don't rely on delaership, they don't have any clue of it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1