2000 S-Class

Consumer Reviews

2000 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

$1,590 - $7,526  MSRP Range
2000 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

22 Reviews
77% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Mercedes-Benz S-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

2000 500S with 260,000

by Jack from Apollo Beach Florida on Wed Apr 13 2016

I bought this car in April 2008 with 104,000 miles...I have had it for 8 years and have put 156,000 miles on it...the airmatics have been problematic...with that being said best car...beautiful ride...powerful and the styling holds up after 16 years

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car i've owned

by sam from oak forest il on Tue Jul 24 2007

best car i've owned............... Vehicle Overview A redesigned S-Class arrived in spring 1999 as an early 2000 model, giving Mercedes a new flagship sedan to compete with the likes of the BMW 7 Series, Lexus LS400, Jaguar XJ sedans and others.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Exciting and fun to drive

by mercedesbutch from San Antonio,Tx on Mon Feb 13 2012

Only had car for two months. 2 owner car well maintained...performance has been excellent...gas milage leaves much to be desired... but so far very satisfied

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

S500, What A Nice Car

by Benz from Manassas, Va. on Sat Dec 05 2015

I own 3/4 Mercedes and the S500, 2000 is one of the best I have ever owned in it class. Its such an enjoyment to drive on trips and are around town. I like the body design classic! I also find it to be a easy car to do maintenance on. I purchased the car with 40,000 miles! I now have 70,000! What a great car! Cars do have problems but if you keep the service maintenance up you have less!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable, comfortable and easy to drive.

by KensBenz on Wed Nov 29 2017

This has plenty of leg room, fast, great speed pick up, easy navigation, great sound system, very comfortable. Great cooling and heating system. Air bags all around you. Very safe to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable and reliable car I've ever owned

by nasir from N. Bethesda, MD on Wed Nov 01 2017

Superb comfort, handling and power. The V8 is very powerful and the adjustable airmatic suspension is unparalleled. The transmission in snow mode makes winter driving a breeze.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love it

by ANgel Wings from california on Wed Mar 12 2014

I bought this car from South Bay Auto #3- 2 weeks ago and I love her. Everyone worked really hard to help me, and they are a great team!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car floats

by Rperian from Itasca ILLINOIS on Mon Feb 27 2017

The ride quality and comfort of this car is amazing. It is nice and big, you can cross your legs easily in the back seat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Horsepower is awesome

by Johny from Vallejo ca on Mon Mar 26 2018

I love my S500 mercedes once you hit the freeway in this car you will fall in love to it drives very smoothly and the get up is amazing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Life in good hands

by Flyerskyer from Chicago on Mon Dec 06 2010

I purchased this car 2 years ago a month after I had I was in an accident the whole front end gone $9000 worth of damage.Luckly I did not get hurt nor my passenger we were totally protected. The body shop did a wonderful job because the car looks brand new no damage.This is a very safe car believe me it is safe,fast and very reliable and I'm going to keep it till it's a classic or to the wheels fall off

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2000 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Say you run a company or just cashed in those stock options at the Internet start-up you're at, and you'd like a car that proclaims your status. Here's what to expect when popping 83 large ones on Mercedes Benz new S-Class sedans:

A choice of two powerful V-8s: a 4.3-liter 275-horsepower (S430) or a 5-liter 302-horsepower (S500) version. The 4.3 will transport the car to 60 mph in 6.9 seconds; the 5-liter in just 6.1 seconds.

A five-speed electronic automatic transmission with manual shift capability.

Turn-signals in the side mirrors to alert drivers and pedestrians of your intentions.

Eight air bags, two in the front, one in each door and a headliner-mounted side-curtain air-bag that... Read More