2005 S-Class

Consumer Reviews
2005 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Change Vehicle
4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

16 Reviews
2005 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.9 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value

by AS from Greater Chicago on February 13, 2013

I'm a long time Mercedes owner, and my old S320 (95) finally decided to ride off into the sunset. I found a replacement in a '05 S500 4Matic that is sensational. The all wheel drive works well in the snow (albeit with a 1-2 mpg decrease in fuel efficiency). While the outside is slightly smaller, the interior room is exactly the same as my old '95, and the leather detail is extraordinary. Moving up to the 5L v8, the acceleration is sports-car like. For the price, this was a great deal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car.

by James from Richmond, TX on February 27, 2013

Just a great car, well designed and performance is wonderfully. I will recommend this car to my.....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

bang for the buck

by value from boston on April 16, 2012

best car i have ever owned!!! I paid 75000.00 it was a bargain 126000 miles are on the car and it rides and performes like new

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value for money, but watch out

by ZakE from St. Louis MO on September 9, 2017

This car is by far one of the best cars I have ever own, and it should be for the price it was when it was new. It is so comfortable, it has the perfect mix of road feel and softness. The S500 has more than enough power, and it's power is delivered in such a gradual smooth way that you hardly notice you're going as fast as you are. The design of the car has aged much better than most cars from that era, and the interior materials are impeccable. Really for the price these things are going for now it's a steal. The most reliable things on these cars are their engines, the 5 speed transmission is reliable and smooth, but if you get the 7-speed be wary cause I have heard bad things. This all being said, there are some things that you need to know. These cars rust like an old Pinto. It's unbelievable. The Airmatic system is amazing, when it decides to work. You can and will spend thousands at the dealer just dealing with it, either go aftermarket or just replace it with coils. This is an old German car so expect old german car issues. That being said, take good care of it and drive it decent this car can and will last at least 300k miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Experience

by Tdog from Portland Oregon on September 29, 2013

Found the car online contacted the owner and set it an appointment for a pre purchase inspection. The car passed with flying colors. We set a price and I purchased the car. Thanks to cars.com I found the car I was looking for. Thank you!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money.

by Arky from South Land USA on August 27, 2017

This car is so comfortable and a real pleasure to drive. The standard Mercedes-Benz Airmatic air suspension rides like on a cloud. Very spacious inside with plenty of room, even for the tall folks. Quiet cabin and the standard engine has plenty of available power, yet does well in fuel economy. Never had any regrets with this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unbelievable comfort and performance.

by MBS55AMGKFAR from Fargo, ND on December 30, 2017

Best value for my money. It is Very powerful, solidly built, quiet, and smooth. The ride is better than a Lexus and it handles almost like a race car. It is an executive power sedan. The best.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The most beautiful & gorgeous vehicle that I have.

by Princepaul from Galloway,, NJ on June 8, 2017

This vehicle has everything,, from the heating & air conditioning seats also pulse & vibration,, the vehicle has the most room for 5 passengers very comfortably,, and everyone traveling with there own head rest. This vehicle has beauty,, brains,, power,, and speed..!! I am in love with this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable yet good performance

by 355Miami from Miami on May 1, 2018

Great car for long trips very reliable . Handles remarkably well considering the size of the car . Don’t let the low horsepower listed for you it will move . Good on gas on the highway iPad up to 25 miles per gallon on the expresswayWhat do you have to watch for is that the car is maintained and that the air suspension is in good shape

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money.

by Arky from South Land USA on September 4, 2017

The Mercedes-Benz S-Class sedan is about as good as it gets! Excellent ride and spacious, comfortable cabin. Very quiet inside and road noise is muffled very well. Double-pane side glass is a plus. Plenty of power from even the base engine, yet returns respectable mileage. What's not to like?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2005 Mercedes-Benz S-Class