2006 S-Class

Consumer Reviews
2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

26 Reviews
2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.3 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Decent vehicle. I'm somewhat satisfied...

by Maurice from Ohio on May 21, 2011

Overall, I'm happy I purchased the car. Feel like I may have paid slightly too much. Had leaking gas tank issues and tire sensors are inoperative. Didn't know these things when I purchased the vehicle but they are now my responsibility : ( Of course the extended warranty I purchased didn't cover these items! I've had the car for a year. No other complaints. Rides smooth and the AMG package looks nice. Unfortunately I scratched both rear rims parallel parking and hitting a curb. My next tire purchase will have rim protectors. My wife loves the car and drives it mostly : )

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Nice Car

by Geezer from Virginia on April 13, 2016

Although a very nice car, these cars suffer from maladies that owners need to be prepared to correct if a warranty does not exist: sticky buttons - the "soft touch" finish on the steering wheel buttons and headlight bezel becomes sticky, collects dust and debris and looks bad. Even new replacements eventually repeat the problem. Valve cover/breather cover gaskets can leak oil onto the coil packs and exhaust manifold and will need to be replaced/resealed. Transmission electronic shift plate causes error codes/shifting problems and will need to be replaced. Air shock/air compressor problems materialize sooner or later and will need replacement. The command control module or it's associated connections can develop issues. A very nice riding attractive car if you are willing to sooner or later deal with issues.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable

by Car Enthusiast from The Woodlands Texas on December 28, 2011

Drive the vehicle before reviewing it.............. The comfort is Unbelieveable & a Mercedes that must be driven to value it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Remarkably practical all-around sedan

by Sum Yung Gai from Washington, DC on September 28, 2017

The main criteria I have for a car are whether the car will last for a long time, and what sort of maintenance is necessary. Will it always be in the shop or on the road? This car is pretty much the same from 2003 through 2006, and mostly the same from 2000 through 2006. Front- and rear-seat room is almost cavernous. Men of 1.9 metres have more than enough room in either front seat. If that same man should then hop into the rear seat--making no changes to his front seat settings--he will be very comfortable in the back seat as well. The car wraps you in comfort. The AIRmatic-suspension versions of the cars are recommended. They are exceedingly comfortable. You don't get tired after 10+ hours of driving one of these. You do feel the potholes, but they don't jar you as much as with most other cars. Fuel economy, given that this is a full-sized car, is remarkably good. With standard tires, I get 17 miles/gallon (US gallons) in straight town driving, 26 to 28 mpg straight highway, and 19 to 20 mpg combined (majority town). This is the first model of Mercedes-Benz that is actually easy to repair--surprisingly so, given that they're luxury German cars. Parts are available, and it's pretty friendly to "DIY-ers". The main exception on 2WD S430's and S500's is the 7-speed transmission. That can be a bit of a pain to fix (read: higher labour charges) vs. the 5-speed. The 5-speed is also a bit stronger. The ABC (hydraulic suspension) versions of the car, those can get *very* expensive to repair. Unless you know what you're getting into, stay with an AIRmatic car. Like with any car, you need to stay on top of the maintenance. It's really not that bad, rather, a lot of people don't do it. Change the engine oil and filter every 5,000 to 6,000 miles, the transmission fluid and filter every 40,000 to 50,000, brake fluid every 24,000, and antifreeze/coolant at the specified intervals, power steering fluid every 50,000 miles (do it with the transmission service) and your S-class will last hundreds of thousands of miles. Since I do this, I just get in my car and drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worst Car I Ever Owned

by Michael from Miami, Florida on May 22, 2017

This pretty, powerful, little V12 car was absolutely horrible in terms of reliability. I bought it 9 years old for $18,000. I sold it a year later for $5500. It cost between $1000 and $2500 a month to keep it running - Every month! (for about 6 months. Then I stopped driving it.) The best it ever did while I was using it, was about 3 weeks without a major repair. All the repairs on this car are major repairs. It has a hydraulic suspension system that is the devil's own. Changing a hose can require pulling the motor! The hydraulic pump for the system costs $1800 plus the labor to change it, and the $50 a quart hydraulic fluid that it takes to fill the system. It has every option known to man, from massage seats to an automatic rear windshield sun screen. Every one of these gadgets is subject to failure. I would recommend this car to Kim Jong-un.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car i ever drove

by ZAGHLOUL from Staten Island,NY on July 13, 2017

This car met all of my need. it has plenty of legroom in the back and in the front, the ride is great compared to other cars i tested or own it ( German Engineer ) A+

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fits like a glove

by Boss-S55 from Boston on December 3, 2010

You have to have your expectations in the right place. If you buy a used car, Mercedes or otherwise, you'll likely have some issues creep up. Key to buying a used Mercedes is to know the owner so as to the know the car. Stereotypes hold true which is why they are stereotypes. AMGs are owned by a certain crowd so I walk into buying my car knowing (and expecting) a lot of issues. That said, it's the only large car that fits like a glove. You know the feeling you have when you put on your favorite pair of jeans/shoes/gloves or that power suit which always gets you the deal? Yes, that is this car. Other cars (except current BMW 7) are almost stand-off-ish by how far away all the panels are. With this car, the seat and dash wrap around you and no control is ever far away. Ride is exceptional and power is just plain stupid. Engineering? How about this: there are as many brake pistons on ONE front caliper on this car as ALL 4 in a police car. As near as makes no difference, 500 hp, 500 lb/ft, 185 mph top speed, 14.2" 8-pot brakes and every luxury conceivable. It's utterly stupid. Gripes: it is very costly to own. Budget $5k for suspension @ 70k, lots of electrical niggles, $2k to replace a failed COMAND (most likely in my case because of an aftermarket car-audio place mucked it up), $100 per oil change, coupes will eat the wires that go to the doors @ the hinge, fuses and heaven help you if you hit something. Bumpers are $1500 unpainted and AMG parts are double that. Driving it: God Himself wonders why this car exists, but while He's doing that, any owner will tell you, it's utterly intoxicating to drive. No one needs more than 300 hp, but while you have nigh-on double that, why not enjoy: highway passing is effortless and instantaneous, 0-60 is unimaginably fast and despite a severely nose-heavy understeer, late braking is met with a touch of power-on oversteer in severe corners. it's a true gentlemen's uberluxury super-sport sedan. And, it makes the twice-as-costly S65 irrelevant.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very nice

by autobuff from Ca on December 8, 2008

all you would expect from the top of the MB line. Classic good looks, no interior noise, smooth handling. A very good car for the money

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful car

by 2006 S500 from Bay Area, California on April 26, 2009

What a gorgeous car. It's the best ride and it makes me feel like a million bucks. Very high expectations by non-Mercedes owners is the reason why you read bad Mercedes reviews. But it takes a real Mercedes owner to appreciate a Mercedes. The engineering and designs are all with careful thought. Owners need to read their owner's manual and become familiar with the features and engineering intended for driving pleasure. Originally, my car was $89,000. You can get a 2006 (3-years-old) for S500 with wood steering wheel and other features for less than $29,000. What a great value for a wonderful car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I have owned

by Enthusiast for high quality & exotic cars from Petaluma, CA on October 6, 2010

These cars are above everything else and on the German Autobahn the S500 is still considered the "Boss". When it comes to quality these cars are the best in the business, period.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3