2008 S-Class

Consumer Reviews

2008 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

$8,402 - $28,710  MSRP Range
2008 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

31 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Mercedes-Benz S-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Turns Heads, but leaves something to be desired.

by Summer Dreamer from New York on Fri Jun 06 2014

I've owned many S class Mercedes over the past 25 years beginning with my first new Mercedes - a 1991 350SDL. Mercedes has certainly advanced over the years in many ways - power, handling, styling and speed. An S class is always sure-footed and predictable even in the tightest of corners. Its' front bucket seats with both heating and cooling elements are typically more comfortable than most living room seating. 4Matic was a welcome addition many years ago and it does not detract from its handling in the least. For those who care, gas mileage is spot on predictable regardless of how fast you drive, although it gets slightly better mileage at super low speeds. In short, you and three of your closest friends or family members can sit comfortably for hours without fidgeting. However, not all is good news with the S class. The electronics will take longer to learn than Mandarin Chinese - I leaned how to play a dvd movie on the navigation system before I could figure out how to set the clock. The S class has become big and bulky and can at times feel sluggish even with 384 horsepower. The car can be expensive to maintain, although it is worth every penny as it is more reliable than any family member. In short, if you can afford a new luxury car, or even a slightly used one, you will not regret purchasing an S class Mercedes. It is heads and shoulders among any of its competitors, including BMW, Porsche, Jaguar and even some more expensive brethren including Aston Martin. Good luck and enjoy - you only live once and it's a terribly short at that.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Luxury and higher performance

by Spc fatih from on Sat Mar 18 2017

Highly prerformed car for bussiness man , looks fantastic and feel luxury in side and while driving

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value for the money

by Karen from Savanna on Mon Oct 09 2017

Great value for the money. This car meets all of my needs except I bought a little bit older than I normally do but it still has all of the features I use except for the telephone. Left

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Comfortable, Safe, and Powerful

by Mikemid from Texas on Sun Aug 19 2018

I purchased a 2008 S550 and so far 5000 Trouble free miles. Car has 127k miles. Car is very comfortable, spacious and has unlimited Torque. It gets 23MPG up to 25MPG highway. Very safe and built like a tank. Reliability is excellent so far. But i will update later.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just may be the perfect car. Beautiful.

by Zachseb from Rochester, NY on Sun Dec 24 2017

Beautiful design, inside and out. Outstanding performer. Both Graceful and fast. Like a Cheeta. I love to drive this beauty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Beautiful and comfortable car I have ever own

by JamesSadie from Chesterfield, MO on Mon Oct 15 2018

I love this the S550 4Matic, the color, design, comfort, ride, safety, and options are perfect and cover all of my needs. It receives a A+ in all categories.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best Luxury-Sedan I've Bought!

by Luxury Car Enthusiast from Scottsdale, Arizona on Mon Jul 21 2008

I was in the market for a bigger luxury sedan and came down to the BMW 750Li, Lexus LS460, and the Mercedes S550. Since the dealerships are all lined up on Scottsdale road, I tested all the vehicles in the same day. I test drove all three and the BMW had the legenday performance and great interior qualities. I did not choose the BMW because it had a rough ride, and lack of high luxury. I tested the Lexus LS460 next, and it was like riding a cloud. A very nice ride and nice luxury but it was just too smooth. Feels like I wasn't driving a car. Than I tested the 2008 Mercedes S550, and it was the best of both worlds. I felt that the Mercedes was a solid car, with great performance and luxury. It did not sacrifice ride feel for performance, and had plenty of interior space. After I tested the Mercedes, It was the right choice and I chose the Mercedes and am very happy with my choice. Its an excellent car and no wonder its the number 1 chosen govermental car by more than 90% of the worlds goverment. Excellent car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mercedes is back in the game

by long time benz owner from california on Sat Jan 19 2008

Mercedes is back in the game with the s550. I was very disappointed with the s500 I traded in, with it's awful 7 speed trans and what I thought was poorer handling and comfort. But the s550 is one smooooooooth ride, and is incredibly roomy and comfortable. I am not a fan of the body styling, and the car is much bigger than the previous S class. Maybe a little too big, but the rear passengers will love it. The little gear shift handle on the steering column takes some getting used to, and Mercedes never seems to quite get it about the controls for mirrors and windows. Where is that famous German engineering ? But the voice control features are so much better, and the satellite radio, navigation and many other features are excellent. If you take long trips, this car is fabulous-- real comfort all around. If you are doing the vast majority of your driving in stop-and-go traffic, it's still a great ride, but this is a BIG car (by today's parking space sizes, anyway) and I don't like close-quarters maneuvering with it. I always get the feeling that it takes up all of the width of the driving lane. It is expensive, but if you want comfort, you should really check it out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Large Sedan Out There

by Mercedes Fan from Omaha Nebraska on Thu Jul 03 2014

I bought the car new when I got an unexpected bonus. I had been looking at BMW 750, but it didn't have 4 wheel drive which I needed. Also looked at the Audi, which was quite nice, but in the end I decided to pay the extra money and get my "dream car". I haven't been disappointed. Ride, luxury, handling, road noise and comfort are all as good as it gets. It is a little confusing getting used to all the controls, but once set, everything works fine. It handles better than expected for such a large vehicle and the turning radius is very good. The main negatives are the relatively high initial cost. Make sure you have good tires and it will handle really well. The 4 matic is really good as it easily handles snow with any decent set of tires. I recommend using 4 snow tires even with the 4 wheel drive if you live in snow country. The seven speed transmission is just wonderful. My only regret is that I couldn't afford the s63 upgrade with the turbocharged engine. 385 horsepower is pretty good for most cars, but for this particularly heavy sedan, a little more would have been nice. The new ones are very similar, have turbocharged engines and are up to 425 horsepower which is definitely noticeable, but to save alot of money, get this car. You'll love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

A luxury car that's a nightmare on service

by Car resarcher from El Paso, TX on Wed Jun 13 2007

What I like about this car is its luxury appointments and featurea. And I like the performance. What I don't like about this car is it has a Polarizing styling and it's seriously expensive. But still I would recommend it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2008 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

When a car costs as much as a house, as the Mercedes-Benz S-Class does, it makes you take a step back. Can a car this expensive really be worth it? After spending a week with an S550, I can tell you that if any ultraluxury car can justify its gold-plated price tag, it's this one. Mercedes' flagship offers a level of power, luxury, technology and prestige found in only a select few full-size luxury sedans.

Elegant and Modern
The S-Class commands respect. The sedan's strong visual presence is highlighted by a sleek front end that incorporates triangular headlights and a classic Mercedes grille. The edges of the headlights flow into bulging front fenders that are mimicked over the rear wheels as well (see... Read More