2012 S-Class

Consumer Reviews

2012 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

$11,705 - $50,553  MSRP Range
2012 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

25 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2012 Mercedes-Benz S-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

nice daily driver

by job from KC area on Wed Aug 20 2014

bought it for the AWD and the comfort. Interior comfort features are fine, COMMAND a bit complicated until you learn the system, but OK. MPG is 26 on the highway, plenty of pickup in the S550. Easy to navigate although it is large, and the blind spot indicators are a must have. Not the most elegant style in my garage, but all in all a good car for a daily driver.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What an amazing car

by Dmatt88 from Springville on Sun Mar 19 2017

I've owned em all. Jag, BMW, Lexus, Infiniti etc This is my second Benz. All I can say is wow. Unparalleled comfort and quiet when you want it (ie highway) yet a few button clicks into sport mode it becomes a beast. The s550 has been wonderful to drive. Heated cooled massage seats. A stereo that is unreal makes for a car you don't want to get out of. The infotainment center takes some getting used to, yet once you understand the setup, it's very user friendly. Your eyes rarely have to leave the road. I was choosing between the Audi A7 and this. Once I drove it, I was sold. Again wow. Happy motoring.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most dependable car and luxury

by eric e from cary, nc on Tue May 16 2017

fantastic vehicle. the ride is phenomenal, the space for everyone to sit and be comfortable. The S Class 550 is a classy car on the road. you cant go wrong owning one of these awesome vehicles

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drive it and you'll buy it

by CS from MD from Bowie, MD on Tue Jan 20 2015

This car was exactly what I had been looking for. Pleanty of leg room (I'm 6'-4"), beautiful interior and sleek exterior. If you want to look and feel like you have arrived, arrive in this car. Drive it and you will buy it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love this car

by HR from LB from Long Beach, NY on Sat Aug 19 2017

I Love my 2012 S550. The ride is fast and smooth. Getting onto the parkways is a breeze. With two twin V8 turbo charged engines, I tend to drive too fast for my wife's liking, but on the other hand my kids love it . The car is loaded with both safety and luxury features. The massaging seats are very relaxing. The backseat windows have shades as well as the back window to filter the sun during warm weather. The cruise control can maintain preset distance and speed with the car in front of you. I have three kids and although the backseat is spacious the middle seat has a hump on the floor which causes my kids to fight over who gets stuck sitting there. My only other complaint is the repair costs. Overall I highly recommend this car to anyone who wants to drive a great looking, powerful car that's loaded with tons of features .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable seats, pleasure to drive, great safety

by Bluebenz from Louisvill e, KY on Mon Oct 09 2017

The active multi contour seats are the most comfortable I've ever encountered. The car is really connected to the road and is a pleasure on longer trips. Safety features work so well. I've not had ANY problems in 4 years of ownership and remain puzzled why the S class is not rated more dependable than other TRUE luxury brands! I like the understated exterior design: distinctive and not flashy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable and connected to roadway.

by Bluebenz from Louisville, KY on Tue Aug 22 2017

The active multi contour seat is more comfortable than Bentley or Rolls. Pleasure to drive, quiet, smooth with remarkable handling. Dependable, the car is over 4 years old and NO repairs or problems to date!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

comfort designed for royalty

by hapasc from bayville new jersey on Thu Nov 30 2017

ever since seeing the first model W221 late in 2006, i wanted this newest S class design for many reasons. the exterior design is stunning, the interior spectacular in comfort and design also. i did not buy early on as i was awaiting the diesel version, which finally arrived in 2011 as the S350. reason for diesel, 38 mpg on regular basis experienced. i have now a 2016, the W222 s550, as the diesel was no longer available. i still have the 2012 s350 also, it is a hard to give up such a nice vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

S Class

by Chocolocks from Miami , Florida on Fri Jul 14 2017

My dream car ; my third Mercedes Benz; ( traded an E-class ; it was every thing I could have imagined ; and more

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MERCEDES S350 DIESEL

by johnnyD from HARTFORD, CT 06103 on Mon Aug 14 2017

Very styish, large lux sedan. Getting 34 mpg on hiway adventures. Excellent technology: lane assist. collision avoidence and the usual extras that you would expect on a S class Car feels very safe at both in town and autobon speed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2012 Mercedes-Benz S-Class


To some folks, putting a diesel engine into the latest generation of the iconic Mercedes-Benz S-Class is akin to having cell phones ringing at a funeral.

To others — and the Mercedes folks feel that will be between 5 and 10 percent of S-Class buyers — the reaction is, “It’s about time to have a diesel option.”

The present generation S-Class flagship of the M-B lineup has been around since 2006, an extraordinarily long life in “automotive years.” However, it’s still the segment leader and many would argue it reigns as the finest automobile made.

The diesel engine, introduced by Rudolf Diesel in 1893, first went into volume production with Mercedes in... Read More