2012 S-Class

Consumer Reviews

2012 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

$9,995 - $34,107  MSRP Range
2012 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

36 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Mercedes-Benz S-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable seats, pleasure to drive, great safety

by Bluebenz from Louisvill e, KY on Mon Oct 09 2017

The active multi contour seats are the most comfortable I've ever encountered. The car is really connected to the road and is a pleasure on longer trips. Safety features work so well. I've not had ANY problems in 4 years of ownership and remain puzzled why the S class is not rated more dependable than other TRUE luxury brands! I like the understated exterior design: distinctive and not flashy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The ride is indescribable! Game changer!!

by Boy1der from Middlebury, IN on Sun Oct 21 2018

This car is magnificent, beyond words! Comfortable, cruises like a 747! Turns heads every time I drive it. I have never owned anything this unique before. Everything you want in a Mercedes Benz is in this car. Step inside the interior and feel the luxury that only MB can give you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

700 mile cruising range

by Hilss350 from Bayville NJ on Sun Nov 19 2017

Cruising range of the bluetec diesel of 700 miles on 25 gallon s of fuel is only thing That separate s a s350 from a s550 , oh of course zero to sixty too lol. The w221 is by far the best S class in many years, both inside and outside designs and ammenities.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not Your Daddy's Diesel

by Mr. Dub from Killeen, TX on Mon May 27 2019

There is nothing I can say about this car that you can't read about on professional review sites. But from my experience, what was written is true. I have gotten more than 700 miles to a tank of diesel. The car is quieter than what you would expect from a diesel engine. You don't have the diesel smell, low power or the black smoke. It has an incredible smooth ride and quite interior. Plenty of power. Plenty of room. People don't believe me when I tell them it's a diesel. I like this better than my S600, that I traded it for. I plan on keeping this for as long as possible. This is the total package. I highly recommend it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever had

by chooper from Austin, TX on Wed Aug 14 2019

Just bought a certified 2012 S550 a few weeks ago and I'm blown away at the comfort, the power of that 429 hp twin turbo engine and a plethora of luxury car features. Nobody does it better than Mercedes Benz!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extreme luxury with MB reliability and safety.

by Mcginte from Long Island, NY on Tue Jul 18 2017

This car has everything: multi-adjustable seats front AND rear; massage for driver and passenger; 4-way AC control; great safety features including multi airbags, night drive assist (special camera display on dashboard), lane keeping assist, active blind side assist, rearview camera, Distronic Plus (keeps distance between you and other cars, no gas/break peddle needed). Best car I ever owned!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most luxury sport S63 AMG I ever had!!

by Slavik777 from New York, NY on Sun Jul 30 2017

This car is luxury, But with the AMG power it possessed, you literally felt the sport power. S63 AMG from my expertise in comparison to the basic s-class is very dependable on long trips, and just the overall drive and feel of the package this car has made long trips enjoying!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Performance and Comfort

by Eugene R. from Renton on Sun Sep 24 2017

Drives like a performance car, comfortable and spacious like a limo. Meets and exceeds all expectations.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

!!!The best car!!!

by Sabrina Collins from San Diego on Mon Mar 11 2019

Me and my husband love this car. It drives so good. We think it is one of the best German cars. Would recommend it 100%

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most luxurious car I’ve ever owned.

by King David 214 from Orange County, California/ Columbia, SC on Sat Nov 17 2018

The ride is smooth with the 20 inch wheels, the interior is super comfy, comes with massage seating for the driver and passenger and limo tint for extra privacy look.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2012 Mercedes-Benz S-Class


To some folks, putting a diesel engine into the latest generation of the iconic Mercedes-Benz S-Class is akin to having cell phones ringing at a funeral.

To others — and the Mercedes folks feel that will be between 5 and 10 percent of S-Class buyers — the reaction is, “It’s about time to have a diesel option.”

The present generation S-Class flagship of the M-B lineup has been around since 2006, an extraordinarily long life in “automotive years.” However, it’s still the segment leader and many would argue it reigns as the finest automobile made.

The diesel engine, introduced by Rudolf Diesel in 1893, first went into volume production with Mercedes in 1936 with the 260D as a 2.5-liter engine with 45... Read More