2012 S-Class

Consumer Reviews

2012 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

$14,234 - $44,646  MSRP Range
2012 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

26 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Mercedes-Benz S-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

most dependable car and luxury

by eric e from cary, nc on Tue May 16 2017

fantastic vehicle. the ride is phenomenal, the space for everyone to sit and be comfortable. The S Class 550 is a classy car on the road. you cant go wrong owning one of these awesome vehicles

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love this car

by HR from LB from Long Beach, NY on Sat Aug 19 2017

I Love my 2012 S550. The ride is fast and smooth. Getting onto the parkways is a breeze. With two twin V8 turbo charged engines, I tend to drive too fast for my wife's liking, but on the other hand my kids love it . The car is loaded with both safety and luxury features. The massaging seats are very relaxing. The backseat windows have shades as well as the back window to filter the sun during warm weather. The cruise control can maintain preset distance and speed with the car in front of you. I have three kids and although the backseat is spacious the middle seat has a hump on the floor which causes my kids to fight over who gets stuck sitting there. My only other complaint is the repair costs. Overall I highly recommend this car to anyone who wants to drive a great looking, powerful car that's loaded with tons of features .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable seats, pleasure to drive, great safety

by Bluebenz from Louisvill e, KY on Mon Oct 09 2017

The active multi contour seats are the most comfortable I've ever encountered. The car is really connected to the road and is a pleasure on longer trips. Safety features work so well. I've not had ANY problems in 4 years of ownership and remain puzzled why the S class is not rated more dependable than other TRUE luxury brands! I like the understated exterior design: distinctive and not flashy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MERCEDES S350 DIESEL

by johnnyD from HARTFORD, CT 06103 on Mon Aug 14 2017

Very styish, large lux sedan. Getting 34 mpg on hiway adventures. Excellent technology: lane assist. collision avoidence and the usual extras that you would expect on a S class Car feels very safe at both in town and autobon speed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

700 mile cruising range

by Hilss350 from Bayville NJ on Sun Nov 19 2017

Cruising range of the bluetec diesel of 700 miles on 25 gallon s of fuel is only thing That separate s a s350 from a s550 , oh of course zero to sixty too lol. The w221 is by far the best S class in many years, both inside and outside designs and ammenities.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury and Power

by whenrysrmsaba on Sun Oct 22 2017

Like my C230 Kompressor, my C300, by far my S550 is not only the best car I own, it is the best on the road at any given time. Starting out is inevitable and head turning is common. My diamond white S550 is a fine luxury vehicle with ineffable power. It is what I expect from Mercedes and the reason I have only owned them for the last 16 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most luxury sport S63 AMG I ever had!!

by Slavik777 from New York, NY on Sun Jul 30 2017

This car is luxury, But with the AMG power it possessed, you literally felt the sport power. S63 AMG from my expertise in comparison to the basic s-class is very dependable on long trips, and just the overall drive and feel of the package this car has made long trips enjoying!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Performance and Comfort

by Eugene R. from Renton on Sun Sep 24 2017

Drives like a performance car, comfortable and spacious like a limo. Meets and exceeds all expectations.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned

by Lionel from philadelphia, pa on Mon Jun 12 2017

This car met all my needs and then some. The craftiness, the comfort, the luxury that is associated with the Mercedes S Class 550 is second to none. After driving this car, you cannot be comfortable in a different car. Mercedes raised the bar a little too high.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extreme luxury with MB reliability and safety.

by Mcginte from Long Island, NY on Tue Jul 18 2017

This car has everything: multi-adjustable seats front AND rear; massage for driver and passenger; 4-way AC control; great safety features including multi airbags, night drive assist (special camera display on dashboard), lane keeping assist, active blind side assist, rearview camera, Distronic Plus (keeps distance between you and other cars, no gas/break peddle needed). Best car I ever owned!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2012 Mercedes-Benz S-Class


To some folks, putting a diesel engine into the latest generation of the iconic Mercedes-Benz S-Class is akin to having cell phones ringing at a funeral.

To others — and the Mercedes folks feel that will be between 5 and 10 percent of S-Class buyers — the reaction is, “It’s about time to have a diesel option.”

The present generation S-Class flagship of the M-B lineup has been around since 2006, an extraordinarily long life in “automotive years.” However, it’s still the segment leader and many would argue it reigns as the finest automobile made.

The diesel engine, introduced by Rudolf Diesel in 1893, first went into volume production with Mercedes in... Read More