2004 SL-Class

Consumer Reviews
2004 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Change Vehicle
4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

21 Reviews
2004 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Now What ?!!

by Herr automann from Miami, FL on January 16, 2009

I have owned 15 or more cars in my life. Six of which have been various MB models. The SL HAD always BEEN my dream car. But that dream quickly turned into a very expensive nightmare after purchasing one. Within one month of the factory warranty expiring, I spent almost three thousand dollars just to fix the ABC. TWENTY FOUR DAYS later, another $1,700 for a repair on the transmission. And the list goes on and on. Long story short; I have spent more money in repairs for this one car than I have for all of the other vehicles I've ever owned COMBINED! Don't get me wrong, I still have an affection for the MB badge. The car performs extremely well... When it's not in the shop. It looks great. It's an attention getter. It's also mechanically unpredictable. The phrase 'now what?!' continually crosses my mind whenever I hear a new noise or smell a new odor coming from under the hood. Maybe this model is like some wine, just a bad year.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

59 out of 59 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Repair shop star

by Disappointed owner from Portland OR on May 29, 2008

If it can go wrong, it will go wrong. The SL constantly requires dealer service. I bought the car intending to keep it for many years. I ran out of patience after a year and a half of monthly and sometimes weekly visits to the repair shop. The top froze in mid-air and would neither fully open nor close. The car cannot be driven that way, and the tow truck won't tow it that way..., the trunk would often not seal closed, the central locking system would not unlock, the electric consumers would often go offline..the list goes on and on. Buyer beware.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

49 out of 49 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Like No Other...

by MB Lover from Scottsdale, AZ on March 21, 2011

Purchased used with 19K miles; driven 3k trouble-free miles thus far. A second vehicle, not a daily driver. From many friends who own 2003-2007 SLs as well as documented owner reviews, the car is either a dream or nightmare insofar as reliability is concerned. I'm convinced it all depends on the particular vehicle you purchase; used, multiple-owner cars seem to have the most problems whereas clean, well-maintained one-owner vehicles are relatively problem free. If you're fortunate enough to find and own the latter, it truly is like no other car. A dream to own and drive...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Worth the Money

by Car Lover from Birmingham, MI on October 25, 2009

The SL 500 is a gorgeous car inside and out. Rarely do you find a car with both a stunning exterior and a perfectly manicured interior. Overall, I love this car. It's a perfect combination of power and luxury. Very impressed with the steering and handle of the vehicle...it's perfect on the highway or on the city streets. If you are looking for a classic, super luxury / high performance 2-seater look no further.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worst ownership experience ever

by HBL of Tysons from Tysons Corner VA on October 9, 2006

2004 SL55, purchased new in 4/04. 16k miles before dumping it for $82k. Over 20 dealer warranty overnight repair visits. This is the most unreliable car I've ever owned. Superchargers replaced. Problems came back. Tough luck, said MB USA Corporate Customer Service. Brake rotor problems, Ventillated seats never ever worked, Parktronic sensors replaced, Interior trim problems. My biggest aggravation was from the super-charger squeaks that came from every slightest acceleration. Oh, but I also loved this car! The sound of the compression and pure adrenaline was so much fun. Still, I love my new Lexus I350...not a problem yet. Good luck

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Head turner overdrive

by Sl500 owner from Minneapolis on May 31, 2013

A great classy car with a sporty image. Handles like a sport car. Tight steering stif shocks corners well. I keep my car real clean and always love getting the heads to turn. Boost male ego. If you don't drive it everyday the 2md battery will get low. Get a battery charger and resolves this problem.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful Car

by carmandan from Aragon,Ga. on February 1, 2008

I have owned many cars in my life(over 50), this is the nicest and best overall. I have owned many that were faster, some that rode better, some that handled better, and 1 or 2 that looked better(66 Corvette comes to mind) But none that combine those things into one car like this one. Very luxurious, smooth, quiet, polished and nice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sexiest car I have, or will ever, own

by SL500 lover from Los Gatos CA on November 14, 2006

2004 SL500: There isn't a time I've walked up to my car, and not thought how gorgeous it is. My commute is a joy now. No matter how good or bad my mood, just driving my car notches it up. It handles like magic, literally. I've pushed the limits on empty mountain roads and have been shocked at how it sticks to the road like it's on rails, and the automatic control features manage and correct the car the few times I've put it into a skid (on purpose to test this feature). I truly adore this car. If I won the lottery tomorrow, I would not even consider an alternate.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sexy car, great ride

by carlover54 from Beverly Hills, CA on April 17, 2017

This car is a head turner. It's the kind of car that shows you've reached the top, and can afford to show it. It's sleek, sexy, elegant, and revs up beautifully.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

sl55 AMG

by JC5050 on February 15, 2018

Love the Vehicle. Its sleek design and tremendous amounts of power. It is a must have. For the price nothing can beat it especially if you can work on the car on your own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3