Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2007 SL-Class

Consumer Reviews

2007 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

$6,107 - $35,639  MSRP Range
2007 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

17 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2007 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car Ever Driven

by Question Mark from Marietta, GA on Wed Jun 13 2012

At 64 years of age and newly retired the wife and I figured it was time to spoil ourselves. Consequently, we bought a Certified SL550 with 28K miles because we had always admired the SL?s iconic styling. However, the jump in horsepower from earlier model years and styling updates made the 2007 the year of choice. My wife and I previously owned 2 Corvettes, G35, M35 and a LS430. However, I was totally unprepared for the pure comfort and driving pleasure I have experienced driving the SL the last two years. The steering is intuitive as the road "feel" through the rather ?thick? steering wheel is unbelievable. Most women who have driven it say ?the car seems to drive itself? with little effort from the driver. Cornering is like you are on rails. My Lexus had a driver?s seat that adjusted 18 ways but the SL has both seats that adjust 21 different ways for unparalleled comfort and the Bose sound system fills the cabin with crystal clear sound. Being able to put the top down quickly (around 16 seconds) has led to many a spontaneous moonlit drive coming home from a night out. Just returned from a RT to South Bend, IN and got 26.1 mpg using the very simple to use cruise control. Do not ever see letting this car go as the power and comfort are downright intoxicating. At used car prices it is one heck of an awesome driving experience not to be missed in my lifetime. Haven't experienced any reliability problems after pleasurable 9000 miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible driving machine

by socalh2oskier from Manhattan Beach, Ca. on Sun Jul 02 2006

I bought a 2007 Jag XK two months ago--I drove it 2500 miles and traded it for the new Mercedes SL 550. The Jag was a beautiful car, but the Mercedes is head and shoulders above it in the driving experience. The new SL, although 500 pounds heavier than the Jag, is more responsive, corners with less body roll, and has a better ride. The Mercedes also has much more comfortable seats, it has a retractable hardtop that is awesome for the unfortunate times that weather requires top-up motoring, and it has 82hp more than the Jag, propelling it from 0 to 60 over half a second faster than the Cat from Britain. The Jag is better looking, has a much better stereo, better NAV, and, in my opinion, the better transmission, but when you drive the two cars, there is no comparison--the SL is by far the better driver. The Jag transmission is really a marvel--the six speed automatic has lightning fast shifts--when you drive the SL immediately after the Jag, it seems like the tranny must be full of sludge it is so slow in comparison--and this is the renowned 7-speed G-tronic that is raved about in the car mags--drive them both and you will see what I mean--the Jag tranny is vastly superior and more fun to use. The biggest complaints I have about the SL are the NAV and the stereo--the NAV is ridiculoulsy complicated--plus it is slow and comes up with inane routes that make no senses. The Bose stereo is mediocre at best--this is hard to stomach in a car that costs over $100,000--there is no subwoofer and no rear speakers--even the front speakers don't get components--and to make matters worse, the entire system is connected via fiber optics, making it incredibly difficult if not impossible (not to mention exorbitantly expensive) to modify. On top of all of this, the steering wheel controls are worthless--the buttons to change the radio stations do not correspond to the pre-sets---instead they simply go up or down to the next available station. How stupid is this? ANSWER---VERY!!! But even with its problems, the SL shines in the area most important--driving--it is absolutely the best driving automobile I have ever owned--and over the past 10 years I've had Lexus, Acura NSX, Corvettes, Jaguars, and several BMWs--none drives as well as the SL.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car. Great price. Great timing

by starr from Anniston, AL on Wed Oct 08 2014

I am enjoying every moment of this vehicle. I was researching Vette's and M6's and this vehicle. And as I was looking back through the listings on Cars.com one day. I came across a listing for a 2007 Mercedes Benz SL550 for an unbelievable price. And couldn't let it pass by. Contacted the seller and three days later I was on a road trip going to go get the vehicle. Love it. Love it. Love it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great driving car

by SL55 AMG from Chandler, AZ on Fri Nov 23 2012

I went from a 04 SC430 to a Sl55 AMG back in Aug 2011 15 months ago and the verdict is out on the SL55. The only thing I had to do was change the oil. The AMG seats are tight if you are over 6.3 230LBS. This car is scary fast and a head turner. Good value for the money if you buy 4-5 years old. 70% off MSRP of $128K.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

mercedes guy

by mercedesguy from CA on Sun Apr 22 2012

Bought certified with 56K miles. Wife asked "do you love it" and said I didn't know. Now I know. Love it. Took on 600 mile round trip from sea level to 6000 ft. and back and was comfortable the entire way, top down when weather nice, decent gas mileage on highway, and great performance. This car is one beautiful piece of German machinery. Have E350 coupe and this car is more comfortable and performance is awesome. Worth the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I named her Heidi

by Tommy from Corinth, MS on Fri Jun 01 2018

Beautiful, older German that is absolutely amazing. I'm talking about the car, not the TV persona. Can't walk past it without smiling. $100K+ sticker after ten years was extremely affordable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully Reliable!

by SLfan from TN on Fri Nov 09 2018

I?ve had my SL550 sport (AMG package) for 3 1/2 years now and it brings a smile to my face every single time I fire up that gorgeous engine. Oil and filter changes and one battery change has been it since I have owned this beauty. Drives like a dream and looks stunning albeit being 11, going on 12 years old. I highly recommend this vehicle and hope to have mine into old age!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2007 Mercedes SL 550

by viperipc from Cochranville, PA on Tue Sep 13 2011

This is truly the Swiss army knife of cars. With the top up it's an excellent grand touring car, with the top down it makes a fun sports car, and when you step on the gas its part muscle car with a tire chirp and nice growl with plenty of pep. Where this car really shines is on the inside, the seats are infinitely adjustable and amazingly comfortable, the controls are logical, easy to read and adjust, the wood trim is tasteful, but it?s not over the top with an infinite array of buttons and switches. To me this is a modern interpretation of the original 60?s SL and doesn?t need video game displays to tell you what the oil pressure is. Ride and handling are what you would expect, in comfort mode most of the road imperfections are absorbed, the chassis is very stiff even with the top down and somehow the SL feels much lighter then the weight tape tells you. Is the car worth the new asking price of $100k plus, no way, is it worth half that with 30k miles, absolutely, every penny.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not a "Gas guzzler" to me

by BR from Maryland on Mon Jun 01 2009

I am not typically an aggressive driver, but I do enjoy a good "takeoff" now and then. On a recent night trip of 160 miles with little traffic I had an unbelievable 29.0 MPG! Since it was a holiday weekend speed traps seemed to be everywhere so I set the cruise control to 64MPH for most of the trip. A factor which probably also played a part was the Distronic option which eliminated some manual braking. AC was on. On the trip home in moderate traffic with the top down and much more stop and go, I still achieved a commendable 24.5 MPG. Since I don't drive my 2007 SL550 on a regular basis (less than 9000 miles in 2.5 yrs), the trip odometer occasionally loses it's memory and resets to zero. But over the past 1400 miles my average mileage is still a strong 21.8 MPG. These numbers are far above the government mileage ratings. I keep questioning why this car has the gas guzzler tax!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

6 Weeks with an SL550

by BuddyBenz from Chicago on Tue May 15 2012

We've had our SL about 6-weeks and think it's one of the best looking cars on the road. Compared to the Prowler it replaced (and I still love the Prowler), it's quick and silky smooth. The retractable hardtop is amazing to watch. The stereo system sounds very good, but the Nav. and radio controls are not up to the rest of the car (very cumbersome). The Nav. is crude. It's a really fine car and we are looking forward to taking it on a trip this summer. I would strongly recommend an extended warranty as 3 sensors have already been replaced and the motor mounts need replacing at 34K miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2007 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

You've seen the ads — the ones where the happy couple runs outside to find a luxury car with a bow on top in their driveway. While I'm not holding my breath waiting to find a set of keys to a Mercedes-Benz SL550 under the tree this year, maybe you are. If that's the case, you'll be among the fortunate few who possess one of these retractable-hardtop roadsters. It's an amazing car in many ways, and one we were sad to see leave the Cars.com garage.

Exterior & Styling
The basic shape of the SL-Class has been around since the 2003 model year, and it remains one of Mercedes-Benz's most stunning designs. Low and wide, the SL550 doesn't follow other cars on the road, it stalks them. Mild trim changes for... Read More