Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2009 SL-Class

Consumer Reviews

2009 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

2009 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

21 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car - a rocket on the road

by L.A. AMG AFFECTIONADO from Los Angeles, CA on Tue Mar 29 2011

I traded in my 2004 SL 500 AMG for the 2009 SL 63 AMG. I had been researching for quite some time and definitely wanted some of the upgrades - the panoramic roof, the paddle shifters, the neck scarf feature. Furthermore, I also wanted the AMG transmission options (four settings plus race start) and the other sport traction and suspension features. I wasn't disappointed. This car really moves, perhaps having a bit more power than one can really use here in Los Angeles. Still, when you're merging onto the freeway and some special person is attempting to cut you off, it's very sweet to put the petal to the metal and watch them disappear quickly into your rearview mirror. The hard part is backing off to 80MPH which will (usually) save you from a pull-over. This car really just wants to GO. The sound is sweet. Even with the windows up, the growl is unmistakable. With the top down, and the throttle wide open, it sounds like a couple of (slightly-tamed) harleys taking off in tandem. The more you push it, the sweeter it sounds. And all if this comes in wrap-around luxury. I opted for the wood-trim, black leather with the air conditioned, massaging seats. This is the car I've waited for. It's a racing coupe, a sports coupe and a touring coupe. The top easily opens and stores in less time than it takes for a red light to turn green and the rear wind block flips up in a second. The anti-roll bar adds a special touch. There are a couple of cons - which I can live with since true automotive perfection is a myth at whatever price. The command center is outdated - especially compared to some less-expensive competition - and doesn't interact well with the steering-wheel instrument cluster menu. Many times there is a delay (at best) or a simple freeze-up of the screen. It almost seems like it is trying to process too much information. This does not affect the menus related to engive performance however; the glitch affects only the nav, telephone and audio displays in the instrument cluster. I took the car in to service and, despite the three weeks+ it took to install an entirely new command system, the problem was never resolved. I can live with it, but I can't go another three weeks without my daily AMG therapy. The only other issue is, with the top down or only the driver's side window open, one can smell and feel the engine's heat. Admittedly, there are abundant vents to help keep this powerhouse cool and on the road - all of them functional. So it's natural to feel every sensation associated with sitting on 500+ horses. No regrets.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car yet

by picky driver from New York on Tue Jun 05 2012

I struggled for a long time with whether I could go for a two-seater as my main driver. But my kids both have cars now, and once I drove this SL 550, there was no question. It is absolutely the finest driving machine I have ever owned. I would gladly drive it around the world. The comfort of the cabin is stunning, the visibility is breathtaking. Mine has a panorama roof, so even when the top's not down, it's light and airy inside. I can't imagine what would ever induce me to change cars again. I got the 2009 because I like the design better than the new ones, but also because it is whisper quiet. There's none of the porsche growl to interfere with conversations or books on tape or music. I love this car like none I have ever known.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2009 Mercedes-Benz SL550 Great Car

by Bear fan from Raleigh,NC on Mon Jul 09 2012

This is my third Mercedes SL and the Best one so far. The Mercedes corporation keeps improving on the SL class each and ever year that's why I keep buying them. This is my first pre-owned Sl that I've purchased and the CPO (customer pre owned) Program that Mercedes stands behind is outstanding. The Mercedes Dealership goes over a 120 points of inspection. If any mechanical part is worn out or needs replacing the dealership replaces it. The car is also Corvered by a one year or 12000 mile warranty, with a option of purchasing an Extended Warranty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Neat car

by Old guy who always wanted and SL from North Carolina on Sun Nov 24 2013

Love the SL's looks and great handling. Love the covertable hard top feature. Getting but didn't expect 25mpg on the road with a V-8 550. Classy car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, low miles

by Paolo36 from Scottsdale, Az on Mon Nov 18 2013

This car has been an absolute pleasure to drive. The top retracts effortlessly, allowing an additional setting for climate control. It accelerates well, the twin turbos coming online without the feeling of downshifting that some turbos have. The extra wide tires give excellent traction, and make cornering quite easy even at higher speeds. I love the sound of the pipes when accelerating. The only qualm I have is the difficulty getting in and out with a lowered suspension.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car to drive

by DmitryK from Denver colo on Sat Mar 24 2018

Great car to drive but costly to service. Warranty should be 5 years on all components, including electrical parts. Trunk closing mechanism should be replaced for free at 25k miles not for 600 usd!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

sl550

by shorething from nj atlantic city on Mon Dec 25 2017

I have had three of this timeless vehicle for a reason. Nothing for the price point beats the styling and performance. Every time approach the vehicle it stands out from the crowd. Every time I step on the gas reminds me why I also bought it. When I get gas it gets comments and head turns. Great fun and every day vehicle if you want it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most secure convertible I've driven

by CJ from Cypress TX on Mon Sep 18 2017

with the AMG Performance package ($12,500 option) this car drives like a super car and is very tight, fast and fun to drive, really turns heads. and very safe, roll bar, air bags and doors like a vault

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!!!!

by Blondie from Las Vegas on Wed Aug 21 2013

The car is immaculate and better than advertised! Great ride and has all the options. It's a real head turner!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

An exciting car, an adventure if you like to drive

by Dubliner from Macon, Georgia on Sun Feb 11 2018

It’s a wonderful and perfect car for everybody who likes to drive very sportive and fast. It has an amazing technic and you can get an incredible driving experience only provided by a few sports cars in the world!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2009 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

What's not to like about the 2009 Mercedes-Benz SL550? If you have $96,000 lying around, there are a lot worse ways to spend it than on this superb retractable hardtop roadster. It's fast, stylish, luxurious and even has decent trunk room. That's practical, right?

Perhaps not practical, but if you're looking to rationalize a purchase such as this, the SL550 has a long list of pros to back up your decision. Yes, there are many cars out there for this much money. Some are better performance machines, some are better luxury barges, but few marry the two as well as the SL550.

Looks
For 2009, the SL got some plastic surgery in terms of a new nose and slightly revised rear. Both were altered to make the SL... Read More