2001 SLK-Class

Consumer Reviews

2001 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

$2,915 - $12,839  MSRP Range
2001 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

19 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

SLK 230 Kompressor Sport

by Steve from SWFL on Thu Jan 29 2015

Great little car with fantastic and agile handling. Was quick and easy to get from 70 mph to 110 mph on I-75. However, there are two problems. The interior (dash, glove box, console, and radio knobs) will degrade due to heat and UVB rays in the hot Florida sun. Also, after time, the headliner may come unglued. Another problem is with the hydraulic rams in the trunk that raise and lower the hardtop/convertible. These rams will more than likely need to be replaced. Our car has only 24,000 miles and is always garaged, but has had problems with all of the things I've mentioned above.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2001 SLK 320

by JimBat from St Augustine FL on Fri Nov 15 2013

With the exception of being a tight fit for a 6 fter, this is an outstanding car. I've owned BMW, Miata, TR-6. MGB. This one gets it on, corners great, and is easy on the gas. The convertible top is slick and it just makes for a fun ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a real work horse

by kriemhilt from San Carlos, CA on Thu Aug 18 2016

bought this car in 2006 and it has been a wonderful car despite not always getting the first class care it should. Very dependable, beautiful, many compliments on it, good on fuel. Negatives: the wood panelling is horrible - peeled off and dangerous; there is a serious defect in the brake light mechanism which causes the brake lights to burn out every so often..was a Recall issue but Autobahn Motors in CA refused to fix it, claiming they were only a franchise! Not good for taking large dogs.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Janet's Roadster

by Janet's Roadster from Ashburn VA 20147 on Thu Sep 25 2014

I purchased the 2001 SLK 320 Roadster for my wife for our 41 wedding anniversary. She has always wanted a sports car. The Roadster is a hard top convertible in excellent condition. We are entering this Roadster in a Classic Car show at the Three Fox Vinyard in Deleplane Virginia on October 5, 2014. There will be 75 cars at this event

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the little titan

by youngfilmore from HIGHLAND SPRINGS on Fri Mar 03 2017

bought mine used with 133,00 miles on it....car has been one of the best auto purchases ever...very quik for a 4 cylynder..fun to drive...very sexy top down or up....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

She Purr's,Roar's, 0-150mph in seconds..Like Me8)!

by MoreBeautyInSide from Salinas,Ca on Tue Jul 04 2017

This Benz Roadster is the finest..fastest..and fuel effective car..on the road I am sure. Took a hair pin curve at 80 mph!! Didn't even swish!! Drove from North Salinas to Lake St in Marina in less than 5 minutes!! The Complete and total package car in My Opinion is this Mercedes 230 SLK and I AM BUYING ANOTHER ONE. ASAP..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

52k miles with zero problems

by Alestes from Northborough, MA on Mon Apr 09 2018

The SLK230 Kompressor was among the last true design of Bruno Sacco, at the end of his 30+ year tenure at MB. She has clean lines and unimpeachable proportions, no chrome and the double jump on the hood of 300 SL memory. It is not a sport car, but a (very) fast cruiser you can drive at 85 miles/hour on the highway from dawn to dusk. In the appropriate hands it is also quite manageable on mountain roads and hairpins. The engine has a reputation for 200k+ miles before any major service, provided you use a full synth motor oil (like Mobil 1). Fuel consumption is often in the 28 to 32 miles per gallon, if you dare to use the excellent low end torque rather than push the rpm past 5000/‘.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun and Sexy

by Mockingbird12 from SPICEWOOD, TEXAS on Sat Nov 11 2017

Fun little car with excellent gas mileage. Has a tendency to nickel and dime you $100.00 at a time. Still fun to drive. Makin muffins at 85 mph.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car

by Badabing Bob from Vinton, Va on Sun Oct 01 2017

This car is in mint condition....looks like it just drove off the showroom floor....garage kept!....real head turner....looks better than all the 2001s I've seen out there!....only 107k miles!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

After 40,000 miles the car still drives like new!

by BILL from West Springfield Ma. on Wed Nov 01 2006

This 01 SLK320 is the best car that I've owned.It does everything well and can be used as a daily driver.The car has the OLD MERCEDES SOLID FEEL missing from later designs.When you close the door with the window down it tells the whole story.The car feels solid as a rock at over 100mph and smooth as silk.This is my 10th BENZ and I know the difference.The interior console and dash peeling is the not up to old standards.BUY THE 6CYL.Much better than my last 98 new SLK230.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2001 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Ah, at last. Mercedes-Benz's SLK roadster has finally arrived. This is my fourth turn in the wedgy little two-seater with the folding steel top. But this is the first one that I can say without reservation has the equipment and performance to qualify as a bona fide sports car. And all it took was an extra-fine V-6 and a slick-shifting, six-speed transmission.

The first three SLK models were not quite right. The first one I had back in '98 seemed rushed into production to compete with the new flock of latter-day roadsters coming out of Germany and Japan.

That SLK 230 Kompressor contained a four-cylinder engine equipped with a supercharger (a.k.a. kompressor in German) and an automatic transmission. Performance... Read More