Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2003 SLK-Class

Consumer Reviews

2003 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

$2,665 - $16,189  MSRP Range
2003 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

7 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very Fun, Reliable, and Safe Convertible

by Mercedes for Life from Charlotte, NC on Thu Jan 31 2008

A lot of fun and great in the sun. Very safe, as I've been hit by an SUV; a lot of damage to the car and not a scratch on me. Mercedes Benz builds incredibly safe cars, even the small ones like the SLKs

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nothing but fun !

by I love this car ! from Chadds Ford, PA on Thu Jan 25 2007

I bought this car used and it just gets better with time. The folding hardtop convertable as well as its sporty appearance makes this car a real head turner. Excellent handling & suspension makes driving a pleasure again! Other than an oil change, there has been no need to return the car for service. Worth the money !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Too much fun!

by SLK fan from Houston on Sun Jul 11 2010

Bought an SLK 4 months ago, and it's been a so much fun to drive. It's our weekender car, and we have the top down 80% of the time. Handling is superb, and acceleration is great on the SLK320. I can't imagine what the SLK32 is like!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Kompressor Kicks on all accounts

by Pearl from Honolulu, HI on Fri Nov 02 2018

No better value for your money on the MB SLK Kompressor! Even with a lot of mileage, if you maintain the maintenance aspect of the vehicle you will not be disappointed in it's performance. I've loved this car from the moment I drove it. Parting will be sweet sorrow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2003 MB SLK 230 Represents a Good Value

by bobinyelm from Olympia, WA on Mon Apr 03 2017

I bought my '03 SLK in 2011 with 38,000 miles in near showroom condition, having obviously well cared for by its first owner. Compared to previous "big" SLs I owned, the SLK offers superior handling that reflects "soul," as if the car is exactly enjoying the drive, compared to earlier Series 1 and 2 SLs that were competent, and comfortable, but somewhat boring (though I loved the styling and the quality). The 4cyl engine is a tad rough and growls a bit compared to the available V6 3.2 liter (which I have in another Mercedes I own), but it does a good job, though the supercharger needed a new coupling to quiet a bit of noise it was making. A slightly more sporting exhaust would be welcome, and would camouflage the roughness IMO. The transmission shifts well, though until warm, it tends to shift at a slightly higher rpm that necessary. The 2 tone interior is very attractive, and the retractable hard top does it job of making the car superbly "all-weather" compared to cloth tops especially well. I routinely get 27mpg around town and 32mpg on the highway driving conservatively. Reliability has been flawless, though I don't put a lot of miles on it, reserving it for sunny day drives.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

More GT ripper than Race-track Fiend

by AMG=OMG!!! from Danbury, CT on Sun Nov 04 2007

SLK 32 is faster than the SLK 55 but not as feature-filled. Retractable hard-top is priceless. Fast when the transmission software work, needs reflashing almost annually however. No major mechanical problems after 4 years which weren't covered by warranty. Expensive tires which last about 1 year with aggressive driving. AMG parts are even more expensive than already expensive standard MB parts. Despite all that, you can't help but smile profusely while driving this precision machine. I don't think the handling is great enough to keep up with other "sports" cars, i.e. Z4 or Boxster on the track but, the engine pull/torque is fierce for such a small car and you can activate the save-your-bacon ESP with very little effort. I find the seats very comfortable but you'll have to try for yourself. Hands-Free phone is a must as you need both hands to drive this beastie safely. Rear-wheel drive is a must in a sports care and some throttle-steering is possible with this car but again it's not really made for the track. Not too bad in the snow with snow tires, and keep to level ground with reasonable snow accumulation. Traction control helps immensely. Do not underestimate this machine as a "chick-car" as many do with the older SLK's. In anyone's hands (male or female) this car goes very fast in a straight line and is a lot of fun to drive. I reccommend it highly for people that like to drive. So turn off the radio, drop the top, apply shades and try not to smile TOO much!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Summer Fun

by Frankl from Hamburg NJ on Sun May 13 2018

I wanted a motorcycle but wife nixed that due to prior accident. Driving this car is closest thing to being on a motorcycle. It handles unbelievably The superchargerhas more power than it needs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1