2004 SLK-Class

Consumer Reviews

2004 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

$3,981 - $15,873  MSRP Range
2004 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

10 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2004 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

James Bond Car

by SLK Enthusiast from Fuquay-Varina, NC on Mon Aug 24 2009

I am 6'4" and fit this auto very comfortly. The SLK is one of the finest autos that I have ever driven. The 2004 Special Edition will be a collectors auto one day. It has the great feel of the Mercedes Benz and gets great gas mileage as well. This body style will always be the first one for the SLK's.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mercedes CLK 320

by dmt007 from Milwaukee, WI on Mon Jul 16 2012

I purchased this car site unseen from a Florida dealer. Fortunately, there were no big suprises, other than only getting one key. A spare key will cost close to $200 (Ouch). Love the car. Get comments all the time. Great styling, good performance. I have a little buyer's remorse for not getting the V8. It goes away... I am having a bit of an issue with the top. There are a complicated series of motions that top and enclosure go through. The rear window does not want to close with a single press of the top button. Otherwise, absolutely love the car. Drives like a go-cart.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Deferred gratifcation

by long-time car enthusiat from Gig Harbor WA on Tue Aug 30 2011

I was first aware of the SLK when it was unveiled as a concept car. A convertible didn't make much sense for me until very recently and I am even more pleased with this car than I thought I would be. This is not for hard-core sports car fans. It is a car that strikes a balance of performance, luxury and styling. With the hardtop up, entry can be a little awkward, but once settled in, the seats are fantastic and the instruments and controls are well laid out. Top down driving is a joy and the motor music is sublime. If you can live with the small trunk and your "boy-racer" days are in the rear view mirror this should be on your short list of "fun cars!" Buying suggestions: the vast majority of these early SLKs were sold in the U.S. with manumatic transmissions. They will be easier to find and resell. Although I love manual transmissions, I think the manumatic is a much better pairing with this particular car. Lastly, spend a little more and get the 320 instead of the 230! Happy motoring...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car I've owned.

by ed in sonora from sonora,ca. on Sun Jul 20 2008

Best car I've ever owned. It's a fun car and fantasic to drive. Good gas milage along with a fast responsive engine and great handleing. If I don't drive it for a while I sometimes forget how much I enjoy driving it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best roadster

by DavidSLK from Detroit, MI on Tue Aug 11 2015

Love roadsters? The Mercedes SLK is the best in all seasons. I've owned grown with my first '98 230 to '15 250. Get the looks. Best story was pulling up to the Detroit Zoo next to a caravan of kids. They watched, with dropped jaw, as I raised the top.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 320 is low milage, 38,000 and great fun

by Kramer S from Thurston County, WA on Fri May 31 2013

Previously owned a 230 1998 which we loved but this is a very quick and fast car that is fun to drive. My only wish is that it were an automatic. My only complaint is that the clutch pedal seems too small and I'm hoping that after a few months, it will seem just right. This will be my primary drive for long and short trips and the mileage seems to be about 26mgp (with less than a conservative foo)t. The cockpit is well proportioned and all gages easy to read. Dual climate control keeps my wife happy and me cool all at the same time. In and out is a bit tricky for my septuagenerian and extra large frame but my granddaughter decided it was big enough for me. Even with with top down, we have luggage space for a week but longer will take a laundromat. This is a real coup for ice, rain and snow but a great top down ride as well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

classic design

by livehawaii from Honolulu, HI on Fri Jun 11 2010

The car had less than 7500 miles on it. Drove like new, and the dealer appeared to have had it detailed, so we bought it. It's a beautiful car, but we don't have much driving mileage on it yet, so can't rate reliability and don't know if there are any problems.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Top of it's class SLK 230

by CLASSYNSLK 230 from Atlanta, GA on Tue May 29 2018

This was the best SLK 230 I have seen. I test drove to the vehicle and fell in love with it. I am trying to figure out how I can afford to buy it since I will be getting married soon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Hardtop convertible has Great style.

by Toolman59 from Anderson, SC on Wed Nov 29 2017

I'm a smaller man so it fit me like a glove and the performance is great for a small sports car. I love this car!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing sport experience for fraction of price!

by Slava from New York, NY on Sat Jul 15 2017

Amazing vehicle with all you need to have fun and experience sport car! Fun to drive with roof opened in "sport" regime! Nice BOSE sound, very comfortable sport seats!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1