2005 SLK-Class

Consumer Reviews

2005 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

$5,874 - $19,386  MSRP Range
2005 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

23 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A Legendary MB Sports Car

by hinotes15 from Nashville, TN on Sat Oct 22 2011

The SLK350 is a truly fantastic sports car. Equipped with the AMG Sport Package (includes ground effects kit, sport suspension, brembo brakes) and the extremely rare 6-speed manual, this car is one of the best sports cars out there. Steering is IMMEDIATE and laser-precise, acceleration is neck-snapping, clutch is lightweight but with a mechanical feel, and the 6 speed is crisp and clean. The heating package (Airscarf neck-level heating, heated seats, automatic climate control ,and heated side mirrors) is a must-have. I have driven top-down in 40 degree weather, and with the heater blowing on my feet, Airscarf blowing on my neck, and heated seats turned up, it is perfectly comfortable. The "REST" feature is particularly neat. When the car is parked and turned off, the car will re-route residual engine heat through the cabin and maintain a set temperature for up to an hour. VERY USEFUL in truly cold weather, and will not drain the battery. The retractable hardtop is nothing short of amazing. The engineering and attention to detail that went into the design of the roof/trunk arrangement is truly incredible. When the roof is up, the car is as quiet, solid, and airtight as any other fixed-roof vehicle. Up/down operation takes a mere 22 seconds. The SmartTop module (available aftermarket) allows the roof to fully operate on the move, up to 35 mph, a real time-saver when driving through a parking lot and looking for a space to park. The car is perfectly reliable. I have over 92,000 miles on the clock, and the biggest problem I have had was a squeally belt, which was repaired quickly and easily. Maintenence can be expensive, but this needs to be understood prior to purchase. OWNING A MB WILL BE EXPENSIVE, but is definitely worth it. My only true complaint about the car is the ride. The AMG sport package is fantastic for cutting-edge performance, but the sport suspension is punishing on rough roads. "Touring" tires takes the edge off a bit, but if you live in an area with truly rough roads I would not recommend the sport package. Overall, a truly fantastic sports car. Looks GREAT, drives great, very practical, and very reliable. NOT CHEAP, but you get what you paid for, unlike some other brands. You won't regret the purchase of an SLK! PROS: styling hardtop performace heating Package w/ auto climate control exclusivity! CONS: ride quality w/ sport suspension maintenance costs

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Classy sports car

by ghsport from Colorado Springs, CO on Thu Nov 21 2013

The SLK is a class act in every respect. It's extremely well-made, very reliable (even after 120k miles), and VERY fast. My 6-speed 350 is just as fast as my ML63 AMG. I would highly recommend this car to anyone, its particularly amazing value as a used purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Get ready for some FUN!

by SLK ALL THE WAY from Houston Texas on Wed Oct 04 2006

My 2005 SLK-350 is a blast to drive. get ready for some stares at stop lights! You don't see many of these cars out on the streets yet, so people are always staring at the car. I have the AMG package and this car handles really well. The NAV package is very percise, when you get to your destination a checkered flag appears on the screen. Make sure you get the Harmon K. Stereo that way you won't need to replace it, well worth the money. Hold on when you give it gas, this car is really fast. To take the top down you just hit a button and it is down and in the trunk in seconds .Buy one, You won't be disappointed!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty SLK

by testjet from on Mon Oct 03 2011

Wow! If you want to have the fun of your life and turn heads doing it, get an SLK. Top down, airscarf up flying down the road at speeds you shouldnt be in one of the best looking cars on the road is one of the best feeling you can have in a car. I like the styling and performance, and its fun to have people rolling down there windows at stop light saying nice car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My Car

by Jade from Frisco, TX on Tue Mar 22 2011

I absolutely love my Capri Blue SLK350. It is gorgeous and runs like a dream. The car handles well and has great pick up.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Actually is worth waht they advertise

by Dr. Ed from Memphis, TN on Mon Apr 11 2011

This has been a wonderful automobile. It is so well designed that the interior of the doors never get dirty from the road dust or even wet from rain or washing. Even the engine compartment stays pristine. Beyond that however, is the great running engine with smooth performance. It handles well and you can decide if you want it in regular or sport mode. The retractable top is marvelous.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive

by Head Turner from Dallas, TX on Thu Apr 10 2014

I have only had this car less that a month and don't have an issue with the car, but more so the dealer that sold me the car. Sold it to me with a defective tire and then has refused to make it right. Now the A/C has gone out. Not the car's fault. It is a used vehicle, after all. Car is absolutely gorgeous and so much fun to drive. Handles like a DREAM. It sits very low to the ground so you do feel every bump. Doesn't bother me at all but might bother some. I just got rid of a CLK so if you are wanting the ride of a CLK, you won't get that. It's definitely more sporty. It's definitely a head turner!! And quite a bit of trunk space which you wouldn't expect. This care is AWESOME!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Turns heads from 3 to 93

by pete0621 from Palo Alto, CA on Sun Jul 16 2017

From my early car crazy years I know kids recognize style at an early age and you cannot help but notice heads of all ages turning to look at this car which bodes well for it's future value. More than once I've stopped to stare at the classy lines, top up or down. It appears to be simple but in fact it's quite electronically sophisticated. I bought a used 2005 only because my wife had to have it, and soon learned it was docile, yet fast and cool to drive. It's a keeper!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VERY STYLISH AND EXCITING

by Rox from Deneysville, South Africa on Sun May 03 2015

For as long as I knew this car I wanted to have it. I loved it with all my heart. My family and all my friends knew. When I came home with it it was all smiles. All my colleagues came in numbers when I arrived with it for the first time. It is such a beautiful car. Yes its too small inside as a standard for such a car but you get consoled every step of the way. You feel when you are aleep, when you wake up and when you drive it. Its like you have achieved it all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A head turner

by kaligirl36 from Hayward, CA on Thu Jun 29 2017

For a car to be 12 yrs old and still look like new and get more gawks and OMGs, this is the car to own if you want to impress or feel invincible. It is a very fun car to drive but for me it is now becoming too small, as I am ready to be a mom, no longer can I drive a 2 dr coupe. :(

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2005 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

I've always thought that to be a true sports car, a two-seater needed a certain edginess: the threat of a snap to its rear at launch, nimbleness afoot, sensitive steering.

The latest Ford Thunderbird is not a sports car. The Mustang certainly is. In that same vein, Mercedes-Benz has produced some classic two-seat cruisers that were too straight-ahead heavy to be sports cars -- yet the 2005 Mercedes-Benz SLK55 AMG, this week's test car, is precisely that.

Of course it helps that it comes from the AMG stables, Mercedes' hot rod wing. Just as, for instance, Audi S models, Ford SVTs, BMW's Ms, Cadillacs with a V, Dodge, and Chryslers bearing the SRT are all symbolic of hot rod roots, so too is AMG. You... Read More