Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 SLK-Class

Consumer Reviews

2008 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

$3,969 - $22,821  MSRP Range
2008 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

17 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I went from "Sapphire" to a "Diamond"

by Diamond Girl from Little River, SC on Fri Nov 23 2007

In 'September 01, I purchased a 2002 SLK 320--sapphire blue. I thoroughly enjoyed "Sapphire" and never had a problem, with her. It was beautiful and classy--I never ever saw another SLK in the same color--and even though the newer models were introduced year after year, "Sapphire" still held her own and got admiring stares everywhere we went. In September 07 I took "Sapphire" in for her 50,000 mile check and somehow traded her for a new '08 SLK 350--Diamond Silver. Mercedes Benz has made some notable improvements in the SLK over the years: wider, longer, sleeker, the hard top goes down quiter and faster. My new car, "Diamond," is a quite nice, but sometimes I still miss "Sapphire," but not for long. I can't imagine owning any other car but an SLK. By the way, "Sapphire" only stayed on the dealer's lot for two days before someone purchased her.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 SLK

by Joey from Kingston, PA on Fri Oct 29 2010

Traded in my 2004 SLk for like new 2008. I have had dozens of muscle and sports cars and this is the cream of the crop. Just right out fun to drive and a real eye catcher. Compliments never end. Only thing that could be better is an AMG model, not that it is necessary, but those extra horses would be great!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pleasantly surprised

by Motorsports Nut from Texas on Fri Sep 03 2010

I bought the SLK because my wife wanted a M-B convertible. Otherwise I would not have considered it, especially if it were to be for me to drive. I would probably have bought a Z4, MX5, Z350 or S2000 for myself. That said, it is a most competent and comfortable sports car in every respect. I am now a believer!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Much nicer to be back to a 2 seater

by benz-driver from Boyds, MD on Tue Sep 27 2011

I traded my clk and even though the slk has a smaller engine, the car has better pick-up. I find that there is plenty of room in the trunk and if I do not have a passanger, I have been able to do a 5 to 6 hundred dollar shopping trip to Sams.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Easy convertible I ever owned

by Kevin from Kansas City on Sat Jun 12 2010

Great car, easy convertible top, fun to drive, excellent pick up, great handling, we are enjoying the car. Highly recommend this vehicle!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car!

by sports car enthusiast from St. Louis, MO on Mon Nov 07 2011

Awesome power and performance. Electronics could be improved but overall worth it. Love this car. Aesthetics are second to none. German engineering excellence!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very cool car to drive

by Chad from Tacoma, Washington on Fri Aug 10 2018

It is a classy and peppy sport coup. I find, despite its size, there is a lot of headroom. The sound system is not good though and if you want to update it to an aftermarket system good luck: requires a complete rewire.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

glad to be in a two seater

by pjgr from las vegas, nevada on Sat Sep 01 2012

there is absolutely nothing i can say, except. i drove triumph spitefires in the 70's. grew up and finally was able to drive a sports car again. i picked the perfect car for reliability and just plan enjoyment.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good as new for half the price!

by A Rare Oppotunity on Mon Feb 26 2018

I love this car, but I'm just not home to drive it. I don't have to sell, but would like to see it go to a good home. This is your chance to buy a car as good as new for half the price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not for a large family

by Lootas from Lummi Island, WA on Mon Sep 18 2017

Would keep this car forever if I had a place to keep it. It has features found on no other car. For instance, there is a pump to circulate coolant through the heater so you can sit in comfort in 30 degree weather with the motor off for about 40 minutes and not have to run the engine. In addition to heated seats, it blows almost instant warm air on the back of your neck from the headrest. This is a cold weather dream. Hard top is just the push of a lever and the car goes and the up and down in 20 seconds. Only thing lacking is a huge trunk (which would look stupid, of course, on a neat little sports car). Easy to park, easy to drive. Have had it for years. Hating to give it up but planning to go for one vehicle instead of two so we need a little SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2