2004 Mountaineer

Consumer Reviews

2004 Mercury Mountaineer

$1,018 - $7,614  MSRP Range
2004 Mercury Mountaineer

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

25 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Mercury Mountaineer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

nice suv, with space and comfort but....

by ford11 from Marinette, WI on Wed Mar 16 2011

this is my third year with this suv, and over all i am very satisfied with it. purchased it used with around 50,000 miles on it in very good condition. it fits seven people comfortably, and handles great in snowy weathers. being from northern wisconsin, you need a good winter vehicle. it has slid sideways a couple times, mainly with me trying to get it to kick out. otherwise i have had no issues with it not getting traction, even without the awd kicking in. its a very quite riding vehicle, and obsorbs most of those bumps on the hwy going 65mph. it drives more like a car to me, rather then the usual SUV. it turns great, and doesnt have that wide radius like the explorer or expedition. for parking, its a one turn and your in. i have had to back up and re-park once due to turning on slick black top. now to the bad... every winter i have not got any better then 12 mpg in city and 16 mpg on highway. summer its about 14 city, and 17 maybe 18 on highway. the fuel mileage is NOT GOOD! After a year my ENTIRE front end needed to be replaced, thankfully i purchased the extended warranty! also the lumb bar in driver seat and heater in driver seat was replaced within the first week i had it. the cd player is still working, but it will go through its moments where it doesnt want to read cds... my car is at 81,000 right now, and now needs its u-joints replaced which isnt bad esspecially being awd. Over all nice vehicle, but would recommend not getting a car with AWD. to many parts moving and to much wear and tear on a vehicle, which means lots more repairing!!! over three years of owning this pig, and ford has most likly put over $3,000 into it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 Mountaineer

by love my Merc. from Levittown , PA on Mon Mar 30 2009

I have had my mountaineer for a little over a year now. I can't say enough good things about it. The comfort, styling, and features are great. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for an suv. You can't beat it. I can say that i do not regret purchasing it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great solid SUV with great handling

by slugger1951 from Louisville, Ky on Sat Jan 13 2007

Purchased the vehicle used and I'm very satisfied. 20 miles to gallon with v8 and great handling for a large SUV. Overall quality is exceptional with little road noise. AWD is flawless as I just got caught in an ice storm in Kansas City, Mo. Great traction in very unstable road conditions. Solid vehicle with great long trip capabilities. I drove 12 hours straight and was not exhausted.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My Second Mountaineer

by My second Mountaineer from Cleveland, Ohio on Sun Jan 23 2011

I bought this SUV used last year at 100,000 miles and it has given me no problems besides a broken cd changer. Its extremely comfortable and everybody loves to ride in it. It has held up very well for the amount of miles it has. Ive driven many SUVs and no other mid size comes close to its performance (4.6 v-8) and i believe styling. Its also American built in Kentucky which is nice. Living in the Cleveland area it has been fully tested in the worst weather and has done great. The features in it like heated seats and heated mirrors are great too. If you see one, get it, and enjoy passing the imports on or off road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Do not pay Mercury Mountaineer

by tony from Springfield, MA on Sat Jan 21 2012

Do not buy this car because after 80,000 miles the tranmission start to slip.And the tranmission will breakdown on you.Also it will cost you 2,500 to get the tranmission fix.I wish I never bought this car!!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best SUV Ive owned

by Mercowner from on Tue Jul 20 2010

Good towing performance Poor gas mileage Would recommend Great SUV Nice interior and luxury Reliable and durable. Great in the snow

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Chev from seatle on Sat Dec 06 2008

This really is a no-brainer - it comes with all the options Mercury offers, incl AWD, which makes it esp safe in rain and snow. It has run perfectly for 50k miles and not one thing wrong - I highly recommend this car. Also, as it is American and there are a number of Mountaineers and Explorers, parts are cheap and they can be services everywhere.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love it!

by NONE from on Thu Jul 22 2010

I purchased my Mountaineer in 07 and have been completly satisified with it. The only complaint is the gas mileage. But the other features make of for this shortcoming. I absolutely love it!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It is part of our family

by About quality from Seattle Wa on Wed Sep 17 2014

We purchased this car 10 years ago new, and we love it. We usually buy a new one every 5 years, but we have been so happy with it, we would like to go 15 years. Usually doesn't need repairs, but when it does, grab your credit card. $1200 for an a/c line. It was in a bad accident 5 years ago, now today it needs a rear differential, wheel bearings and struts. I was told they are bullet proof and shouldn't have these problems. Got it back from the frame shop and found the body shop didn't fix the frame proper and caused this mess, they can choke on the $4000 repair bill because we love this thing and it isn't going anywhere.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car.

by Dave L from Rexford, NY on Thu Mar 08 2018

Love this car! It is the premier edition. Leather heated seats. Third row seating. Dual comfort zones. Sunroof. Adjustable gas and brake pedals. 4.6L V-8. Great power. Smooth riding.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3