2006 Mountaineer

Consumer Reviews

2006 Mercury Mountaineer

$2,231 - $10,847  MSRP Range
2006 Mercury Mountaineer

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

23 Reviews
87% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've owned!

by Sue from South Dakota on Mon Mar 05 2012

I love this SUV, it has lots of room, it looks divine and stylish. I have never had any issues.. Mine is now 120K and I have driven it everywhere in all weather conditions. When I started noticing it was not getting good gas mileage the mechanic tuned it and it keeps running very well. It drives smooth and has been overall the best purchase Ive ever made!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this SUV

by MSO from NE on Tue Nov 07 2017

I bought my 2006 Mercury Mountaineer in 2013 and have owned it for 4 years. Its V8 engine is very strong and it can tow about 7000 lbs. We have towed our 5500 lb. camper a couple of dozen times. It now has 145,000 miles, has never broken down and has needed minimal maintenance. It is very roomy, comfortable and looks great. The tight turning radius is impressive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Yup

by Tron from Iowa City, IA on Mon Jan 18 2010

Not a bad ride. Handles way better than I expected. The gas usage is a bit high but you have to expect that with a V8.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mercury

by Flash Gordon from on Tue Dec 06 2011

This is a great family vehicle for my hectic life with three boys. I could give a 6'5" guy a little more room in the interior but it has been a great purchase.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

100K+ miles, and going strong.

by Laserbait from Twin Cities, MN on Tue Sep 11 2012

The ride quality is great, and is very comfortable & spacious inside even when packed up with 7 people. The 4.6l 3V V8 is really strong, and gives great passing power. The 6 speed transmission leaves a bit to be desired. I think it holds 1st gear too long, and has a tip-in hesitation (TSB 8-24-4 helps, but does not eliminate it).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Favorite Car I've Owned

by ErikaOh37 from Kent, Oh on Thu Aug 10 2017

This car had everything that was on my must have list including things I didn't even know were an option, like the movable gas and brake pedal with the push of a button! I hate being close to the steering wheel so this allows me to move my seat back further and the pedals forward. It has plenty of leg room up front, super comfortable leather heated seats, moon/sunroof, 6-disc CD player, Bose speakers, steering wheel controls for radio volume, seek, cruise control, interior temperature, and fan speed, third row seating, reclining backseats, and all-wheel drive. I have almost 200,000 miles on mine and will be sad when I must find something new as this has been my favorite car yet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2006 mercury mountaineer my favorite car so far

by shouldahadaV8 from colorado on Fri Mar 17 2017

I bought my mercury mountaineer in 2006 and it is fairly reliable. a few things like broke but its still nice to look at inside and outside. its small turning circle makes it easy to make u-turns and such. the blind spots are much smaller then you would think. things I don't like are the gas millage I get a average of 12 mpg in the city and that is where I live and the lack of space in the back for kids and there is no trunk space if the seats are up. I first bought the car for transporting people but then I realized the car was good to just drive. I do a bit of offroading and the mountaineer does wonderfully. its super fun to drive... if you get the 292 hp v8 in it

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Aslanfan from Reston, VA on Mon Jun 19 2017

I had to get the transmission replaced because it was slipping but it was covered in large part by dealer warranty I bought so now its like a brand new car. Bought it with 76,000 miles on it. Its a 4x2, great acceleration, easy handling, great turning radius, great looking interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Andrew from Reston, VA on Thu Aug 10 2017

Awesome. Had a bad tranny when I bought it at 76,000 miles. One I got that replaced it just ran like a top. Too many bells and whistles to mention on this Luxury addition. It was a California car originally and a 4X2. Love this vehicle has great acceleration, decent economy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 Mercury Mountaineer AWD Luxury 4.0L

by Marcio from new york on Wed Mar 28 2018

This car meet all my needs, its a beautiful car and comfortable, its luxury car, its very good for family , I love this car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2006 Mercury Mountaineer

Opening and closing the doors on the 2006 Mercury Mountaineer elicits big wows everywhere we go. Well, it's not exactly the doors that create that wow factor, but rather the automatic running boards that subsequently, magically extend then disappear every time a door is opened or closed. I explain this to my children as being operated by Yahooty. You know Yahooty -he's the guy who makes the floors in our house creak when we walk on them, turns on and off the refrigerator light and was blamed today for spilling an entire bottle of purple body shimmer on the carpet in my daughter's room when she was supposed to be getting ready for bed.

Aside from being a great conversation piece, I'm trying to figure... Read More