1993 Sable

Consumer Reviews

1993 Mercury Sable

Review Score

3.6 out of 5 stars

3.6

8 Reviews
75% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.2 out of 5 stars Performance
2.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1993 Mercury Sable?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best money I ever spent

by flyingscot from New Jersey on Fri Nov 27 2009

I've had this car for several years. It's been the most reliable car I've ever owned. Made 3 long trips from NJ to Fla. this year without a problem. 151,000 miles now ! Still going strong. 27 MPG !

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Car I bought for my family

by Family Man from kansas from Kansas on Sun Jan 31 2010

I had bought the car from a indivual back in October of 2009 for My family im starting. The man told me what all had been done to it an said there are a few minor things wrong like a hole in the exhaust but i could hardly hear it. two months after owning the car it started giving me problems so i replaced the egnition switch didn't fix it Started thinking it was the fuel pump. So i contacted the man I had bought it from and we discussed what other problems it had and found out it may be the fuel relay switch. So, Got the part and installed it in a short 15 minute job and since then the car hasn't gave a problem. Other than that the car is a very depenedable one does great on gas just wish it was a little bit spacery due to me being a tall man.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS CAR!!

by car_lover from Lansing on Thu Mar 18 2010

Very reliable, the paint chips off a little, but to be expected. Lasting a very long time especially with reg oil changes. I love all the features for comfort and it is inexpensive to fix! I own this car and my dad owns the 97 model. Keeps going and going.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

What a piece of garbage

by merc sab from on Wed Feb 03 2010

always had another problem and couldn't keep it out of the shop. i wouldnt give this car to my worst enemy. head gasket blew and then shortly after transmission burnt up. i hate this car with every bone in my body. but the interior was nice

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Station wagons are cool after all!

by Judged a book by it's cover from New York on Wed Mar 09 2011

This car has been very reliable throughout a viscous winter. The previous owner said he had another he had gotten over 200k out of.He used this car to tow his tractor and said he ran it hard. Initially blew off the possibility of buying this car, thinking station wagons are so outdated.Body is in great shape except for some rusting near lower trim area.Grandkids love the 3rd row seat facing backwards.Can fit 4' by 8' lumber in it. Love that unlike newer model cars, you can judge parking distances easily by seeing the front and back of the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Not the most reliable car I have ever owned

by Average Jane from Ohio on Sat Mar 15 2008

Bought this car used. Shortly after driving off lot after purchase, check engine light comes on. Their mechanic not find anything wrong, reset the light. Within six months, started having problem with the car not starting after going a couple places, turning car off, and then it will not restart for anywhere between 10 minutes and one hour. Had to have towed two or three times. Finally, replaced fuel pump. Did not fix problem. Had to replace water pump around same time. Still have problem occationally. Then yesterday, car totally died - no warning - while driving down the road. Pushed off into parking lot. Next day it started up and took it home. Now it sits until I can figure out what is wrong.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable

by KK from Montreal on Fri Jan 17 2014

This car starts up every time. I just reached 300,000Km and it's still running strong. Original motor and transmission. Great winter beater. The interior looks amazing, and its very spacious, however the outside has begun to rust (lower trim and doors) but this is to be expected from an old car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good value -- easy on gas

by grantsmanship from Texas on Tue Feb 03 2009

I have one of these for a commuter car. The V6 is fairly peppy, but noisy. Like all fords, there is steering pump noise, but not bad. No major problems, but it is an old car so you never know. I like a car like this to commute in because it's fairly safe and economical. When I wear this one out I'll go find another.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1