2003 Sable

Consumer Reviews

2003 Mercury Sable

$971 - $5,747  MSRP Range
2003 Mercury Sable

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

22 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2003 Mercury Sable?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2003 Mercury Sable

by Joe from West Chester, PA on April 22, 2010

I own and drive daily, a 2003 Mercury Sable LS with 185,000 miles on it. It looks and feels like a brand new car. I have never owned a car that held up as well as this car has.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1 of the nicer vehicles out there

by penn-guy from Pittsburgh, PA on May 26, 2009

I dunno, I dig the styling of this car. Very complete design, a beauty in black and a rear spoiler. Lovely wheels. Nice quality and full of options, roomy trunk, great visibility, quiet efficient engine. What more could you want really? (One thing, at this point all the cars should have CD/mp3/ipod capable audio systems standard!)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Real good car

by happy george from Ft. Worth, TX on January 23, 2010

Bought Sept. 08 very reliable. Only fault is the roof line could be 2 inches higher to make it easier to get into. Most newer cars have the same problem. Drove 86 Cad DeVille fo 12 years before this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliability Extraordinaire!

by PumpkinHead from Raleigh, NC on January 24, 2013

Bought this Sable LS Premium in Spring of 2006 with 32,000 miles from a national used car chain CM. I now have 157,000 miles on it and have done nothing but maintenance. I have run Amsoil & Mobil1 oil in it since I got it and changed the oil every 6,000-9,000 miles This car has amazed me for it's value & reliability. It has plenty of get-up-and-go, has solid, stable handling, a reasonably quiet ride, is quite comfortable & roomy, has a big trunk and a nice complement of features. On the highway I get 25mpg and 21mpg combined even though I usually drive like i'm going to a fire ;-) I have kept good tires on it and gotten 65,000 from each set (65 from the orig OEM Continental Contacts, 65 from the Yokohoma Avid TZR and have almost 30 on this set of Toyo Versado LX and they still have lots of tread left). This Sable (and its counterpart, the Taurus) would make a great 1st car for a teen or as a daily driver for anyone. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Refined Automobile - Luxury Car

by Happy Owner of Sable from NY, NY on April 28, 2009

I have the Sable LS Premium. This is loaded with every option. Solid car is very quiet on the highway. It has a very good powertrain, very smooth and the steering is very precise. It is a fairly big car, but it is enjoyable to drive. I bought the car with about 45,000 miles on it, and it has been reliable, with nothing required by regular maintenance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Overall best car I've ever owned

by CLE Guy from Cleveland, OH on February 23, 2011

The 2003 Mercury Sable LS Premium Wagon offers a blend of practicality, reliability and comfort that is extraordinary. For a family, the car seats 8, more than most minivans and does it with style and capability. The LS wagon has great features including, leather, ABS brakes, traction control, 16-inch wheels, driver, passenger, side air bags, premium sound and many have a power moonroof. The car is also very reliable, it runs well in any weather.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

BOUGHT IT YESTERDAY

by phazed.0ut from McMinnville, TN on October 25, 2007

So far I am happy with it. Very nice car. Love the power options, sun roof. What I don't like is that I feel like I can't see out the windshield well enough, my head is almost touching the ceiling of the car. That is my ONLY complaint. I am a big girl though, but only 5ft 4, maybe there is a way I can find to lower my seat. I haven't found that out yet.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Well Balanced car

by Car Entnusiast from Rhode Island on December 16, 2006

This car changed my mind about the company which makes it in some ways and thats a very good thing, its a great all around car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by Amanda from Minnesota on June 17, 2014

I purchased a 2003 sable with 150,000 miles on it, and it is still in fantastic condition! There's some rust, but that is typical for a MN car. I've had no problems with this car and I'm very happy with it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4 years no regrets

by Love my Sable from Pennsauken, NJ on October 9, 2008

I purchased, my 03 Sable GS Plus used with 18,000 miles four years ago. I have to agree with JD Powers, this is a dependable sedan! I have had to replace the camshaft syncronizer, otherwise at 64,000 miles she's a keeper.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3