2005 Sable

Consumer Reviews

2005 Mercury Sable

$256 - $6,616  MSRP Range
2005 Mercury Sable

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

13 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Mercury Sable?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

waiting for something to go wrong

by nfmnh from New Hampshire on Wed May 20 2009

bought this car used in 2006 with 10,000 miles on it. Currently have 65,000 miles on it and have do nothing in the way of repairs. Only have changed the fluids and just put on 4 new tires. If Detroit built cars like this on the last 30 years they would have no problems, real or perceived, in regards to quality. would recommend this vehicle to anyone and everyone. have the GS model with Flexfuel V-6

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A stylish, stylish car and a great running vehicle

by New to the scene car enthusiast from Syracuse, NY on Tue Apr 26 2011

My parents bought this car new 6 years ago. They bought a Fusion last year and they lent me this car for my senior year of college. I still drive this car to and from work and school and I am more than pleased with it. The first thing I can say is it is incredibly stylish. My dad and I stare in awe of it every time we look out the window to see it in our driveway. We love the exterior styling. I'm sure that in 20-30 years from now that people will turn their heads when this car rolls down the street. As for performance, I am also pleased. We have had few troubles outside of general maintenance. It has passed 78,000 miles and it still runs great. The gas mileage is about par for the course, I usually get between 19-21 MPG in general driving. The only real problem that bugs me is that the hubcaps, which are also stylish, started losing their paint almost immediately. Other than that no major qualms. I would recommend this car in a heartbeat and I will be sad when I have to give it back to my parents

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car for the Money

by Sports Car Enthusiast from Indiana on Fri Oct 07 2011

This is the least expensive car I've owned in 20 years and it has been the most reliable one as well. Just a gret value.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sable review

by Stan from Tennessee on Mon Feb 16 2015

I bought this car maybe 5-6 years ago. This car has been the best car purchase I have ever made, and I am 55 years old and had a lot of cars. I knew when I bought it that the power steering was weak. It failed after 18 months. Other than that I can't remember any major repair that I have done on it. Gets decent gas mileage for a car its size. Runs great. I do not know of any car that is a better value for the money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Car

by Sable Owner from Detroit, MI on Thu May 15 2014

My Sable is my first car. My dad works for a Lincoln dealership, and was able to procure it for very cheap about a year ago. She was quite beat up when I got her, but I poured my heart and soul into restoring her. I take care of her, and she takes great care of me. She is super responsive and safe. I always feel comfortable driving her. For an older car, the Sable is pretty good looking if you take care of it. The interior is not all that stylish, but is extremely functional and comfortable. With the 3.0 DOHC, the car can surprisingly get up and go quite easily. As far as maintenance goes, there is little to none. A very reliable car. My only complaint is that the ride quality isn't so great when compared to some other cars. But, if you aren't in a state filled with potholes ( *cough, Michigan), you will be pretty happy. If you are looking for a great all-around used car for everyday life, I would keep the Sable in mind.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great Car except Automatic Transmission ,,,,

by Terri C. - Rocky Mountain Resident from Denver, Colorado on Sat Jun 10 2017

This car is very good except that just now 6/9/2017 the automatic transmission had to be rebuilt at 68769 miles. All the fluids were OK. Cannot find a recall for it but there should be one because most automatic transmissions who have good fluid and who are in cars that are well maintained should not have this happen and it should be $$$ covered by a recall.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

much power

by mark from maine from Maine on Tue Apr 24 2012

This little car has a great deal of spunk and is well appointed. No problems yet. I would recommend this car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great car at a great price

by Tigerjack1906 from Fort Myers on Wed Aug 23 2017

This car has been a great buy used at Lee Motors. It works great reliable and economical runs like a charm.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value

by Lady owns a Sable from Livonia, MI on Fri Aug 04 2017

This car has been very good for me, as it ages it need upkeep that is regular maintenance, but for the money this is a great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lady ownes a Sable

by Lady owns a Sable from Livonia, MI on Fri Aug 04 2017

Great car, little maintained, mine is old and rusty but with Michigan winters and salt that is expected.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2