2016 Clubman

Consumer Reviews

2016 MINI Clubman

$17,219 - $26,175  MSRP Range
2016 MINI Clubman

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

7 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 MINI Clubman?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Competent Mini Multitasker

by No Boring Cars from Denver, CO on Wed Aug 10 2016

As an owner of multiple Mini's I was biased against the Clubman primarily because of it's size. However, I needed a nice wagon preferably with side opening doors to carry paddle boards, kayaks and ski's. Side opening doors allow you to get into the back while stuff is stowed on top. There are no side opening doors any more on smaller to mid-sized vehicles. I got the base engine and find it perfectly competent for everyday driving. It accelerates very nicely in the low to mid range and drives quite well, especially compared to prior Mini's. It sits on a BMW X1 frame which gives you an idea of the size. It has plenty of room for rear seat passengers, cargo and a nice low roof to store things on. The seats are comfortable and interior is really nice. I hate complex electronics but I actually like the Mini's and found it easy and logical to use. I will also say this. They can get expensive really fast to where you are in BMW-Audi-Lexus range. So, pick options carefully and watch for sales or incentives. I bought mine as they were closing the 2016's out. I find they are a good value at the lower prices. For me, low roof, side opening rear doors and good cargo/passenger space were the keys along with being on sale. I like the distinctive looks and BMW engineering, as well. I can recommend it to any family or single person who wants a smaller practical multitask vehicle for city and countryside.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my mini!!!

by MINI ALICE from HADDONFIELD, NJ on Mon Mar 20 2017

The Mini Clubman, is cute- fast- easy to park- great for city driving! Awesome Gas mileage! It's stylish, but not snobby, rides heavy- it's a classic- won't go out of style!! Kids and Adults like it equally!! It's the best car I have ever had!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hate to let it go!

by Jkoford from Seal beach, ca on Mon Sep 25 2017

This is such a great vehicle, hard to let it go. Exterior and interior redesign is outstanding! Color combo is cool and has lots of extra equipment that is so mini! Awesome handling and great gas mileage. Also comes with a transferable tire, wheel and body warranty for even more peace of mind!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most fun car I've ever owned!

by Kaeleysb from Santa Barbara, CA on Fri Jul 28 2017

This car is meets all my needs. With its full size back seat and spacious trunk, my family of four fits quite comfortably along with all the stuff we need. The gas mileage is great and it manages to zip onto the freeway with no lagging or struggling to keep up with cars with larger engines.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most fun I've ever had while driving legally

by Jake from Los angels ca on Sat Aug 19 2017

This car was phenomenal, I had so much fun in it. Only thing that went wrong was the turbo leaked because Mini did not install a good enough turbo heat shield. After installing an aftermarket heat shield for 6.37 it was a drastic change. So much better and responsive. Turbo spoiled up way quicker. Also recommend a cold air intake for better mpg, better pedal response and a much improved sound from stock.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A big upgrade from Minis of the past

by Tientai from denver, co on Fri Dec 08 2017

I own a 2003 Mini Cooper and this 2016 Clubman. There is really no comparison between the two vehicles. While it is obvious that the size of the vehicle is different, the Clubman has a twin turbo engine that handles any hill with ease. This car cruises at high speed and feels like you are floating. The larger 17" wheels are nice for getting over potholes in Denver. The interior is well designed and accommodates taller drivers easily. Leg room is abundant for all passengers as the car very easily fits 4 adults. It is truly amazing how nice the inside is in terms of space, engineering, comfort, and sound quality. In addition to the nice 190hp from the engine, the car gets pretty good mileage at about 29 mpg in mixed highway/city driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It?s the most fun you can have an a car, that?s no

by RF. Mini from Northern neck, Virginia on Fri Sep 21 2018

This car met most of all my needs. It was the most fun to drive of all the vehicles I won?t except the convertibles it?s very fast, stylish, and very unique.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2016 MINI Clubman

The verdict: The 2016 Mini Clubman wins with its charming, quirky looks, plucky road manners and new adult-sized interior, but it lost me with its ergonomically challenged cabin and frustrating controls.

Versus the competition: The new Clubman delivers a strong one-two punch in style and driving fun, beating compact rivals such as the Mazda3 hatch, Ford Focus hatch and Volkswagen Golf SportWagen. Compare them here.

The Clubman took the 2015 model year off and returns for 2016 with new powertrains, more safety features, four real forward-opening doors and a much larger footprint. Compare the 2014 and 2016 models here.

Just to be as clear as possible when dealing with Mini's weird (but improving) model... Read More