2002 Cooper S

Consumer Reviews

2002 MINI Cooper S

$1,580 - $8,516  MSRP Range
2002 MINI Cooper S

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

11 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2002 MINI Cooper S?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

wow is it a mini?

by The amazing car genius from indianapolis, IN on Wed Dec 13 2006

Wow ultra quick! Super popular! Mini. Great comfort! And Super features! Like sunroof and spoiler and its color and more! Add acessories! Stripes! Wow! 150 top speed. A bunch of horepower and Kaboom. You get the Mini Cooper S!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

02 Mini Cooper S

by fleazilla from Roanoke on Tue Nov 02 2010

This car is a double edged sword, It is probably the coolest gadgety go-kart like mean machine i've ever driven and owned and still own.. Good gas Mph, great reflexes and even a DSC control to help stabilize driving, of witch you can switch off when you want to burn up the asphalt.. you will end up with a bit of MOD-ititas! there are so many ways to add your own personality and doing what ever you want with this car.. On the other hand I've had to replace a power steering pump and now my radiator fan is making a funny noise,had to replace a power window motor and I'm left wondering whats next? So reliability is questionable? To be fair it is an 02,But it only has 60,000 miles on it.. in the end I'm saying I love this car more than any car I've owned previously but if you can't afford something going up in it every so often and can't work on it your self I'd probably recommend A Mazda,Honda,or Toyota..but for the fun and passion in this vehicle you will not find it in any of these except the Mini and they keep getting cooler! Do your research on the Forums! theres a lot of bad as well as good..

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wow... Mini is it!

by Roger from Washington, D.C. on Sun Jun 04 2006

"Live large, drive small" .. catchy phrase, but having a Mini Cooper S makes this a reality! I bought a used 2002 Cooper S from a dealer w/30K miles and I am loving every aspect of this vehicle! It drives unbelieveably well, the interior is very clever and interesting to look at, and BMW has brought real "rigor" and quality to the Mini. Many years ago I owned a '68 MGB roadster. The Mini, amazingly, has many of the same sensations as that car, but it is 21st century in all the important areas. Get one, you won't regret it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Zippy whiptastic handling

by Mini cooper driver from Salinas, CA on Sun Jun 10 2007

This car is quite zippy and with a very affordable pricetag and many standard features it is a very nice car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

electronic problems

by cdalton on Sat Nov 04 2017

body control module got wet and all the electronics either stopped working or would stay on only turning off when the battery was disconnected. couldn't unlock my door or roll the window down and the mechanical latch didn't work. was locked in my car for an hour. poor design to have something that important and sensitive in the floor of the passenger side footwell. you could spill a drink and it could ruin it. the only fix is to buy a new one from a certified dealer and have them program it. cost is about 700+. it is also not covered under warranty for water damage

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Most Unreliable car I've owned

by 02 MCS from Ft. Worth, TX on Fri Nov 30 2007

I haven't had this car for very long & have had nothing but problems with it. Research this car long and hard before you buy one. Search Mini Cooper forums online and see what kind of problems people have. Very costly to fix. If you just have money to burn then this would be a great car for you!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned

by Cotton from Westchester, NY on Tue Apr 22 2008

I can't wait til my next drive. Overall: The Mini Cooper S is built excellently, inside and out. The car has a very solid feel to it (no cheap Honda sheet metal here). Even though it is technically one of the smallest cars on the US market, if not the smallest, when driving it has a very spacious feel to it. It really doesn't feel like you're driving such a small car. Cargo space is not tremendous, the rear seats do fold down to provide a lot more room, but let's face it, the car is a Mini (not meant to carry house and home). The car overall is certainly worth the money and I personally would consider it a steal as far as what you get for your money. Drivetrain: The supercharged 1.6L I4 supplies 163hp and around 150 ft lbs of torque, which are respectable numbers for such a small engine. Stock the Mini can hold it's own and the supercharger whine is addicting. There are tons of engine upgrades that can be added to enhance the driving experience, (reducing the size of the supercharger pulley can give 15-20 more horsepower) but in many cases are not required. The 6-speed Getrag manual transmission shifts beautifully. Great setup overall. Styling: Both inside and out the car has an expensive feel whose English and German roots can be seen quite clearly. Handling/Driving Experience: The car handles like no other, no if ands or buts. If handling is your forte, don't delay and buy a Mini. Very sporty, it can do things that other, much more expensive cars, can only dream about.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mini with all of the amenities

by Traceylynn from Middlebury, VT on Thu Feb 14 2013

I recently purchased a 2002 Mini Cooper S standard with low mileage (believe it or not) for my Mom, I am currently her chauffeur due to her being in a wheel chair but she loves to get out of it and into a regular seat and she is short and wants to try and do things herself (she needed a lower to the ground car because she is short and stubborn) so the Mini came to mind, it is loaded and was garaged most of its life. The car is a dream and has been put through a lot of mileage from me due to my work travels and traveling to care for my Mom, it has not failed us and still looks great for how old it is. I recommend this car for anyone who loves a standard and to feel like you are on the road instead of wondering whether you are on the road. Mom and I became true Mini peeps!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Senior Electrical Engineer

by Mike Z. from on Thu Mar 23 2017

This car is a blast to drive. Supercharger, great power, unique and not a Korean copy it is a sweet auto!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Fun Car!!

by jsflower from Hiawassee, GA on Thu Mar 30 2017

This car is very fun to drive and ride in! Very good handling!! Even fits car seats in the back seat!! Lots of room for a hatchback!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2