Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2003 Cooper S

Consumer Reviews

2003 MINI Cooper S

$2,684 - $7,516  MSRP Range
2003 MINI Cooper S

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

24 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 MINI Cooper S?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

vroom!!!!!

by mustang andy! from passaic, new jersey on Mon Nov 19 2007

wow! what can i say bad about this car? ok, comfort, as in seating position is'nt great, ok that's it. lol! if it was compared to a sport the mini s would be a boxer. agile,swift,quick,composed, and it will leave MANY other's with jaw's wide open. fuel is not the best if you cant control your right foot. easy to drive slow and FAST! when i first bought mine it took me about 30 days to accept the things this car was capabile of. it still leaves me with a big grin or smile or laughing like a mad man when i drive "spritedly". the transmission is so precise and the steering is right on the money. the supercharger whine is intoxicating. one of THE BEST CAR'S out there. mini-mal trunk space but hey, it's a mini. just put down the back seats. front seat's are spacious for two. if you drive a mini, YOU BUY A MINI! VROOM!!!!!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love this car....

by Webhead68 from Winter Haven, FL on Thu Oct 20 2011

I love the car to death. The only problem I have with it, thus the low mark for comfort, is the Run Flat tires are beating me to death. MINI put these on the cars so they would not have to provide a spare. My suggestion buy other tires and get a AAA card because the Run Flats for daily driving suck.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome little package

by old1 from Niantic,CT on Tue Apr 26 2011

you want good gas mileage, awesome handling, super fun to drive, this is a car for you, this thing flies!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2003 MINI Cooper S

by MCS Owner from El Cajon, CA on Wed Apr 13 2011

What can I say about this wonderful car. It is a tiny car, had no expectation of a magical amount of interior space but it does fit my family; Wife (6ft), Daughter (5ft), Son (4ft), and myself (6ft), comfortably. There is not much left after that but we all fit none the less. Handles like a go-cart, the supercharger makes it peppy enough for play and daily drives. Only negative I have about the car is the cost of repairs when they are needed are a little pricey because it is a BMW still.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Perky little thing

by Bill from Lanham, MD on Thu Jun 08 2006

I've driven my Mini S for several months, and think I have enough material for a brief review. The car handles well, aggressivly or just letting the car driff into the turns. Power is adaquate and sufficient for quick passing and highway merging. The interior is roomy, with the door swinging wide for easy access. Because of my heavy foot my gas milage is 24 city /28 highway. The ride is acceptable on good paved roads and tolerable at lower speeds, when it gets bumpy. The car is high spirited and it will defintly pick your day up.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best performance car

by auldefox from Nothern Virginia, USA on Fri Sep 24 2010

After 85,000 miles, the supercharged mini 2003 is one of the best cars, of 17 cars, I have ever owned. The acceleration going uphill leaves everyone else in the dust. Must keep an eye on the speedometer - it's easy to get to 90 mph and not even feel it. Stability and conrol as good as anything out there - which makes it the safest car I have ever driven. I bought mine new with all bells and whistles for performance and comfort - it took me a few days of driving before I actually learned to get the MINI's full potential. Never had a breakdown or mechanical problem! Never had any problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mini cooper S

by Unionjack from London,England on Wed Jun 03 2009

Absolutely love this car for the handling and after market upgrades.I would suggest the car highly..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

can you say go-kart

by starrdog from new jersy on Sat May 29 2010

cool styling, cool interior, good on gas, just dont go into boost all the time. handling is insane. acceleration is good. shifter is great. fun to drive car, drive a mini, you very well might end up buying a mini.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still smiling after 100K miles

by oracle_head from Washington, D.C. on Wed Dec 20 2006

I still feel like I have just gotten off a rollercoaster when I exit this vehicle. The suspension and ride comfort are rough but the performance, style and most of all the handling are worth the money. I am buying another when this one goes which may be quite awhile .

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Fun Fun!

by Oduck from Virginia on Thu Aug 31 2006

If you're looking for a fantastic handling, super quick, fun car this is it! It handles like a little slot car, yet it is actually very roomy and comfortable inside. The huge sunroof/moonroof makes it feel even bigger. This car is more fun to drive & gets more admiring comments from interested onlookers than any other car I've owned.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3