2009 Cooper S

Consumer Reviews

2009 MINI Cooper S

$3,977 - $10,629  MSRP Range
2009 MINI Cooper S

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

38 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 MINI Cooper S?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 38 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Personality Plus

by HoneyPie from New Windsor, NY on Sun May 22 2011

Great, quirky, cool car. I gave it 5 stars for comfort, because although not a luxury feel, you really become one with the car, and it is a comfortable car for its size. Very fast, very sturdy, very fun to drive, handles really well. It is not a luxury car ride; if you want that, this isn't for you. There is quite a bit of road feel. I would buy another in a minute.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

INCREDIBLE VEHICLE

by MINIMOTERIST from Buffalo, NY on Mon Jun 22 2009

I bought my Mini Cooper S two weeks ago. It has the Premium Package and the Cold Weather Package. This car is the most fun to drive of any of the cars Ive owned. I reccomend it to anyone that loves to be close to the ground and likes driving a car that handles like it is on rails.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my Mini Cooper S

by MiniFan from Centennial, CO on Wed Apr 17 2019

This little “Pocket Rocket” is amazing. The car has an amazing suspension system, great turbo, and brakes. I love the way it looks (retro look) and the amazing gas milage. I bought a 2009 S type Mini with 78K miles and the car performs great. I recommend using high octane gas since is a direct gas injection and its turbo charge and ad a Techron Complete Injector cleaner every now and then before you fill the tank.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Zippy and Fun!

by Chipper Chick from Sacramento, CA on Tue May 03 2016

I bought a used 2009 Mini Cooper S convertible about a month ago and I'm having a blast with it -- the turbo engine makes it super zippy. It is a second car for pleasure driving, so comfort isn't an issue. If you're using it as a primary car, beware of the bumpy ride. For weekend use, it's just fine. Love this...so glad I took the plunge and bought a little convertible! It's very common for me to come out of the building where I've got it parked (wherever it's parked) to see people gathered around, peeking inside the windows. Happy driving!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Feel Good Vehicle

by JTM964 from Dallas on Tue Oct 25 2011

The Mini is really a feel good vehicle for the everyday "chore" of driving to places. Its fun to drive, its small and nimble, it handles well , it goes where you point it. I have owned many "serious" sport cars and this mini JCW just give me a smile every time I drive it. Thumbs way up !!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great fun car

by Davidto8 from Dekalb,il on Tue Feb 28 2017

Go-kart action in an economically challenged world. Convertible makes it more fun. Plus manual transmition makes you feel part of the car. Turbo is a must.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Get in gear

by Zoom-Zoom from Victoria, TX on Tue Feb 14 2012

I found my 2009 Mini Cooper S from this site and I couldn't be happier! I got a great deal and I have never gotten so many compliments from people before! I have no regrets about my purchase and would recommend a Mini for anyone looking for something fun, affordable, and overall great handling!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Fit

by PTL from Brighton, MI on Tue Sep 16 2014

-We purchased this car for my wife, who is a Realtor. She wanted something that fit her, is distinctive/memorable, and is fun to drive. She got all three! -My wife is 5'3" and in most cars, the seating is uncomfortable and the windshield post obscures her vision of the road while turning. The MiNI offers great vision of the road. Further, the controls are all reachable and easy to use. One of the features we like the most is the blue tooth phone connection. It is our first one. As a Realtor, she is always on the phone, so the hands free operation is wonderful. I find the car to be comfortable to sit in too (5'10"). When you are in it, it does not feel small, but peppy and confident on the road. The gas mileage is nice too. -The Mini Cooper S stands out in the crowd of cars with a distinctive sporty look. It sticks in your mind as cute and sporty, just like my wife! -Of course the car is fun to drive! It is nimble on the road, quick in the corners, and has strong acceleration when needed. -My wife loves the car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

will never own one again .

by Dr.M from Oregon on Mon May 29 2017

I have an 2009 a model 68,000 on the clock and it spends more time in the shop than any car I've ever owned .

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2009 Mini Cooper S Convertible

by Mini Owner from Jacksonville, FL on Mon Sep 24 2012

Smooth, peppy car. Nice features. Handles nice and quite a bit of pep for a 4 cylinder. 33 mpg even when driving fun. Top open/close is easy. If you want Bluetooth make sure it is installed, not just on the wheel and Audio area. Would have been nice but still have the Aux. to use. Enjoyable car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4