2009 Cooper S

Consumer Reviews

2009 MINI Cooper S

$3,472 - $13,236  MSRP Range
2009 MINI Cooper S

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

33 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 MINI Cooper S?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

A true GO FAST!!!

by Radiobob from Los Angeles, Ca on Tue Jan 06 2009

I just bought a new 2009 Mini, delivered on 1/2/09..WAY new, but almost too much fun to be legal. It feels like it is attached to the road or like being on a roller coaster track, with wheels on the top and bottom of the track. Total control of the car at all times. With the "run flat" tires, the ride is a bit stiff. Also, there is no spare tire. Although there are four seats (get the leather, it is REAL nice), anyone in the back should not be a middle line backer. The front seats are surprisingly roomy and that middle line backer will do well there. Learning about the vehicle has a learning curve, but there are manuals for about everything. If you are interested, take a test drive. You will most likely be hooked and go for the true go fast (watch your speed, 100 mph is not hard to do). When purchasing the vehicle, shop around as some dealerships attach this thing called a MARKET ADJUSTMENT.... because the Mini is highly desired and in short supply... they add between $2000 and $5000 to the sticker, for the privelege of you buying a vehicle from them. Some places are able to order the Mini direct from the manufacturer and then you do not have to pay that MARKET ADJUSTMENT fee.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

INCREDIBLE VEHICLE

by MINIMOTERIST from Buffalo, NY on Mon Jun 22 2009

I bought my Mini Cooper S two weeks ago. It has the Premium Package and the Cold Weather Package. This car is the most fun to drive of any of the cars Ive owned. I reccomend it to anyone that loves to be close to the ground and likes driving a car that handles like it is on rails.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely fun to drive

by Mini of another sort from Missoula, Montana on Mon Sep 26 2011

This car is extremely responsive: steering/handling, acceleration, braking, and the manual shifting is very smooth. The turbo makes this car very fast. Lots of leg room for tall folks (I'm 6'2") and with the back seats folded down not bad storage. I"m using it as a commuter car and am averaging about 37 mpg with 80% highway and 20% city and easy driving. My only problem is that its too fun to romp on this thing-way too much fun!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Personality Plus

by HoneyPie from New Windsor, NY on Sun May 22 2011

Great, quirky, cool car. I gave it 5 stars for comfort, because although not a luxury feel, you really become one with the car, and it is a comfortable car for its size. Very fast, very sturdy, very fun to drive, handles really well. It is not a luxury car ride; if you want that, this isn't for you. There is quite a bit of road feel. I would buy another in a minute.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Get in gear

by Zoom-Zoom from Victoria, TX on Tue Feb 14 2012

I found my 2009 Mini Cooper S from this site and I couldn't be happier! I got a great deal and I have never gotten so many compliments from people before! I have no regrets about my purchase and would recommend a Mini for anyone looking for something fun, affordable, and overall great handling!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Feel Good Vehicle

by JTM964 from Dallas on Tue Oct 25 2011

The Mini is really a feel good vehicle for the everyday "chore" of driving to places. Its fun to drive, its small and nimble, it handles well , it goes where you point it. I have owned many "serious" sport cars and this mini JCW just give me a smile every time I drive it. Thumbs way up !!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Zippy and Fun!

by Chipper Chick from Sacramento, CA on Tue May 03 2016

I bought a used 2009 Mini Cooper S convertible about a month ago and I'm having a blast with it -- the turbo engine makes it super zippy. It is a second car for pleasure driving, so comfort isn't an issue. If you're using it as a primary car, beware of the bumpy ride. For weekend use, it's just fine. Love this...so glad I took the plunge and bought a little convertible! It's very common for me to come out of the building where I've got it parked (wherever it's parked) to see people gathered around, peeking inside the windows. Happy driving!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So Much Fun to Drive!

by MINI enthusiast from Akron OH on Sun Dec 16 2012

I love driving my MINI! She is a lot of fun, handles terrifically and gets great gas mileage - I'm averaging about 32mi / gal. I would only recommend purchasing a manual as it makes the experience that much more fun.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2009 Mini Cooper S Convertible

by Mini Owner from Jacksonville, FL on Mon Sep 24 2012

Smooth, peppy car. Nice features. Handles nice and quite a bit of pep for a 4 cylinder. 33 mpg even when driving fun. Top open/close is easy. If you want Bluetooth make sure it is installed, not just on the wheel and Audio area. Would have been nice but still have the Aux. to use. Enjoyable car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great fun car

by Davidto8 from Dekalb,il on Tue Feb 28 2017

Go-kart action in an economically challenged world. Convertible makes it more fun. Plus manual transmition makes you feel part of the car. Turbo is a must.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4