1997 3000GT

Consumer Reviews
1997 Mitsubishi 3000GT

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

14 Reviews
4.1 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.9 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.9 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

It makes heads turn.

by Gear Head from Edwardsville, Il on January 30, 2012

I've had a base model for over a year now and it is amazing. The power is acceptable but can be so much more if you want to go for that. The engine sounds aggressive when it revs up good. there are parts on the market for the sohc base models that are extremely cheap and give huge gains in performance. The style inside and out is incredible. the interior makes me think im driving a supercar. The beauty is, these are rare cars, unlike a mustang or what not. Everyone looks when i roll down the road. These are so amazing i even persuaded one of my friends to get one. The most beautiful thing is that its not a ricer! I recommend this gorgeous machine to any guy or girl looking for a sports car. You can't go wrong with these.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great GT car; fast & fun

by 20+ yr VR4 Guy from Northern Calif. on March 27, 2013

I've owned my '92 VR4 for over 20 yrs. Only 49k miles. Factory original in all respects. This is a super reliable car when left unmodified. Bullet-proof engine and drive train. These are MUCH faster than the Base and SL models. The exterior styling still is eye catching even though some may feel it's over detailed. The active-aero system is actually very functional at over 100 mph. It adds a lot of downforce. The 4WS was ahead of its time. It's driving habits are very predictable - no sudden surprises on unfamiliar roads. I've heard from many owners who have 200k plus miles on their 3000GTs that are still running strong.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

solid and missed!

by spin 30 from Illinois on October 9, 2011

I just lost mine in a garage fire. I loved the look, curves, and super-fin. 1997 Diamond White 117,000 miles and running strong. Beyond me why Mitsu won't produce a limited #. One would be in my garage, no questions asked.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fast reliable rare VR-4

by 97 VR-4 Owner from on January 25, 2009

I have owned this car for over four years now. The car is at 200k miles and is still very fast. Mine does 1/4 miles in the mid 13 sec range on no rebuild and original turbos. The car has been very reliable. No major issues just do your 60k tuneup and your good to go.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

funnist sports car i have ever owned

by vr4 guy from san diego, ca on January 28, 2007

fun, fast reliable sports car. the only problem i have encountered was the pre-cats getting clogged but tis a simple fix with a downpipe. still running strong at 180,000 miles.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fine, Quick, a car before it's time!

by J. Kehoe from on July 17, 2010

First of this particular 3KGT is not the SL it is the base, if it were the SL it would come with the DOHC. As you can see in the pictures it is the SOHC engine. I have a manual SOHC 97 base and love it, tourqie, great styling and people often mistake it for its VR-4 counterpart. This is a great car at a great price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun, good performance for 3 litre, built solid

by captb from AZ on September 22, 2015

3000GT SL gets lots of attention, decent power for a DOHC 3Litre, nice handling with a larger rear sway bar, quiet smooth ride when compared to most sport coupes, reliable if 60k maint is done, comfortable on long trips, mpg better than rated, fwd 5 speed unit is tight and very quiet and no torque steer. Nice long term keeper easier upkeep than the VR4.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Favorite Car Ever

by DBegley from Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States on April 17, 2017

I got my 97 VR4 in 1999. Feel in love with it the first time I drove it. Fast, handles like it is on rails. Six speed, twin turbo all wheel drive and steering. Ahead of its time for sure. It does have its special needs though. Like replacing the water pump when you do the 60K/120K service, or making sure you keep the transmission oil changed or babying the turbos before and after you drive it. I needed a replacement ECM. Try and find one of those. I did locate one at a shop in FL. Generally speaking though if you recognize it is an exotic car that is getting to be a classic (meaning parts can be a challenge and expensive) it is a truly great car. I have loved every minute I have owned it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Real Head Turner

by jimesp from Chapel Hill NC on August 20, 2017

The best looking car. I enjoy seeing all the heads turn as I drive by. It is a real head turner. I don't get the same looks from my 2000 Cougar or my 2012 Infinity G37.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Head Turner

by jimesp from Chapel Hill NC on September 19, 2017

This car is a beauty. I enjoy the power and I especially enjoy the way it looks. Heads always turn and watch this car as I drive by.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 1997 Mitsubishi 3000GT