1998 3000GT

Consumer Reviews

1998 Mitsubishi 3000GT

$4,509 - $9,213  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Mitsubishi 3000GT?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Runs and looks brand new

by Germaine from Vestal New York on Sun Aug 20 2006

This car runs and drives great. I owed a Corvett before, and this car corners way better than the Vett any day of the week. The Exterior of this vehicle is in prime shape, the paint just shines. Although very plain, the interior is in good shape, with a great sounding Alpine sterio system. You must take this baby for a drive, before it is too late.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My dearset 3000GT VR4!!!

by Mark from New York, NY on Wed Jun 18 2008

Great car!! Fast at speed, smooth handling, quickest stop of 90's japanese sports car! I have two of VR4 and I just keep loving i t more and more each day!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Style and reliable......

by Mitsuguy from AZ on Fri Mar 01 2013

I have been a Mitsubishi buyer for years, and finally found a VR-4, love it! Amazing performance, reliable, and it looks cool as spit. These cars last forever, and it runs as if it was new. I wish they would re-make these babies, but I'm thrilled either way! Don't hesitate if you can find one, you won't be sorry.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

truely a great car

by speed racer from huntington beach, ca on Wed Mar 07 2007

this is my 2nd 3000gt. Styling is only matched with cars that cost $80k and above. handling is "porschesque" braking is maybe more impressive than the power. VR-4's are lightning quick, i have the 24 valve non-turbo that is very quick but not as fast. they are a little heavy that takes away from acceleration but adds to a beautiful ride down the road. surprisingly reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid ride

by lee gt from AZ on Thu Nov 13 2014

Strong body structure with a solid quiet ride, really tight in the turns if you add the larger Addco rear swaybar, decent power and mpg. Great reliability if kept seviced.. 60K service is important on quad cam engines. Only issue we had in 80k miles was drivers window regulator.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

overall review

by barako from chicago on Sat Nov 10 2012

The only problem of this car is for any reason the transmission fail in about 100k more or less, and also in about 150k its start burning oil.thats may be the reason why they stop making these cars since 1999.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MOST UNDERRATED 90'S JAPANESE SPORTS CAR!

by silentbob97 from Los Angeles, Ca on Mon Apr 30 2018

I've owned my 95 pearl white VR-4 for 8 years now and it's been a rollercoaster ride of highs and lows. This car is not for the faint of heart. You have to love this car enough not to flinch when the $5000 repair bill comes in. They are expensive to maintain! And maintain them you must of you want to avoid catastrophic failures. These cars were packed with all the latest technology of the day: Twin cam, twin turbo, twin intercooler, V6. AWD, All wheel steering, 6 speed manual, 320hp, active aero, automatic climate control with an animated, full color LCD display, power seat, leather....the list goes on. All this stuff is fantastic when working, but after 20 years there is a good chance a lot of this stuff can break down. The main mechanical issues are spun rod bearings from oil starvation due to a dented oil pan. So check that before you buy. Also the transmission synchros tend to wear out quickly. That aside, it's an absolute blast to drive! It is the most underrated sports car to come out of Japan in the 90s. With the small turbos that boost at 2000 rpm and the awd, this car rockets off the line! You do start to feel the 3,700 lb weight of the thing at higher speeds. Handling is fantastic for a car this heavy! It has predictable understeer when pushed to the limits, but the awd and aws provides unyielding grip on the corners. The styling is unique with a coke bottle like silhouette and air scoops in the front and on the side rocker panels. Is has a lot of unusual styling ques, fake plastic rear quarter windows displaying a twin turbo sticker were used to cover the large B pillars. The scoops in the side rocker panels and the rear splitter are fake. Also there are 2 blisters on the hood that were needed to clear the shock towers. It's almost like the engineering and design teams missed all their pre production meetings and ended up just tacking this stuff on as an afterthought. The result is a busy design, but it works and makes for an eye catching exterior. The car is over 6ft wide and has a very aggressive stance. The cockpit is pure luxury with supple gathered leather seats and door cards. The soft, sculpted plastic surrounds the driver and and passenger as the doors melt seamlessly into the very high dash. There is a large arching binnacle carved in front of the driver which houses giant, easy to read gauges. To the right, the dash curves in towards the driver and 3 smaller binnacles house gauges that point towards the driver like a triple gauge shotgun. The centerpiece of the sculpture is most beautiful auto climate control screen you will ever see. The full color lcd display is large and bright with animated effects for the different zones. The stock infinity radio provides crisp sound and even has an equalizer. My only complaint is the buttons are scattered randomly about the cabin and some are out of site and hard to reach behind the steering wheel. The 6 speed shifts are short but not very crisp. This can be remedied by replacing the bushings with solid brass and installing a short shifter. This has become a very rare Japanese gem so get one before prices start to climb. Also spend the extra money to get a clean, low mileage example like I did, you'll thank me later!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned!

by Princess from West Milford NJ on Tue Jul 23 2013

My 300GT has been so good to me! Never a problem, starts right up even after being stored for the winter, engine runs like its brand new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Phenomenol first or second car

by Jonathan Joestar from Chicago IL on Wed Jan 17 2018

I purchased my factory stock white 1995 Base 3000gt with the 220 horsepower DOHC 24v V6 and 5 speed manual gearbox a few months ago for $5,000 and have since had no issues. I have replaced the small, dated looking stock wheels and some other cosmetics to brinf it up to date a little bit and It turns heads and receives compliments regularly. This car performs better than most economy sport coupes and a few early sports cars but If you're looking for straight line performance you should invest in the VR4 varient. Acceleration feels somewhat dated and it takes around mid 6 seconds to reach 60mph stock (mine has been lightly modified). The car handles incredibly around corners dry. However, because of its FF layout it performs pathetically in the snow. Interior comfort is surprisingly good for a 20 year old car and holds you in place well around corners, yet the cloth seats are lackluster in the looks department. The steering wheel and gear lever feel firm and it slides into gear with ease, if a bit notchy at times. The material used in the interior seems as it will last forever. Very little cheap plastic used. gauge setup on the dash gives the car a sportier, high performance feel. Overall I would recommend this car to young enthusiasts who are fond of early Japanese Sport and GT cars who don't have all that much to spend.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sporty

by Sandra from Bristol, TN on Wed Oct 25 2017

I have owned this car for 4 years, and am glad to say it has been a great car to take on road trips, and drives well in the snow. I have replaced the window regulators, and the clutch was replaced at 152,000 miles. It is a bit different than regular clutches, because it is a hydraulic clutch, but once you get used to it - it's great! The paint on it is Blue/Black Metallic, it looks kind of purple - blue in the sun, and black during cloudy days.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2