2009 Galant

Consumer Reviews

2009 Mitsubishi Galant

$2,282 - $8,606  MSRP Range
2009 Mitsubishi Galant

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

19 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Mitsubishi Galant?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Superb Value

by mngoodtimes from Minneapolis on Wed Nov 24 2010

Just purchased a used 2009 Galant ES with 49,xxx miles for $9991....brand new, this car was $22k!!! Traded in a 1999 Camry LE, which we loved, but were looking for a new model family sedan. So far so good. Plenty of space, decent acceleration for a 4 cylinder, and driver seat is quite comfortable. Doesn't have all the bells & whistles of Camry/Accord but pricing is a definite plus and reliability is above avg from what I've read on numerous sites. Looking forward to many happy years of worry free driving.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mitsubishi

by cranberrysauce from Capitol Heights, MD on Mon Apr 25 2011

I donated my 1999 Mitsubishi to a charity because I was ready to purchase another and felt the need to pass on a reliable vehicle to someone who could use it for transportation.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

by 2009 Galant Gray Owner from New York on Sat Dec 26 2009

I would recommend this car to any one who is looking for a affordable car, great handling, comfort, style, and the best warranty in the business.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good

by car man from sammamish,wa on Mon Aug 16 2010

Interior designs are great, comfort is fantastic the grey cloth, in the 80 degree weather! i was in in napa california.ride is smooth and handling is wonderful.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Happy with the Car

by So Cal Commuter from Pico Rivera, California on Tue Nov 30 2010

We bought the car slightly used. We drive it for a daily commute to work and for occasional long drives on weekends. The car has most of the options, including alloy wheels, sun roof, air, leather interior, etc. We usually stick with a car for 8 to 10 years, so we'll see how it holds up in the long run. So far we're happy with the performance (4cyl & automatic). The interior comfort is really good. Good fuel mileage on the highway. Some dislikes are the rear visibility and the car is louder than I'd like.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2009 ES

by Easytex from North Texas on Wed Feb 19 2014

Bought it in late 2009 with 32,000 miles on it (still pondering how it got 32K in 9 months!). Best feature is handling, closely followed by surprising ability to accelerate with a normally aspirated 4-cylinder. Interior is comfortable when seated, less so getting in and out (I'm 6'4" and over 200). Reliability is very good, never missed a beat or failed to start in the Texas 100+ heat or subfreezing cold - sits out in the weather on an apartment parking lot, at that. I do regular oil changes, replace tires when needed, etc. so with reasonable care the '09 should last a very long time. Probably worth more as a percentage of new price than most cars 5+ years old

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car for the money

by 2009 Galant Owner from New York City on Fri Oct 02 2009

I have purchase the 2009 Mitsubishi Galant ES and I love this car. This vechicle is much more affordable than the Toyota Camry or the Honda Accord. The new style is sexy and the handling is great the interior is large enough for five adults. I would recommend the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mitsubishi Galant SE V6

by Kevo from on Sun Nov 23 2008

Just bought this car and love it. The V6 is strong and on point! Why buy Honda or Toyota when u can have a great car for less money and more money to spend somewhere else! Mitsubishi did a great job but sad to say the Galant will be no more after 2011 so go and get one u will love it for years to come this is my second Galant!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beats Sonata Hands Down !

by Bernie from Dallas on Sun Sep 27 2009

Had a 2008 Sonata. Drove the 2009 GAlant and traded the Sonata on the spot. SOnata, cramped and feels lower cost quality. Galant A++++++ Feels bigger than it really is, and solid ! Floats over the harsh roads I drive to work everyday, (didn't have that before) My Brother drove it, had to pop the hood to prove it was really a 4 cyliner engine! Overall, a really nice car !

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best riding car i have owned!!!!

by grtkisser from rose hill,nc on Fri Jan 29 2010

i love this car!!!great styling.great gas mileage and handles like a dream.i would reccomend this car to my mother!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2009 Mitsubishi Galant

Unlike if someone asked you your opinion about this year's presidential candidates, no one would blame you if you didn't know much about Mitsubishi's midsize sedan, the Galant. Its relatively low annual sales pale in comparison to the numbers put up by competitors like the Honda Accord and Toyota Camry, but if you don't want to drive what everyone else in the neighborhood does, the Galant delivers surprisingly capable handling and strong performance from the optional V-6.

There are tradeoffs when you choose to be different, though, and with the Galant those come in the form of an uncompetitive starting price and a lower-quality interior than you'll find in much of its competition.

Clean, Forgettable Styling
For... Read More