2005 Lancer Evolution

Consumer Reviews

2005 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution

$15,905 - $30,313  MSRP Range
2005 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

EVO Nation

by Shellback from DFW, Tx on Thu Jun 15 2006

I bought a used Evo VIII and could not be happier with the cars performance and racing heritage. It handles wonderfully, has all the HP and is 4wd. Plus it has four doors to take the family on drives. If you are looking for luxury and soft suspension then look elsewhere. This car has excellent road feedback and needs your full attention to drive it. If you want to talk on the phone and drink lattes again, look elsewhere. This car should come with a bumper sticker that says "Hang up and Drive"

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wicked fast, wicked fun

by Backroads Bomber from Marin County, CA on Thu Aug 09 2007

There are cars with bigger numbers and cars with flashier reps, but out in the real world, where the rubber meets the asphalt, there are very few cars that can hang with an Evo. It's not just fast from point A to point B, it's massively engaging, too. It's one of the purest, most unfiltered driving experiences out there. The car talks to you constantly, and the messages are nothing but confidence inspiring. I've yet to encounter a road or a situation where the Evo felt anything less than secure and willing to do whatever is asked of it. Details: The steering is quick, light and accurate. The brakes are hugely powerful and easy to modulate. The engine is strong and loves to rev. The throttle response down low ain't too bad considering how boosted the engine is. The suspension is a great balance of taut and supple in the MR edition. The four-wheel drive powertrain puts the horses down brilliantly. In short, it's one of the best driver's cars on the planet and you can't do better for the money. If you've been thinking about getting one, do yourself a favor and take a test drive. You'll love it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best sport car I've ever driven

by Sports Car Enthusiast from Windsor, CT on Sat Mar 31 2007

Absolutely loved the car for the 2 years I've owned it. Not one single problem, only regular maintenance. Will buy another one again when the time is right.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent

by maleman from Bay Area, CA on Tue Dec 21 2010

Best car for under 35k. With simple bolt on mods and a tune, this care will easily kill any other car with similar mods. Looks amazing, cops hate it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

dream car

by Evo MR from Elk City, OK on Mon Feb 13 2012

Fast fun, great handling, looks sick, great for snow, gravel, rain, or dry!!! My dream car is now my own!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Car

by Wolfe from Plainview, NY on Tue Feb 01 2011

Car is Great, has everything in it. Truly an amazing machine, superb handling and the peformance is outstanding.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2005 EVO MR

by Pierre K from Downers Grove on Fri Aug 04 2006

Highs-Awesome performance, great all-weather handling, sensational steering control, logical placement of controls, awesome ride quality with bilstein shocks, great interior space. Lows-Terrible insurance premiums, expensive brakes and factory equip tires, uses a lot of premium fuel, interior looks low scale for $35K, terrible factory radio, weak A/C, no cruise control or alarm system, squeaks and rattles from every part of the car. Overall-If performance is what you crave, then this car is a must. If you want something with less attention, better build quality, and something luxurious, a TL or IS350 might be your taste.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great!

by JenJen from Denver, CO on Thu Jul 20 2006

Need I say more? This is the best car we have ever owned. It is great in all seasons and GREAT in the snow...and a lot of fun too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Don't Ever Buy It!

by CurseTwo from on Fri May 16 2014

there's a leak in manifold, the 1st time i went there to check the car i was so amaze, even tho they dont let me drive the car and i didn't ask if i can start the engine - couples week later me and bunch of my friends invite me to check this car again they don't even know that i was checking the car, my friends know everything about the car, they get a chance to start the engine and on a blink of an eye and just listen to the sounds of the engine they know that something problem. i was happy that they know right away that this car had major problems. for 25g's DON'T BUY IT!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Evo $$ pit

by 16Pathy from NY on Sat Jan 20 2018

I was excited to drive it, it did not disappoint. It is a very sensitive car, any abuse comes with a bill. Not a car for daily driving, much better off as a 2nd car to have fun in. Low reliability with so many vacuum hoses and issues with a wide variety of components.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2005 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution

Mitsubishi, the troubled Japanese automaker, is likely eager for any bit of good news, and I'm about to give the company a little: The 2005 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution MR, an exhilarating sedan for The Fast and the Furious crowd, has plenty of fans.

One solemn, steely-eyed young man looked over my test Evolution MR. He said, "You have a very fast car."

I replied: "Yes. Yes, I do."

Unfortunately for Mitsubishi, he was the cashier at the local Taco Bell drive-through, and unless he's working the late-night shift as a hobby, I doubt that he can afford the $35,594 price tag. He and I, then, are in the same boat: We like the Evo MR a lot, but we can't afford it.

This is not to say the Evo MR is overpriced, because... Read More