Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 Mirage

Consumer Reviews

2002 Mitsubishi Mirage

$1,601 - $3,545  MSRP Range
2002 Mitsubishi Mirage

Review Score

2.9 out of 5 stars

2.9

8 Reviews
63% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
2.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
2.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
2.4 out of 5 stars Performance
2.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Mitsubishi Mirage?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car

by Loyal Driver from Atlanta Metro, GA on Mon Jun 17 2013

I bought my Mitsubishi Mirage new in 2002, and 12 years later, I have to sell it because we need a bigger car for our growing family. I have performed the regular recommended maintenance on this car, and it has been so good to me. I have never had any surprises or unexpected repairs. It is just a very well-made car that will last forever. What I like most is that the small size and stick shift allow for easy maneuvering, from parking lots to small streets to switching lanes. At highway speeds, it is very quiet and smooth. The gas mileage is amazing. Despite the small size, I have always felt safe in this car because I feel at one with the road and the stick shift keeps me alert and at one with the car. I have had to brake very suddenly on a few occasions and the car was very responsive. The exterior of the car is susceptible to dings and scratches, and the interior ribbed cloth on the inside does collect crumbs, but the design of the dash is very nice and resembles that of the of Honda Civic. I am very sad to have to say goodbye to this car at 130,000 miles and I hope the next owner will appreciate it as much as I have.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

First Car I've owned

by Bear from Chapel Hill, N.C. on Tue Aug 22 2006

It's sporty, yet at the same time, gets good millage, and performs well, for a car it's size. The trunk has plenty of room, and I'd reccomend it to someone without kids. Smooth ride, and tight steering wheel, just the way I like it. I give this car 4 stars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good cheap transpo, and reliable.

by LChance from south bend, in on Thu Sep 23 2010

Too many bad reviews about this ride. It's cheap, loud, overpowered, economical, "cute" so I'm told, and just a Dang decent cheap little scoot. I get 35 to 40 mpg city driving. C'mon. It could be a straw on skates, that rules. It's not bad feeling, comfort wise, and I'm 6'6" 308 pounds. Decent for an itty bitty car. Big trunk, no mechanical probs, just a good car. Not a Caddy. Not a Yugo. I like mine very well.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

It's Junk--

by Kara of California from Sacramento, CA on Thu Jan 14 2010

Bought car new in 2002--now engine light comes on,clunks when goes from park to reverse & has been in/out of shop for over a month. They believe problem is electrical or computer chip--but can't pinpoint it. Ugh--I hate this car--run away from anyone trying to sell it to you!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

JUNK

by JOHN (CAR ENTHUSIAST) from ATLANTA GA on Wed May 09 2007

MY MOTHER GOT HER MIRAGE BRAND NEW AND FROM THE TIME SHE GOT IT WAS NOTHING BUT TRUBLE. DONT BUY THIS HUNK OF JUNK IF YOU HAVE TO WALK.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

PIECE OF JUNK!!

by Dani from Wisconsin on Thu Mar 19 2009

I bought this car brand new as well and it's givin me nothing but stress and problems. I agree with the other reviewer...BIG HUGE PIECE OF JUNK!!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love the car

by Chester from Santa Maria,Ca on Sun Aug 20 2017

It's good for city driving but not far drives. It sits comfortable for short periods of time but I would not drive it a lot because it can get problems easily.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Getting my money's worth

by Manchild from Anderson on Sun Oct 21 2018

I bought this car with nothing but the intent of driving it to and from work on the highway and some in town driving at 40k miles for $2000. I'm now sitting at a 145k miles on a 2002 and it is currently 2018 the car has given me no issues other than wheel bearings and a CV axle needing to be replaced timing belt which is normal routine maintenance struts are finally going bad I've replaced brake pads frequently other than that it's just been as reliable as I could hope the cloth on the seats are now starting to rip from my wallet other than that everything else is holding up well I could use a new fuel filter the car is very under-powered also do for transmission mounts

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1