Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2004 Outlander

Consumer Reviews

2004 Mitsubishi Outlander

$2,102 - $6,434  MSRP Range
2004 Mitsubishi Outlander

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

13 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Mitsubishi Outlander?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Brent Chef from Sun Valley, ID on Mon Oct 19 2009

I bought this car from a rental company with 23,000 miles on it, and it was the best purchase I've ever made. I live in a place with a harsh winter environment so I've always owned Jeeps, but this little goer has never failed to get me there. It handles great, rides smooth and quiet on the highway (80 is it's favorite speed)and has required nothing but routine maintenance, aside from new tie rod ends at 95,000 miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Have owned one since 2004 and still love it.

by Gunner from Edmonton, Alberta on Sat Jan 28 2017

Have owned one since 2004. Love this vehicle. Very reliable and has never let us down. Regular maint. keeps it going. Best I've ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Mitsubishi Outlander

by Pat Emory from elyria, Oh 44035 on Sun Jun 04 2017

The SUV is not a bad car for the price I paid. Its comfortable and the gas mileage is not to bad either. It runs like a champ, and I would recommend this kind of car to everyone, if you want a reliable vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've ever owned

by CJ Anderson from Meridian, Idaho also known as "Treasure Valley" on Thu Nov 23 2017

The car met all my needs. Was very reliable, most reliable car I ever owned. Comfortable drive and ride. Plenty of room to haul stuff.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Horrible on rough roads!

by Jack from Cleveland, OH on Sat Apr 24 2010

Bought new, loved styling. Comfortable interior, good engine performance. Horrible ride due to bumpy roads. Okay if you live in area with no salt and snow. You really feel every bump and crack in road. Hence, expensive repairs for suspension (tie-rod ends, upper & lower control arms). Spent $2,000 at 66,000 mi. Will need more suspension work next year (struts). Other than that, very reliable. Would not buy again due to suspension problems in this area (bad roads).

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Solid Car

by Dankwookie from Buffalo, NY on Sun Feb 20 2011

This is a good reliable vehicle. I have owned it for two years, put 30k on it (77k total now), and other than routine maintenance have only had to replace the tie rods ($100 a piece). Smooth on the highway and can be a bit bumpy on roads with potholes of which there are plenty around here. The AWD is functional and never left me stranded (and I see a lot of snow).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love the car, getting parts is difficult

by Kathy from on Tue May 02 2017

Have enjoyed having and driving this car--bought it used some years ago--but now it's getting more challenging as suspension parts are rusting and needing replacement, and getting parts and having a Mitsubishi dealer (now 2 hours away) do the safety recall work. I'm sad to say I will not get another Mitsubishi automobile with the distance I have to travel to get to a dealer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very high class n reliable.

by alwayschiln from Cleveland on Sat Jul 07 2018

The 04 Outlander won me over im happy I chose this car, havnt had any problems with it. My next car will be a newest Outlander.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great All Rounder

by Dave from West Coast on Thu May 17 2012

Bought my 04 Outlander new off the lot in 2004 and was pleased right off with the handling which is very car like for an SUV. The car was great for hauling stuff around in fact I used it to move myself 3 times while I owned it. I sold the car at 120k miles and in that time I had no mechanical problems except the brake disks which I had to replace twice after they were bent by the calipers. My only disappointment was that the seats where highly uncomfortable and the ride was a bit stiff for my bad back. I guess the road noise was a bit high but not too bad. The car was supposed to come with free oil changes for life, but the dealer refused because I moved shortly after I bought it. The engine was willing and efficient for an SUV. I would still have my Outlander but I had an opportunity to buy a Mercedes and I couldn't pass it up even though I had to trade in my outlander. I miss the car but it did serve me well while I had it. It comes highly recommended.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I am keeping Mine until it die

by Fitsum GGG from Dallas TX on Fri Apr 29 2016

I bought my 2004 outlander used 5 years ago there was already 850000 mile on it I drove it 5 years 160000miles I dont remember one day I spend a penny for fixing it and then its only natural for a car owner to think about his next car after about certain mileage because of the increasing fear of repairing future costs thats when I look around on the web to see some reviews online about the trouble this bad boy about to bring up on me I find a few owners who drove it 320000miles with just an oil change. O well its just gone be me and my beb at list for 2-3 years great Car Really. I highly recommend it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2