2011 Outlander

Consumer Reviews
2011 Mitsubishi Outlander

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

13 Reviews
2011 Mitsubishi Outlander
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.9 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Couldn't be happier

by Commuting Curmudgeon from Pennsylvania on March 24, 2011

Decided to stick with Mitsubishi after a very positive experience with a Montero Sport (12 years/170k miles). I know the styling of the front end is a point of contention with many, but it was the feature that drew me to the vehicle the first time I saw it on the lot. Nothing feels cheap about the fit or trim and the instrumentation is clear and minimal. I hate a car that looks like the cockpit of a jetliner. The cabin feels much roomier than other vehicles in its class that I had test driven. Doors open wide for easy access, although they feel a little "tinny", and there is plenty of visibility, another thing I found lacking in the competition. Acceleration is smooth from a dead stop, but can be a little sluggish at cruising speed. That is the trade off for the smaller engine, but the fuel economy is outstanding. If the on board computer is accurate, I am getting 30 mph on the highway at 60-65 mph cruising, and averaging 25 mpg in general. Handling is superb although the ride feels a little stiff.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Gas Saver!!!!!

by JCHI from Chicago IL on April 8, 2011

Great gas saver i'm doing like 30 Miles per gallon. I have been using Mitsubishi for almost 10 years and haven't had a single problem. Runs great extras are fantastic: siruis radio, phone comand, USB outlet. This baby is well equiped. Of course I can still have my 4x4. Great car!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A DRIVER'S CAR. Fun, fun, fun or economical ho-hum

by chopper4me from Colorful Colorado on March 1, 2012

So you?ve read the rest now read the best. 2011 Outlander SE w/2.4L 4x4. This is a DRIVER'S car. No, it doesn?t have as much horse power as some but if you learn how to drive it, you're going to have just too much fun. The first thing you're going to have to do is disregard gas mileage, (While you and your car are learning.), and teach the car your driving habits. During this time you will need to figure out the power band for each gear using the paddle shifters on an empty road. So now that you've figured out that at (X) mph, if you drop down to (y) gear, you?re going to be at the start or middle of the power band for that gear. Fun, fun, fun! The suspension is solid and allows the car to pull through the corners tight and predictable. There is a bit of torque steering in the lower gears but that lets me know I?m hitting the power band just right. The four wheel drive has worked great in this Colorado winter and I don?t think I?ll ever buy another car without the remote start feature. The seats are very comfortable with the lumbar support right where it should be, for me. The cup holder to the left of the steering wheel gets little praise but, man is it convenient. Just watch your knees getting in and out if you leave it extended. The hands free bluetooth system is fantastic and should be required by law. The Rockford-fosgate w/subwoofer sound system is truely awsome! I can hook up my android phone to the RCA jacks and use a music player that has an equalizer that I downloaded. By doing so, I am able to create a, as good or better than component stereo presents inside my vehicle. Sometimes, I just keep driving. Like in The Matrix....Woo! If and when I drive mellow, I?m getting about 25mpg city. Traveling at 75 to 80mph on the highway, my gas mileage decreases compared to 65mph or lower. This may not be the most economical car, but it can be some what conomical depending on your driving habits. So here?s my conclusion, If you like to DRIVE your car, the outlander with its transmission, suspension and controls make it a DRIVER'S car. If you are a commuter, the Outlander is an economical vehicle. There are other more economical 4 cyl. engine vehicles out there but you won?t find the styling, performance and value of the Outlander. To me, this is a true hybrid vehicle. Fun, fun, fun or economical, (enough), ho-hum.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Value for an SUV out there

by Accountant from Saint John, IN on July 9, 2011

After a couple of months I've concluded buying the Outlander was a great decision. It's primarily used by my wife to drive to work and we're averaging around 30 MPG. The Outlander is nimble and handles extremely well. The agressive styling sets it apart in its class. No other small SUV's we tested could come close as far as amount of features for the price. The warranty is excellent and assuring. My only gripe is that the glovebox is a little flimsy but other than that I have no complaints at all. The Outlander is a great buy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Ride

by AJ from DC on April 10, 2015

I was very skeptical at first of Mitsubishi but took a test drive. Love the drive and handle of the car. The rebates needed to help sell allows it to significantly undercut the pricing of its competitors. It has been rock solid through heavy use with the bumper to bumper warranty still active for piece of mind. Ended up being my favorite car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle for the money.

by Andrei from Ohio on June 15, 2017

Great vehicle for the money. Roomy!!! 4wd works just perfect. Bought it 3 years ago with 36,000 miles. Did not have any issues. Love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great family car

by Carly from Oakdale, MN on September 24, 2017

So many awesome features in the GT model! Great for a small family. Reliable vehicle that handles well and I feel safe driving. Interior design is beautiful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car my family ever owned

by Carman on June 9, 2018

This thing will carry anything. This car carried a dishwasher, a patio furniture set, 2 bikes, a laundry machine, ikea furniture, and a rideable toy car, and all those times all those items fit into the car with barley any room left over. It is amazing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Deal I Have Ever Gotten

by Mike_C from St. George Utah on January 4, 2018

This car runs really great and has all the extra features we wanted in a car. It has heated seats, GPS, Super Stereo system, towing package, moon roof, comfortable seats, plenty of cargo room and much more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Impressive in all areas

by new car buyer from Dakota Dunes, South Dakota on January 23, 2011

Have owned my Outlander for about a month and could not be more happy with it's build quality, performance & minimal road noise. If you are looking for a smaller SUV/Crossover that has good room front & back, that's well put together and has a seamless transmission with plenty of power get a V6 Outlander and add leather as this really enhances the image.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2011 Mitsubishi Outlander