2016 Outlander

Consumer Reviews

2016 Mitsubishi Outlander

$9,806 - $19,062  MSRP Range
2016 Mitsubishi Outlander

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

80 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 80 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very satisfied

by Ricardo from Montreal on Sat Mar 18 2017

Excellent confort, well equiped, kept the off-road design that some competitors lost, good visibility, suspension can be improved, traction is excellent (I drive it over the snow and ice here in Canada)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

King Car :)

by PIT from Chicago, IL on Fri Dec 02 2016

Great Family SUV.Mitsubishi has a best in class warranty. A practical 7 seater with excellent mileage , averaging about 28 mpg :) need a 8,2 second 0-60.All Wheel Control works very good. Remote start and leather heated seats for this price is unbelievable.It is a very good car. happy repeat buyer after 6 monts. The car is made in Japan :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable and efficient SUV

by Addy from Chicago IL on Tue Apr 24 2018

This car is an amazing vehicle. My family has owned Mitsubishi cars since I was a kid back in India where roads are sloppy and tough on cars. So I decided to buy the 2016 SE 4 WD and didn’t regret it. I am currently doing rideshare in this car and I put 60000 miles in 14 months and didn’t had any single problem with this car “ not even brakes” just regular oil change and tyre rotation. So you can see the reliability standards of this car. And fuel economy is 29 in city and highway could be between 31 to 34 , since mine is a four cylinder which contributes to great efficiency. Most people underestimated the car torque power, but I would say “ choose right mode “. If you need power test car on its lock mode which is 4wd and don’t use Eco mode. Putting the car on lock mode and sports mode together gives great torque and control over the car. Cons : 3rd row seating is not roomy. But you can have decent space by adjusting middle row seats to give room for last row. Pros : Best 4WD SYSTEM, Amazing audio, Quiet Cabin, Superior control in all weather conditions. You won’t be disappointed buying this car if you looking for a reliable and efficient SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A fun and roomy ride

by Jenbert from Seattle, WA on Wed Sep 13 2017

I have had this vehicle for 1.5 years and I love it. It drives really smoothly, has room for my very tall family members and looks great. My only complaint is that the plastic interior pieces, like the end caps on the seat tracks and the storage compartment covers all pop off very easily and often unintentionally.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable for traveling

by SusanS from Houma, la on Thu Mar 28 2019

Dependably comfortable and spacious. Great gas mileage. Great for traveling. Very Good lookin vehicle. Price was reasonable for this vehicle. So glad I decided to purchase it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

grate car

by ayay from Gresham OR on Tue Oct 01 2019

I have had over 40 different cars and 2011 Mitsubishi outlander sport was slow but good car had no problems for 7 year then I sold it and purchased 2016 missubishi outlande drives grate much better when you looking for car with CVT transmission don't expect fast acceleration love the can really good fuel economy for the size of the car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV for the price range

by Kiru from Bloomington, IL on Mon Jun 19 2017

The GT V6 AWC with Navigation, Touring, FCM, Active Cruise control and LDW packages has been giving a wonderful experience driving, safety and comforts. Impressed with many luxury car features for the price i payed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fuel efficient

by Araceli from HALTOM CITY on Mon May 06 2019

Fuel efficient and 3 rows of seats! Best fit for my family of 6!! Best value for my money. Extremely affordable! Would never buy a different make again!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a wonderful car

by PavP from 34638 Land O Lakes ,FL on Tue Feb 19 2019

Wonderful car carrying up to seven people. Ideal for people living an active life on mountain forests and seas. Great for your price. Extremely suitable for young people with lots of luggage and for families with many children. Great to drive both on the highway and on the macadam road. Pleasant and easy to drive with great suspension and driver assistance systems. Absolutely suitable for snow and mountain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the Mitsu Outlander GT.

by jrat65 from Delaware, OH on Mon Jul 29 2019

This is my second Mitsubushi Outlander. First was a 2008 XLS, current one is the 2016 GT. My daughter inherited the 2008. It has over 200,000 miles on it, still looks new inside, one spot of rust on the outside that got a little touch up. Got the GT with 16K and it now has 25K. The ride is quiet, the space is good for a 6'3" frame. The dogs, wife and kids all like the comfort and appearance. If this one performs like the last one, I'll probably get a third Outlander GT as well!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander

Although the 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander is newly redesigned, it still feels behind the times. Still, it should attract buyers with its low price even though it doesn’t embrace the latest in technology and ergonomics.

Not to be confused with the smaller Outlander Sport, the Outlander is a midsize SUV that seats up to seven in three rows. It can be had with either a 166-horsepower, 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine and continuously variable automatic transmission or a 224-hp, 3.0-liter V-6 and six-speed automatic. The four-cylinder offers front- or all-wheel drive, while the V-6 comes only with all-wheel drive. We tested a 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander 3.0 GT S-AWC with the V-6 engine.

Changes for 2016... Read More