2016 Outlander

Consumer Reviews

2016 Mitsubishi Outlander

$11,611 - $24,387  MSRP Range
2016 Mitsubishi Outlander

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

60 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 60 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2nd Outlander I've owned...

by LA6930 from Illinois on Thu Dec 01 2016

Owned a 2012 SE and decided to upgrade last month to a brand new 2016 GT. I liked the 2012, but LOVE the GT. In almost 40,000 miles ,all that was needed on the SE was a routine oil change and tire rotation.....great on gas and so dependable! My new GT has all the bells and whistles and with all the improvements made in 2016, feels like a totally different SUV...Thanks Mitsubishi for making such a dependable vehicle!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable brand I have owned

by ARIVERA from Reisterstown MD on Tue May 09 2017

The outland is very capable and versatile. Quite cabin and confidence with the all wheel drive. I have the SEL model and is very equip for the money. The third row is thight space but my kids are 6 and 8 year's old so the fit very well if we have to used it. But with third row down we have a lot trunk space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 Outlander GT

by Professional - Musician from Oakdale, MN. on Sat Feb 04 2017

I bought my GT in September of 2015 and love it!. While the V6 is a bit sluggish off the line, it has the power I need for towing and hauling loads with the MPG's averaging around 22 around the city. I love the functionality of the vehicle. I have 24K miles on it now and still have no regrets. I also have used both premium gas and regular unleaded and see no difference in performance or MPG's! So don't pay attention to the 'experts' who have written Mitsubishi off. They are still producing great dependable cars for a value price!. I'd buy it again if I had to. Only wished they had the Blind Spot mirrors in 2016 like they do now on the 2017's!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

King Car :)

by PIT from Chicago, IL on Fri Dec 02 2016

Great Family SUV.Mitsubishi has a best in class warranty. A practical 7 seater with excellent mileage , averaging about 28 mpg :) need a 8,2 second 0-60.All Wheel Control works very good. Remote start and leather heated seats for this price is unbelievable.It is a very good car. happy repeat buyer after 6 monts. The car is made in Japan :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very satisfied

by Ricardo from Montreal on Sat Mar 18 2017

Excellent confort, well equiped, kept the off-road design that some competitors lost, good visibility, suspension can be improved, traction is excellent (I drive it over the snow and ice here in Canada)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mitsubishi is #1

by Gr8tMitsubishi from Claremore, Ok on Wed Jun 14 2017

This is the second Mitsubishi I've owned. It's reliable, stylish and gets great gas mileage. The mitsubishi roadside assistance ap is awesome for people who drive out of town.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable and efficient SUV

by Addy from Chicago IL on Tue Apr 24 2018

This car is an amazing vehicle. My family has owned Mitsubishi cars since I was a kid back in India where roads are sloppy and tough on cars. So I decided to buy the 2016 SE 4 WD and didn’t regret it. I am currently doing rideshare in this car and I put 60000 miles in 14 months and didn’t had any single problem with this car “ not even brakes” just regular oil change and tyre rotation. So you can see the reliability standards of this car. And fuel economy is 29 in city and highway could be between 31 to 34 , since mine is a four cylinder which contributes to great efficiency. Most people underestimated the car torque power, but I would say “ choose right mode “. If you need power test car on its lock mode which is 4wd and don’t use Eco mode. Putting the car on lock mode and sports mode together gives great torque and control over the car. Cons : 3rd row seating is not roomy. But you can have decent space by adjusting middle row seats to give room for last row. Pros : Best 4WD SYSTEM, Amazing audio, Quiet Cabin, Superior control in all weather conditions. You won’t be disappointed buying this car if you looking for a reliable and efficient SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A fun and roomy ride

by Jenbert from Seattle, WA on Wed Sep 13 2017

I have had this vehicle for 1.5 years and I love it. It drives really smoothly, has room for my very tall family members and looks great. My only complaint is that the plastic interior pieces, like the end caps on the seat tracks and the storage compartment covers all pop off very easily and often unintentionally.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2016 Outlander, 94,800 miles

by dhall from Sunrise Beach on Tue Aug 14 2018

owned a lancer, back in 2006. sold it in 2012 with 202,000 mi. was a great car, and i drove the piss out of it. Hard miles, but maintained meticulously. Held up to all I put it through. Bought a new Outlander in Dec, 2016 and now has 94,800 mi. Once again, I drive it hard, but maintain it religiously. Anxious to see if it holds up. A bit concerned about the Var sp tranny. So far, so good.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Meets all of my needs and expectations

by Chris P from Utica, IL on Sun Dec 24 2017

I purchased the 2016 Outlander GT as a family vehicle due to the many safety features and more spacious interior than my previous vehicle. This was a certified vehicle which means the full 10 year 100k mile warranty was transferable to me and that was a huge plus in my book. This means to me that Mitsubishi stands behind their product. The safety features of this SUV blew my mind. It has a built-in camera in front of the rear view mirror which acts as a sensor for traffic in front of you as well as staying in between the lines while driving. It has multiple AWD settings for regular driving, rain, snow, and off roading which is nice for IL where the weather changes daily. It is smooth driving for an SUV and is also very quiet inside as far also road noise etc. Overall, very happy with this purchase.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander

Although the 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander is newly redesigned, it still feels behind the times. Still, it should attract buyers with its low price even though it doesn’t embrace the latest in technology and ergonomics.

Not to be confused with the smaller Outlander Sport, the Outlander is a midsize SUV that seats up to seven in three rows. It can be had with either a 166-horsepower, 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine and continuously variable automatic transmission or a 224-hp, 3.0-liter V-6 and six-speed automatic. The four-cylinder offers front- or all-wheel drive, while the V-6 comes only with all-wheel drive. We tested a 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander 3.0 GT S-AWC with the V-6 engine.

Changes for 2016... Read More