NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2016 Outlander

Consumer Reviews

2016 Mitsubishi Outlander

$11,352 - $22,848  MSRP Range
2016 Mitsubishi Outlander

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

70 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 70 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2nd Outlander I've owned...

by LA6930 from Illinois on Thu Dec 01 2016

Owned a 2012 SE and decided to upgrade last month to a brand new 2016 GT. I liked the 2012, but LOVE the GT. In almost 40,000 miles ,all that was needed on the SE was a routine oil change and tire rotation.....great on gas and so dependable! My new GT has all the bells and whistles and with all the improvements made in 2016, feels like a totally different SUV...Thanks Mitsubishi for making such a dependable vehicle!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable brand I have owned

by ARIVERA from Reisterstown MD on Tue May 09 2017

The outland is very capable and versatile. Quite cabin and confidence with the all wheel drive. I have the SEL model and is very equip for the money. The third row is thight space but my kids are 6 and 8 year's old so the fit very well if we have to used it. But with third row down we have a lot trunk space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very satisfied

by Ricardo from Montreal on Sat Mar 18 2017

Excellent confort, well equiped, kept the off-road design that some competitors lost, good visibility, suspension can be improved, traction is excellent (I drive it over the snow and ice here in Canada)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 Outlander GT

by Professional - Musician from Oakdale, MN. on Sat Feb 04 2017

I bought my GT in September of 2015 and love it!. While the V6 is a bit sluggish off the line, it has the power I need for towing and hauling loads with the MPG's averaging around 22 around the city. I love the functionality of the vehicle. I have 24K miles on it now and still have no regrets. I also have used both premium gas and regular unleaded and see no difference in performance or MPG's! So don't pay attention to the 'experts' who have written Mitsubishi off. They are still producing great dependable cars for a value price!. I'd buy it again if I had to. Only wished they had the Blind Spot mirrors in 2016 like they do now on the 2017's!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

King Car :)

by PIT from Chicago, IL on Fri Dec 02 2016

Great Family SUV.Mitsubishi has a best in class warranty. A practical 7 seater with excellent mileage , averaging about 28 mpg :) need a 8,2 second 0-60.All Wheel Control works very good. Remote start and leather heated seats for this price is unbelievable.It is a very good car. happy repeat buyer after 6 monts. The car is made in Japan :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mitsubishi is #1

by Gr8tMitsubishi from Claremore, Ok on Wed Jun 14 2017

This is the second Mitsubishi I've owned. It's reliable, stylish and gets great gas mileage. The mitsubishi roadside assistance ap is awesome for people who drive out of town.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A fun and roomy ride

by Jenbert from Seattle, WA on Wed Sep 13 2017

I have had this vehicle for 1.5 years and I love it. It drives really smoothly, has room for my very tall family members and looks great. My only complaint is that the plastic interior pieces, like the end caps on the seat tracks and the storage compartment covers all pop off very easily and often unintentionally.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable and efficient SUV

by Addy from Chicago IL on Tue Apr 24 2018

This car is an amazing vehicle. My family has owned Mitsubishi cars since I was a kid back in India where roads are sloppy and tough on cars. So I decided to buy the 2016 SE 4 WD and didn’t regret it. I am currently doing rideshare in this car and I put 60000 miles in 14 months and didn’t had any single problem with this car “ not even brakes” just regular oil change and tyre rotation. So you can see the reliability standards of this car. And fuel economy is 29 in city and highway could be between 31 to 34 , since mine is a four cylinder which contributes to great efficiency. Most people underestimated the car torque power, but I would say “ choose right mode “. If you need power test car on its lock mode which is 4wd and don’t use Eco mode. Putting the car on lock mode and sports mode together gives great torque and control over the car. Cons : 3rd row seating is not roomy. But you can have decent space by adjusting middle row seats to give room for last row. Pros : Best 4WD SYSTEM, Amazing audio, Quiet Cabin, Superior control in all weather conditions. You won’t be disappointed buying this car if you looking for a reliable and efficient SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable for traveling

by SusanS from Houma, la on Thu Mar 28 2019

Dependably comfortable and spacious. Great gas mileage. Great for traveling. Very Good lookin vehicle. Price was reasonable for this vehicle. So glad I decided to purchase it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a wonderful car

by PavP from 34638 Land O Lakes ,FL on Tue Feb 19 2019

Wonderful car carrying up to seven people. Ideal for people living an active life on mountain forests and seas. Great for your price. Extremely suitable for young people with lots of luggage and for families with many children. Great to drive both on the highway and on the macadam road. Pleasant and easy to drive with great suspension and driver assistance systems. Absolutely suitable for snow and mountain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander

Although the 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander is newly redesigned, it still feels behind the times. Still, it should attract buyers with its low price even though it doesn’t embrace the latest in technology and ergonomics.

Not to be confused with the smaller Outlander Sport, the Outlander is a midsize SUV that seats up to seven in three rows. It can be had with either a 166-horsepower, 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine and continuously variable automatic transmission or a 224-hp, 3.0-liter V-6 and six-speed automatic. The four-cylinder offers front- or all-wheel drive, while the V-6 comes only with all-wheel drive. We tested a 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander 3.0 GT S-AWC with the V-6 engine.

Changes for... Read More