2000 Altima

Consumer Reviews

2000 Nissan Altima

$731 - $4,443  MSRP Range
2000 Nissan Altima

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

20 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Nissan Altima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Yes-this is the most reliable auto I've ever owned

by Altima lover from Ocala, FL on Mon Sep 20 2010

I wish I could afford to buy a new Altima now. It's the best car I've ever owned. We just traded it in for a Hyundai Elantra Touring car. I hated to trade it in but wanted a hatchback and the car was going on 12 years old. Had only 98,000 miles on it - was so reliable. I would have kept it as a second car if I didn't need it for the downpayment on a newer car. I highly recommend and Nissan auto as they are really great cars. There didn't seem to be anything seriously wrong with the car when we traded it in...and it looked new as we took care of it. I was the original owner - a non-smoker.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my nissan altima

by Nenerz from Mia on Tue Oct 23 2007

is a very safe reliable car, I'd recomend it to anyone that is looking to buy a used car, not only is it good on gas but it is ver spacious, has a big trunk...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent

by cris from NC on Mon Feb 16 2009

This was my second car and it was totaled in an accident. I am now looking for the same car. I loved this car! I bought it with over 100,000 miles on it and it gave me NO problems! I recommend this car to everyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sportiest Car I ever drove

by Great Deal Seeker from Palatine, IL on Tue Apr 07 2009

I bought this 2.4SE Altima with 112K miles. Because it was well driven, I had to replace some parts, like the entire braking system, which cost me $500. It has great fuel economy for the horsepower. The ride is a little on the hard side because of the thin tires stiff suspension, but that is why this car handles very well on highway, curves, and wet pavements. I have owned a 95 Camry 2.2LE, which was much quieter and had a much better ride quality, but it had the same 29 Hwy mpg as this Altima and it had much less horsepower. Overall the Altima has great handling, performance, and fuel economy.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Black Beauty <3

by Vaquia from Columbus, OH on Thu Dec 06 2007

I bought my 2000 Altima used last year after a long painful ownership of a 1998 Sebring. I love it to death! There is this one thing: the engine does not always shut off right away after I've turned the key to shut it off. I've found that if I have something else running, like the fan or the radio, and then turn that off a second before I turn the engine off, the engine will turn off like it's supposed to right away. There's this another small thing: if I don't park with the wheel exactly straight, the car may not start next time I go to drive it. Nobody has been able to ever find out what that's about because it'll start when they test it so of course none of the tests are going to come back as someting being bad. So I have to park straight and turn the engine off right away after parking and turning everything else off. I can live with that. :-)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bulletproof car

by Neil from British Columbia Canada on Sun Aug 20 2006

You can't beat this car for reliability. I've owned it since new and have done nothing but changed tires, the battery, oil and brakes. It's not the fastest, the prettiest, the cheapest or the most expensive, but it will simply not leave you on the side of the road. Oh, and ya, it handles and brakes very very well (the SE model). After six years of ownership I can definately say, I'd do it again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable!!

by Mom of Four from Boston, MA on Wed Jun 02 2010

We had our 2000 Altima for 125,000 miles and did not have to put one penny in it besides routine maintenance. Great Car would highly recommend it to anyone!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by US Army Soldier from Petersburg, VA on Sun Apr 27 2008

I am sad to be selling this vehicle since it has been the most reliable one I have driven to date. It's fuel economy is excellent and reliability stellar. I would recommend a Nissan Altima to anyone who is looking for a fuel efficient and reliable car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

tj

by TJ from Kansas on Fri Oct 31 2014

Purchased new in 2000. 14.5 years later 262000 miles and still going strong. AC tempermental. If using oil recommend get gaskets done. I had 100000 miles on it at 2 years . If I had to I would take it across country again. I did the required maintenance throuh 200000 miles. Handles well in snow up to 6". Anything more than that is testy as it sits low to the ground. Am looking at Nissan again as one day my baby will die.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great overall vehicle

by Car guy from Ft. Lauderdale, FL on Sat Jul 21 2007

The steering is tight and the controls are well laid out. I like getting great gas mileage in a car that also has good get up and go. Looks stylish too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2