2017 Armada

Consumer Reviews
2017 Nissan Armada

Change Vehicle
4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

53 Reviews
2017 Nissan Armada
4.9 out of 5 starsComfort
4.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 53 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Blooming Love Affair

by LaserGil from Fort Worth, Texas on March 23, 2017

Love the overall style of this car. The ride is better than many other suv's we had an opportunity to test drive including, the new Cadillac XT5. New design is a winner. a few things to work on. Front console needs to be elevated a couple of inches. the front map display should be tilted downward to prevent glare from the sun. All bulbs should be 6000K LED's. improve fuel economy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Good and Almost Excellent

by nehls0624 from Robins, IA on October 26, 2017

We were looking for a three row [real] SUV for which I had four criteria: Tow 8300+lbs (our loaded boat trailer), Captains Chairs in second row, load leveling rear suspension, and 8" of ground clearance. When looking for an SUV that meets this criteria you basically have 4 options: 1. Yukon Denali/Cadillac Escalade (but not the standard Tahoe/Yukon) 2. Ford Expedition 3. Toyota Sequoia 4. Nissan Armada/Infinity QX80 The Nissan and the Toyota are the best values when looking at these criteria and we probably would have purchased the Toyota had the Toyota dealership offered us anything for our trade-in and the fact that the Sequoia is due for a refresh and we didn't want to buy a model that would look old next year. Armada Pro's: -Cabin fit and finish - soft touch surfaces and leather stitching on everything -Power/Acceleration when loaded or empty (but not towing - see below) -Second Row Captains Chairs - best seats in the car -Lowest price for highest trim level (Platinum) -360 Camera view -Off Road Ability - while it doesn't have the Nissan Patrols off road disconnecting sway bars or the infinity's hydraulic body control, the Nissan, unlike many of its domestic competitors does have good from approach, departure and overall ground clearance. The limited slip rear end and center locking low range capable transfer case gets the job done. The super soft suspension also makes driving off road less jarring. Con's -Drivers seat does not go back far enough if over 6' (not sure why this is the case as there is still TONS of rear seat leg room). -Antiquated infotainment - as pro reviewers have stated, Nissan simply put the infinity QX80 infotainment system circa 2011 into the 2017 Armada which is now 8 years old... -Fuel economy - there is not a car made today that gets good fuel economy that I would buy but I was truely surprised that with the new seven speed trans that it still only gets 18 on the freeway. Also, it will only get 18 at 70mph... bump it to 80 or the max settable cruise control speed of 90mph (we live in Iowa so this is normal) and fuel range actually becomes and issue. setting the cruise at 90mph (where the engine is only turning 2250rpm) in calm wind and two passengers yeilds 10mpg. Our trade in, a 2013 Yukon Denali easily averaged 21mpg at 70mph and 15-16mpg at 90mph. Towing - this is where the armada shines on paper but in practice does not deliver. first off, the factory air suspension does not lift the rear enough at all when an 8000lbs trailer (with WDH) is attached where the adjustable headlights at full adjustment still point at the tree tops. Also, as is an issue on most vehicles with IRS, heavy trailers feel floaty and suspension too soft. Towing issue 2 - again, on paper, 390hp 5.6L V8 with 7-speed trans on a ladder frame 4wd SUV sounds great. Even in tow/haul mode, the transmission shifts far too early in towing situations. This engine despite being 390hp and with 394 ft lbs of torque is not made until 4000rpm. The transmission never lets the revs get that high unless the pedal is floored. Using the manual shifting does solve this as power is more than adequate when the engine is in its rather narrow power band (4000-6000rpm). As a driving enthusiast, I love the sound of a V8 at full song but it seems unreasonable that to maintain 65mph on a flat road towing 8000lbs, the vehicle must remain in 3rd gear screaming at 4800rpm... All in all, the vehicle will be great for my wife to cruise the mall parking lot in all weather and me to use off road in the woods for hunting and light towing.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Armada Platinum

by Tiny from Ardmore, Okla on May 20, 2017

The only thing that I would do different is fix the seats where they can go back a little farther six foot four guys need just a little more leg room and the back seat has plenty of room for the front seat to move backwards a little farther. It would help out at the menu on the front dash was a little more user-friendly it's pretty good but it could be a little better in my opinion. Other than that it's an awesome car absolutely would buy another one when the time comes.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Comfortable and INCREDIBLE Ride

by Sausage from Unadilla, NY on April 18, 2017

We have only had the Armada for a couple of weeks and we are very pleased. We are most impressed with the absolutely amazingly comfortable and smooth ride this vehicle has. We have never driven a vehicle so smooth and comfortable. The DVD System is great with 13 Bose speakers it sounds incredible. Music as well sounds incredible. So many toys, technological extras, and safety features makes it a dream to drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a magnificent SUV for a low price.

by Herrerafamily-Htown from Houston,Tx on September 8, 2017

I think is the best SUV that Nissan has come up with is a very gorgeous and luxurious truck, feels safe and comfortable to drive around with the family. It has every that we were looking for

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV for the money

by Dodd J from Andalusia, Al on December 10, 2017

This SUV is exactly what our family needs. This is the 3rd Armada that we have purchased. Having the 3rd row bench seat is the only way to go for our family. We had to search for 100's of miles to find one with the bench seat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most stylish comfortable car we've owned.

by BEST Family SUV from Bakersfield, CA on April 23, 2018

This SUV has plenty of room for all passengers. Our grandchildren love the soft seats and comfortable leg room. Sits a little higher then the SUV we previously owned. The Hermosa Blue color is beautiful. Perfect for a family of 6-8 people. You'll Love Driving This SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wife's car! She won't let us eat or drink in this

by Friend from Booneville,AR on August 4, 2017

Great vehicle. Safety out the gazoo!! Big, nimble, boss in traffic, and classy. No just another station wagon upgrade!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury Styling, Power, Room at VALUE Pricing

by Bobby Astengo from Nogales, Arizona on May 8, 2017

Meets all expectations of needs and wants. Compared to Mercedes Benz, Audi, GMC etc., this Nissan 2017 Armada leaves the competition in the dust...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great family car

by Mike T. from Carlsbad, N.M. on June 19, 2017

For a family of 5 This vehicle suits all of our needs. Very comfortable for long trip, plenty of power with lots of safety features that you would normally find on more expensive vehicles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6
Our Expert Review: 2017 Nissan Armada