2009 Frontier

Consumer Reviews

2009 Nissan Frontier

$6,750 - $19,142  MSRP Range
2009 Nissan Frontier

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

13 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2009 Nissan Frontier?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

09 crew cab

by by Ner in Pennsylvania from Lancaster, Pa. on February 25, 2013

Bought 09 crew cab used in March of 2010 as a third vehicle. Primarily used for trips/weekends. Have hauled camping gear, mulch, firewood, yard waste w/o issues. Has also been used on several 1000 mile plus trips. Fuel economy is acceptable, ride is somewhat harsh, performance and styling are top notch, Only issue has been two cracked valve stems, one repaired under warranty, the other repaired at a cost of $100 by local mechanic.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by Joe in Texarkana from Texarkana, Arkansas on July 22, 2011

Traded in a full size Chevy in order to get Cash for Clunkers. But Frontier has proven itself time and again. Have hauled just about anything and everthing - from yard dirt to furniture. Great style - no complaints. The Suzuki is the same truck with a few more features at the same price - but no dealers within 100 miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Found a good one!

by trucking woman from Western Chicago suburbs on July 5, 2013

We've been looking for a good used truck for a while so when I came upon a 2009 Nissan Frontier at Tom Sparks Auto in DeKalb I thought I'd take a look. In spite of rain trying to deter us, we looked at this truck and other suv's on the lot. This was definitely the best one at a good price. Love the truck! It's a king crew with the long bed with a tonneau cover and it's in excellent condition! Runs great and so far we're enjoying it. Looking forward to being able to haul around lots of stuff (we all have stuff) and not having to worry about getting the bed dirty or not having enough capacity. AC is awesome. Extras included a hitch and lined bed. Would recommend this vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nissan Frontier

by desertone from Phoenix, Arizona on December 2, 2010

I live in Arizona and have had two Frontiers, both with the v6 engine. Also have had Tacoma, Silverado and the GMC Sierra. All vehicles where very good i must say. Diffinitely like the Frontier because its a little smaller versis full size trucks, and the v6 is terrific. Mileage is about 22 mpg

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Own one and bought a second one

by DaneS from Cedar Park, TX on August 24, 2017

I bought a '09 new. Loved it so much I just bought a new 2017. My 17 yoa daughter got the '09. It is safe, dependable, and easy to drive. I trust this vehicle to keep my most precious gift safe. I like the styling of both trucks. Only slight changes over the years. Handles great even with a heavy load of concrete or garden dirt. Good gas mileage. Roomy. Easily fits 4 adults in comfort.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pre_Owned Frontier

by Jerry from Desoto,TX on October 13, 2012

I located a fronitier with the help of Cars.com It has been a great truck thus far.I was able to compare market price an got a fair deal in return

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Solid

by bugsey from Texas on January 29, 2010

Cloth seats need to be addressed. Not many mile, not hard on seats but they are looking worn. Armrest to short. Has a place on each side in the back that look like a hanging bar could be used but the set up doesn't match anything I could find. Positive side, great looking vehicle inside and out, handles great, I have the four cylinder and it has great power for a four. Rated at 25 miles a gallon on the road that's what it gets. No more or any less. I think it stands out much better than it's competitors but the seat issue really needs to be fixed.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

has been a great truck

by bready from Eldersburg, MD on October 2, 2017

it's a little long in the tooth compared to the newer vehicles but has done everything I need , 186,000 miles and it still feels like new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So far, It runs fine

by Tony T on November 9, 2017

I recently bought the pickup and have only had it for a month. So far, it is meeting my needs. I have yet to tow or use it to haul cargo.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Purchased my truck Today

by Julie Bulkeley from Masaryktown FL on February 10, 2018

I love it. It's a comfortable ride, it has plenty of horsepower, and for the first time in a very long time,I'm high enough to be able to see all around me. I know it's going to be a great truck for me. Also it's red!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2009 Nissan Frontier


Nissan's Frontier compact pickup truck has been around a while now.

Nissan put the first-generation Frontier on the market in 1998, upgrading it to the present model in 2004. It would be fair to think that this truck's cycle has run its course, but to drive one is to learn otherwise.

The Frontier is rugged, from its fully boxed frame to the optional bedliners. Our test vehicle was a four-wheel-drive 2009 King Cab SE V6 equipped with the Value Truck Package, which adds power windows, mirrors, locks, and other basic necessities totaling $26,500. It had plenty of power for routine hauling or towing with a 4.0 liter V-6 mated to a 5-speed automatic transmission. That combination gave us 17.1 miles per... Read More