2016 Frontier

Consumer Reviews

2016 Nissan Frontier

$14,401 - $29,461  MSRP Range
2016 Nissan Frontier

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

85 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Nissan Frontier?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 85 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Repeat Owner

by Frontier from Va Beach, Va. on Tue Mar 15 2016

This is my second Nissan Frontier. I traded a 2008 with over 150,000 miles for a new 2016. I test drove all of the mid-size truck contenders on the market. All had there own positives but the Fronier has them all beat, in my opinion. True what the critics say, Nissan has not changed the exterior or interior in many years on the Frrontier but why change things when they are just right, (for the sake of change). Averaged out, the Nissan is the best bang for the buck. My wife is also a Nissan owner. Recently traded her 2011 X-tera for the 2016 Nissan Pathfinder. No reason for either of us to switch brands, over the years our Nissans have had no repairs. Can't say that about the competition, have owned other brands over the years, which periodically have been in the shop for repairs but the Nissans just keep on running. Nissan's resale value has been great as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

121 out of 121 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 frontier

by Daryl from hastings on Mon Jan 09 2017

I was looking at new midsized trucks 9 months ago Tacoma TRD crew ,canyon sle crew and the frontier pro 4x.Tacoma was out based on price and payments although nice. so the pro 4x and canyon were our 2 choices and I liked the pro 4x based on looks, engine ,the age of the model 12 years being produced less recalls /problems.although the interior wasn't up to par the wife wasn't a fan.the canyon had interior finishes that were superior and a better fuel economy. So with that being said happy wife happy life 2016 canyon it was .6 months 16000km later 6 trips to the service bay 3 malfunctioning sensors and the canyon broke down,gmc's customer service was atrocious. I traded it in bought a frontier pro 4x couldn't be happier with the ride quality,leather ,easy Bluetooth and navigation system.although narrower than the canyon the cab seems longer more leg room in crew cab yes worse on fuel but more responsive and doesn't struggle to downshift like the canyon 6spd also the pro 4x Rockford Fosgate stereo is unreal.yes the frontier is slightly outdated but reliability is key. it won't be my last frontier

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

51 out of 51 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Happy!

by Surf & Turf from Akron, Oh. on Thu Jul 21 2016

Love the vehicle. Plenty of power. Love the handling. However it does have a rather large turning radius. The only other comfort item that needs improvement is that the center arm rest is not usable as it is way to far to the rear to use. There is no place to rest your arm. This will make long trips uncomfortable. Other than that, we love it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

39 out of 39 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value for the price

by Ronald from Chesapeake, Virginia on Fri Apr 22 2016

Great value for the price motor V6 400 has nice get up and go when you need it .Go for the SV and value package if you can afford it heated seats and back up camera are a plus .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

33 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

more than I expected

by billp from on Sat Dec 10 2016

Traded in my 03 Sports Trak with 125,000. Got the King Cab and came with everything I wanted it a truck. So far excellent ride, handling and with V6 plenty of get up and go. Great value for the money spent.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A solid honest truck

by future car collector from Aurora, IL on Sun May 14 2017

The Nissan Frontier is a small to midsize truck with no filler, upfront honesty and responsiveness. It is a driver's vehicle with everything you would expect a truck to be. Nothing more, nothing less. With simple, straight forward design, inside and out, the Nissan Frontier is easy to digest and trustworthy. Some have stated that the Frontier is outdated and needs a facelift. It is understandable that competition and industry standards evolve to have all the latest technology. However, the Frontier stays strong to it's roots, reliability and user friendly controls. That is the appeal of this truck over the competition. While others focus on marketing, frills, bells and whistles, the Frontier is an honest truck with everything you would want and need for a fair value versus the competition.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Value for the money

by GRP from Vidor on Fri Mar 17 2017

It is comparable to a Toyota or Colorado which both I've owned new. The difference is the price, about $3500 cheaper.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this truck.

by CrazyBoxMan from Kansas City, KS on Tue Mar 21 2017

I have had a Toyota, a couple of Fords, and a Dodge Dakota. This Nissan Frontier has great power and is still fuel efficient. The V6 feels like a V8. The ride is comfortable but not mushy and the suspension is feels great. The handling and acceleration are great and while I have not towed my light trailer yet. I am sure it will handle it well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still a truck and highly capable

by MoDeer Hunter from Kansas City, MO on Sun May 07 2017

Perfect size for the city, fits easy in the garage. Lots of power for the size. Full frame and highly capable off road. A few inexpensive accessories makes this a highly functional vehicle. Nissan continues to make a good product and focus on quality rather than make a trendy unibody with a lot of features that don't make sense for someone who uses this for its intended purpose. No truck gets good fuel economy but this is comparable to my Honda SUV. I find the fuel economy to be acceptable. Best value hands down with a proven platform.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent !

by Donivan from Pickens SC on Mon Mar 06 2017

Been an excellent value for the money! We are enjoying the versatility and solid performance. Driving comfort is excellent.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9