NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2016 Leaf

Consumer Reviews

2016 Nissan Leaf

$9,456 - $17,248  MSRP Range
2016 Nissan Leaf

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

14 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Nissan Leaf?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Well-designed for its purpose

by JustLeafing from Niwot, CO on Sat Apr 29 2017

This is a durable commuter car that is well-designed for frequent short trips over paved smooth highway. It fits this purpose admirably. The fold-down rear seats offer plenty of luggage space for shopping. Otherwise, the 4-door sedan 5-seat body is perfect for family or car-pooling. The windows are large offering terrific visibility. Comes with a great-sounding stereo and features that I am still realizing, like ability to set alarms and customize effects. Never needing to change oil or add gas is highly satisfying. This seemed like it was such an incredibly great value as a used car such that it seemed worthwhile to purchase a Leaf as a second car to keep mileage from accumulating on my gas-powered Subaru Forester that is now reserved for long road trips or off-pavement adventures. The Leaf's stock 110 volt AC charger has proven plenty adequate for my daily needs. I've not needed to install a 240 charger in my garage. It rides beautifully and quietly on average quality paved roads, corners very well, and its electric motors will out-accelerate most cars with large gas engines. It's just a very fun and practical car rolled into one. Caveats are that this is a car that is practical only for regular trips within its driving range, which vary with speed driven, outdoor temperatures and charger station availability at the end points of the trips. The suspension can be noisy and bumpy on rough roads such as becomes obvious crossing RR tracks. Nissan or a third-party vendor now needs to redesign an optional cargo partitioned insert for the newer model Leafs, in which the battery no longer takes up interior cargo space. The old inserts leave a chasm in newer Leafs that subverts the original good intent of the insert to create a continuous level space when seats fold down while retaining cargo capacity beneath that level. This continuous level area is very desirable when transporting pets, when the chasm can prove dangerous to them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So Happy to be Pollution Free!

by Collin in Las Vegas from on Wed Apr 26 2017

Charging is cheap and easy. Plenty of room for tools and even a 6 foot ladder. Peppy enough for me. My first EV was rated at 76 miles so, 107 miles of range is amazing!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive, affordable, and extremely practical

by Gati33 from Denver, CO on Sun Jul 28 2019

My drive to work changes from 10 to 75 miles so I sold my truck and bought the Nissan Leaf. The car has been amazing! Great features, extremely reliable (so much fewer parts to break than in a gas engine), surprisingly fun to drive and roomier than expected. I am able to make to work and back on a single charge that is almost all highway with speeds no slower than 65mph the whole way. It’s great to be spending about $2 round trip with the Nissan as oppose to the $7-$8 i was spending each day on gas with my truck. The car has exceeded my expectations in every way and would highly recommend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Perfect Commuter Car!

by MnBueller from Duluth, MN on Thu Apr 26 2018

If getting around town or back and forth to work is your primary use for your vehicle, you should consider looking at a Leaf. This car has exceeded all our expectations in comfort, performance, build quality, and fun factor. I do all the maintenance work on our vehicles, and have nothing to do on this car but rotate tires and check the brakes once in awhile. Awesome!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

We love our LEAF

by D.Weber from Fremont, OH on Wed Mar 29 2017

This is our second LEAF. It is an upgrade from the 2012 with nicer interior, better batter capacity, better charger.... In general this car is great! Maintenance free! Worry free_

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect for around the town driving

by Joseph from fl on Sun Dec 10 2017

The car is great for short commutes. If you drive less than 20 miles per day, you can go a few days between charging.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Cost Efficient and Comfortable Commuter Car

by Marie's Leaf from RossenNissan from Madison, WI on Wed Feb 13 2019

This car gives me all I need for a commuter car: No Gasoline Bills, No Oil Change Bills, remarkably low maintenance Free Charging when I get to work or into town. The Nissan interior with heated leather seats and heated steering wheel. My leaf has a 75 mile range with an additional 25 miles to find a charger if a contingency issue occurs. The car charges at my home over night on trickle with a 110volt outlet which is plenty to top it off for the next day. I would suggest this car if you have a 40-60 mile commute round trip.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pretty nice car

by PlanetUSA from Hendersonville NC, on Thu Mar 28 2019

My first electric car, I'm pretty pleased with it's performance and reliability. It's a short range EV and my real range is only about 75 miles or so.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

can do better than longer range

by cars90064 from los angeles on Tue Jan 02 2018

nimble, prefer the suspension is little more stiffer, better styling, etc.... but bottomline, realiable, quick, easy to drive. what else can you ask for other than longer range. definitely going back to getting another Leaf soon. plug in 100% EV is very attractive...almost none for the maintenance cost.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable and fun car every owned.

by EV StEVie from Asheville, NC on Wed Apr 17 2019

I love the car so much, I purchased it from this horrible dealership (Anderson Nissan of Asheville) despite the way I was treated. It's a very fun car to drive. I don't ever want to own an internal combustion engine car again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2