1995 Pathfinder

Consumer Reviews

1995 Nissan Pathfinder

$1,288 - $4,032  MSRP Range
1995 Nissan Pathfinder

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

15 Reviews
73% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1995 Nissan Pathfinder?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love Mine!

by Amanda from Minnesota on Tue Jan 26 2010

I bought my 1995 Pathfinder used in 2007. I love this beast! It certainly is not the most attractive SUV out there [I dented the front end and removed the top racks with my garage door] but it runs like a champ. At approximately 136K miles, only things that have been replaced have been the brakes before I bought it, the radiator [weakened in the accident in '07] and the ignition key. The clutch is still the original and works just fine. The bearings do grind some but it doesn't affect the performance at all. Just makes a slightly irritating sound. I will say that the 4WD can be slightly difficult to engage, but I'm a 5' tall female. It handles beautifully in the snow [as long as you have decent tires]. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone. I will cry when mine bites the dust.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first truck and it's been a good running truck.

by Jennifer from Michigan on Wed Jun 06 2012

I have a black 95' Pathfinder SE V6. It runs and drives great. Not too bad on gas it takes me about $50 to fill the gas tank all the way up. It runs good in any weather condition. No matter what it always runs and drives. It does have rust here and there. The engine sounds very smooth doesn't sound loud. I prefer the old model Pathfinders they look better they may not be as big as the newer models. But the newer models are too boxy they kind of remind me of the style of a van or something. 1995 pathfinders look better the styling and everything. The pathfinder is a good truck. It's reliable, easy to park and maneuver around in. It's a 4 door which is good so you can go on drives with friends, kids, or pets. It's comfortable to drive. I love my pathfinder I wouldn't trade it for anything.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Overall SUV

by Xmsteel from Washington State on Tue Feb 24 2015

Great overall SUV. When I first purchased it (about 164k miles) it would have issues starting. Turns out the starter was going bad, and one day it didn't start and had to be towed. Starter is a bear to replace and takes a shop 3 hours and if you do it yourself 5-6 hours. After replacing the starter I haven't had any issues. I've owned a couple Jeep Cherokees and this far surpasses their ability when off-roading. Engine runs smoother than just about any vehicle I have owned. They are a little underpowered, but during the winter is a good thing as you don't get tire spin like you would with something with more get up and go. They are rated at about 14MPG city, but I average 16 MPG. Best being 16.7, worst being about 14.9 (city only). As long as you find one that has been taken care of you will have a vehicle that will get you through anything and start every time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great solid Truck/SUV

by volvo dude delaware from Wilmington,DE on Thu May 13 2010

My partner bought this 95 Pathfinder LE with all option back in 01(with 90 K miles) since then it has served us very well. Never had any major problems other than regular maintenance. Now it's got 140 K miles and the engine starts leaking , but then again, it is a 15 years old truck ! RUST RUST seems to be the biggest prob. We covered the rust on the bumper and repainted. Now it looked like a Classic Pathfinder ! :) Oh btw it only gets 14 MPG city driving ...sucks when the gas hits 4$ / gallon Overall still a good used truck

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Steady decline...

by Traveler from Vermont on Thu May 31 2007

Had the truck for 10 years, new starter, new brakes, rebuilt transmission, manifold leak (recently becoming constant), water pump failed, windshield leaks, power locks are haunted in wintertime, power window motor is stuck in molasses, roof rack holds way beyond the 80 lb limit (canoe, box, basket, luggage, etc - all at once) with two mtn bikes on rear tire gate, hydraulix gone on rear hatch, A/c belt wears out after 20K miles - replaced thrice, BUT, we've had the dang thing for nigh unto 10 years and 120K miles. So what'd we expect? A solid vehicle, but those little bits are wearing us out.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Worst Vechicle I Ever Owned

by Not a fan from Central WI on Mon Aug 27 2007

The vechicle drives well in the snow, but that is about it. The tranmission went out around 70,000 miles. The starter is hard to change and the pins on the calipers wear out before the break pads do. The exhaust manifold leaks and is not easy to change. The vechicle is only 10 years old, the body is just starting to rust, but the frame is almost rusted through. I have vechicles twice this age with less rust. Use caution if the vechicle is around salt in the winter. Almost everything is designed to make it hard to work on. I would not buy this vechicle again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Mechanical wise vehicle is excellent

by Penn State Football Fan from Pennsylvania on Tue Jan 23 2007

Very dependable vehicle - gas mileage so-so - but rust is a major issue - especially the frame - Mine in appearance is still a good looking vehicle but underneath the frame has rust holes above the rear wheels. The vehicle will no longer past inspection. Since I became aware of this problem, everytime I see a similar Pathfinder I peek at the frame and have found that is a very common problem especially in the northeast. Do a "google" Pathfinder frame rust.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Runs like a champ!

by Chino_XXL from Nashville, TN on Mon Jan 29 2007

Even though newer Pathfinders can be bought for roughly the same price, I prefer the '90-'95 styling over the next generation Pathfinder. It looks boxy, tough and rugged, not round or soft, like the way an SUV should look. Not the best on gas, but better than most other SUV's. The vehicle runs solid, and is very dependable. A new starter was installed recently, and turned out to be quite affordable. The truck does have the characteristic manifold leak like all Pathfinders of the same era. Other than that, I would not be surprised if she ran another 100K miles.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

lasted throught many miles of hard use and kept on

by 814TMill from Altoona, PA on Tue Dec 05 2017

this was one of the more durable suv's i've ever drove and i wish they would make a new pathfinder more like the one from this year

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1st "old car" Ive owned, but most reliable...

by Elaine from SoCal/Az on Sat Jul 05 2008

yes, this vehicle was a hand me down, but to say the least, of course it is an older vehicle, but i got it, it was babied and well taken care of and has yet to "rust" or leave me stranded. Of course its not the coolest thing to drive but it is very reliable and does well. Not recomended though for highway driving, im only going to keep it around for towing and hauling stuff.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1995 Nissan Pathfinder

Time to bid adieu, so long, farewell and thanks for the memories to the Nissan Pathfinder-at least to the current version that was designed and developed, built and marketed with the Japanese market, and not the U.S. one, in mind.

Late this year or early next, the next generation Pathfinder will wend its way to market, a vehicle that promises to be more in keeping with the tastes of the American buyer, Nissan says.

To get an idea of what those buyers want in 1996, we test-drove a Pathfinder LE 4WD to learn what they get in 1995-no air bags, anti-lock brakesonly on the rear wheels, styling so outdated the Willys Jeep looks nice in comparison, narrow dimensions that cramp leg and shoulder room... Read More