1997 Pathfinder

Consumer Reviews
1997 Nissan Pathfinder

Change Vehicle
4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

15 Reviews
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

GREAT!! (as long as you can afford the fuel)

by gas hog from Decatur, GA on June 29, 2007

I love this car but getting only 14 mpg around town is killing me! Supremely well designed for comfort and versatility. 106k miles so far with no major repairs. The perfect blend of car and truck. Buy one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unstoppable

by JB from Granite Falls, NC on November 11, 2013

My pathfinder have more than 290,000 miles and rides like new, even better than some new cars. Just had to rebuilt the transmission and standard maintenance. Unbelievable!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect SUV for me

by Matthew85 from on February 24, 2017

Bought my 4x4 5 speed SE 2 years ago with 173k, and i drive it three miles at a time through traffic to school/work and back. I only get 15 miles to the gallon, but it starts instantly every time even below zero and everything on it (except the fog lights) works good as new. If i had any complaints it would be it's a bit slow and underpowered for a 4000lb SUV, but the newer years are better. I grew up driving and wrenching on Jeep and GM vehicles, even bought several new. This pathfinder has been far less problematic over the last 20k than anything i've ever owned and has more miles than almost every one. Simply put if i had one of those other SUV's this old and this many miles I'd be waiting for it to break down and looking for a different vehicle. however with my pathfinder I'm 100% confident that i'm good for at least another 50k with some tires, brakes, and a battery. It's unquestionably the best car I've ever owned and the reason why I just bought another Nissan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unbelievably cool, strong, vehicle

by Pathfinder Jeff from Orlando, Fl on May 4, 2018

I changed the oil to Mobil 1 synthetic @ mileage 9mi. and it has only had that oil for every oil change(have all receipts) It has made a big difference at 139,000 mi. it runs better than my 2005 Prius. With the new timing, hoses, brakes etc., etc., its definitely going another 139,000 and beyond. I love it. Just cant afford to keep 2 vehicles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Indestructible Manual 4x4 with Grittiness

by Kerwin Maude from British Columbia on April 11, 2014

I bought my first foreign vehicle and had it for over 10 years, the Nissan Pathfinder was indestructible and had far superior quality engine and transmission for a manual than the domestic market. I used this suv for hunting, fishing, camping and hauling chopped wood and kept it the longest in all my purchased vehicles. Never once had any concerns or costly repairs and when we traded it in for a Ford Escape the only motivator for selling it was the Nissan was a glutton on gas consumption. It was light but built like a tank and did its job without any concerns or repairs unlike the Jeep Patriot which was poorly crafted with cheap material and substandard transmission.....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A car I won't soon forget

by 97GoldPathfinder from Topeka, Kansas on October 20, 2017

I research the most reliable car I could find for my small budget and came across the Nissan Pathfinder. Never owned a foreign car before. Was hesitant it has turned out to be the best decision I ever made. The car never gave me problems. Only reason I sold it was because my family has grown and we don't fit. I had planned to keep it for another 10 years and it could do it easily. Great vehicle. They don't make reliable vehicles like this anymore.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best, most fun to drive and most useful car ever

by Jeff Pathfinder from Orlando, Fl on May 14, 2018

It was built to last a very long time and always be fun and capable. It has power! Even after twenty plus fun and useful years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I've owned

by roberto from Ontario, Canada on May 24, 2010

This vehicle might not get the best mpg but the reliablity and performance more than make up for it. It will take you anywhere you want to go and back. Because of the Pathfinder I'am going to buy another one IF this one ever quits on me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My Reliable Tank!

by Southern Cutie from New Orleans, LA on January 8, 2008

I bought this SUV a few years ago, it's great! My only down side to it is that I usually get 16- 17 miles to the gallon and that's just not alot these days! But it's very reliable, I've had a couple of brake downs over time but it's mainly small things like a hose (mostly just alot of labor cost) and my starter went out. The only other problems I've had seems to be mostly with the parts holding the vehicle up and stopping it (I think because it's a REALLY Heavy car). For example: My Struts, Shocks, some other parts down there holding the car to the wheels.... and I also go threw brake pads fairly quickly! But, no real major problems considering it has 120k miles on it. On a side note, I was in a small accident in this car over the summer and I messed up the other vehicle pretty badly and my car... really didn't look much different at all! That's why I call it my Tank! So, I feel pretty safe in it now. So, over all I do like my car alot. If it could just get better gas mileage (which to some people this may be good gas mileage) I would consider it to be a "Perfect Reasonable Reliable Vehicle".

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1997 se is a beast!! 230,xxx and counting

by fl3x from Pa. on April 14, 2013

this is my second pathfinder i had a 95 before this one and loved it also i just sold it they hold a good value to them and are unstoppable !!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2