2002 Sentra

Consumer Reviews

2002 Nissan Sentra

$714 - $5,142  MSRP Range
2002 Nissan Sentra

Review Score

3.6 out of 5 stars

3.6

30 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
3.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2002 Nissan Sentra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Fun Car to drive

by 3yrs of Spec V ownership from Fort Wayne, IN on Thu Sep 16 2010

Pros: snappy acceleration, great in the turns, nice bucket seats, engine is flawless since I've owned and loves to be beat on Cons: Clunky shifting (common on spec V's according to the forums), Exterior could be more sporty Overall this compact car is tough to beat for the money. Naturally Aspirated engine means no messy turbo lag, great power and good gas mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car to own...

by Venky from Phoenix, AZ on Thu May 07 2009

Good compact car for the family... great first car definitely! almost maintenance free and great value for money... gave me 28-30 mpg.. thats wonderful...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

love my SpecV

by SE-R SpecV from Providence, RI on Fri Jan 22 2010

great performance for normal aspirated engine (aka non-turbo) and one of the best handling cars for the money

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable

by Corfu from NY on Tue Jul 23 2013

I bought my 02 GXE used from Hertz with 36k miles. Was worried about buying an ex rental car so I got the extended warranty. Waste of money. Car has run excellent and never left me stranded. Even when the serpentine belt shreded and the dash lights lit up like a Christmas tree, I was still able to drive it home! Now have 146k mile on it and still get 34 mpg highway. Keep thinking about getting something newer, but part of me wants to see how long it'll last. Maybe I'll keep it a few more months...

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by Turbo from Hattiesburg, MS on Fri May 06 2011

Had one of these cars for 5 years and NEVER had a problem with it. Extremely economic car with great gas mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My second car

by Arizona Ashley from Phoenix, AZ on Mon Dec 01 2008

I averaged 28 mpg with the highest fuel efficiency being 44 mpg on a highway trip from Phoenix to Tucson!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive, nimble and comfortable

by echo from on Mon Nov 10 2008

This is car is easy and fun to drive. It is nimble and easily responds to the driver's whim. The seats are comfortable and the rear has surprising space. This car has no blind spots. You really get the feeling that you have eyes in the back of your head. It is inexpensive and low maintenance. For the class, you can't do much better.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owen so far.

by oktagon from philadelphia, pa on Mon Apr 21 2008

Good value for the money. Clever interior design, enough room and very comfortable when I drive alone. Great gas milage. Not very quick, but what can you expect from 4-cyl. 1.8?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Value

by Sentra GXE from Philadelphia, PA on Mon Oct 30 2006

Got this car at the auction. Nothing is wrong with the vehicle. Great on gas mileage, great performance, just lacks features and looks. If you want a reliable car, this is the car for you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Decent Used Car

by JazzyGirlKilleen from Killeen, TX on Mon May 08 2017

I bought this car used, it's 16 years old, but it handles well, picks up speed well and is just the right size for city driving. I expect to get a lot of use out of it running errands and my daily excursions around town.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2002 Nissan Sentra

Pocket rockets are to muscle cars what sprinters are to fullbacks.

They are quick and skittish in a torquey sort of way, but when it comes to straight ahead, powerful bashing, forget it.

It's lightning speed vs. brute strength.

But now comes the new Sentra SE-R, and specifically the hotter, as tested, Spec V model. It still has the finer attributes of a pocket rocket - wide torque through very high rpms - but it comes with a touch that other pocket rockets often lack: muscle.

The SE-R was an enthusiast's favorite from 1991-94, even with its lesser 2.0-liter engine. Now it is back, as the SE-R and the SE-R Spec V, after a seven-year hiatus. It returns as a peppier, more powerful, better suspended... Read More